February Outing of the Month with Dad!

What better way to celebrate Family Day yesterday, than by going out with Dad for our February Outing-of-the-Month.

(Click here for more details about the Coupon-of-the-Month Christmas gifts I gave to Mom, Dad, and The Brother/SIL Ana).

(Click here to read about the February Coupon Redemptions with Mom and The Brother/SIL Ana).

In January, Dad and I went out for breakfast.

We have decided to progress chronologically through the day with each successive monthly outing. So, for February, we went for coffee! I love coffee!

Mom is not a Starbucks fan (she finds their coffee bitter). Dad IS a Starbucks fan. I am a Starbucks fan. Dad and I went to Starbucks!

at our friendly, neighbourhood location!

Since mom and dad live in the building next door, I met Dad in his lobby!

good morning, dad!

A short jaunt across this parking lot, and we were at The Buck. We love living in Uptown Waterloo!

a chilly morning! but the sidewalks and parking lots were plowed already - nice!

I perused the menu. Despite the fact that I can call myself a coffee-drinker now, this was the first time I have ever ordered a coffee at Starbucks! What a lot of choices!

it's all greek to me!

Dad got some frothy thing…I bet you the name ends in -CINO. I also got a blueberry oat bar. Close call between that square and a pumpkin scone…but oatmeal is a good mid-morning snack.

a grande!

The place was pretty busy: lots of young families warming up after skating next door at the rink, singles working on laptops, girlfriends gossiping – the usual coffee shop assortment. No other father-daughter combo, as far as I could tell.

We scored a wall-side table – good timing!

warmer against the wall, not right next to a window!

Dad and I settled in, started chatting, and before I knew it, an hour had evaporated! We discussed every topic under the sun, from the soon-to-be-released Blackberry Playbook (me wants one!) to marathon running to neighbourhood gossip. Dad is a great conversationalist. I love conversation!

cheers!

Thanks for the totally awesome visit, Dad! Catch ya in March for lunch-time! [Dad and I have decided that both March and April will be lunch outings; we’ll each pick the place for one of the months. The other person is barred from opining on the location, and must just go along with the choice!]

can't end our outing without a self-portrait to capture the occasion!

 Are you a Starbucks fan?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On February 23, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Looks like a great time with your dad!
    I love meeting a friend at starbucks and chatting—there’s just sort of a vibe there that’s so positive, with some people working, reading the paper, socializing…
    I have three starbucks within two miles of where I live, and they all have a slightly different vibe! The one across the street displays artwork from kids at the school up the street—I love that one :)

    I am also noting that I need to spend more time with my dad alone—that never happens!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 23, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      i totally agree re the different vibes in various coffee shops, even with the starbucks chain…i like that, since depending on your mood, you can choose where to go! and i agree, too…meeting a friend + chatting + a hot coffee…what a centring and fun time!

  • Kristina  On February 23, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Aww yay for dad dates. I would love to meet my dad out once a month that’s so nice!

  • MelissaNibbles  On February 23, 2011 at 10:38 am

    I love Starbucks! I brew it at home too.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 23, 2011 at 10:42 am

      detractors blame s’bux for being too corporate – sorry, but they run a tight ship and quality product. i am a fan!!!

  • Johanna  On February 22, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever been in one! There’s another place we can possibly meet someday! :)

    PS – what are the odds that you know TWO Johanna’s?!?

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 23, 2011 at 5:27 am

      ok!! you introduce me to back row at the galaxy and i’ll show you around s’bux! deal-eee-o!! i know – i’ll have to put you in touch with johanna!! although, in my mind, you will always be joanne/jojobean/jo… :)

  • Johanna B  On February 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I’ve never been to the stand alone Starbucks in town and it’s been here a couple of years or more. I do ocasionally stop at the one located in the Barnes & Noble. I tend to order hot tea or sometimes a diet coke.

    Sounds like a good time with your dad. You’re lucky to have him so close.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 22, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      thanks, johanna!
      our version of barnes & noble is “chapters,” and they have starbucks inside, too.
      when i was in florida this past summer, i spent a very happy morning inside the b&n coffee area…love the bookstore+coffee area concept!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      thanks, johanna! our version of barnes & noble is “chapters,” and they have starbucks inside, too. when i was in florida this past summer, i spent a very happy morning inside the b&n coffee area…love the bookstore+coffee area concept!

  • Dorry  On February 22, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    The Starbucks menu can be overwhelming! I’m not much of a coffee drinker anymore, but I used to order a plain drip coffee. Now, I’ll order a hot or iced tea. I like the passion flavor! And when I’m traveling, sometimes I’ll order their oatmeal. It’s not too bad if I add a banana and some cinnamon.

    Glad you had a fun visit with your dad. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 22, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      I’ve heard good reviews about the oatmeal! Dad and – are both oatmeal fans – maybe we’ll have to do a breakfast there for one of our outings!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

