New + New

Guess what, guess what!?!? I HAVE FOUND IT!!!

welcome to your new home, muggie-mug!

On Monday, B and I took our laptops over to Coffee Culture to hang out for a bit. I was walking nonchalantly back to the washroom, when I glanced at a small shelving display of coffee products…and there was this mug! I TOLD you I would find *my mug* when I least expected it!

Now, the funny thing is I am not a fan of yellow. Orange, yes – fave colour. But for some reason, I had to have this mug in the yellow version (they had yellow, orange, green, brown)! (Maybe because Meg plate is orange already…I want diversity of colour in my eclectic dishes collection).

Wednesday morning I stopped in and picked up my fabulous find. And guess what – here’s how much I paid…you won’t believe it!

you read that correctly: $2.10 including the tax

I couldn’t find a USED mug at Value Village for that price!

I love the shape of this mug, the colour, and the fact that it says “Coffee Culture” on it because I don’t drink Coffee Culture coffee.

So now I laugh because here is the at-home coffee scene:

no shame with mixing my corporate brands!

I’m still keeping the mugs I *borrowed* from The Brother and SIL Ana. They are never going to see those again. The collection is growing!!

*#*#*#*#*

Guess what else I got this week?

same brand (timex) that i had, but updated colour option!

I had my new watch transferred in to my store from another of our store locations.

F-I-N-A-L-L-Y it arrived this week. Good thing, too: as I was taking off my old watch (I never take my watch off), the split in the band expanded to within a hair’s width of snapping completely. I just chucked it in to the garbage. I love the silver/cream colour combination of the new watch, and the understated floral theme. Here’s a better shot, from the catalogue:

Ironman Sleek 50-Lap Flora(source)

*#*#*#*#*

Cake Class #3/4 was last eve! Recap coming tomorrow!

In the meantime, here’s a sneak peak!…

pompom flower!!!

shaggy mum!! (this was my fave! i wanna do a whole shaggy CAKE!!)

…And that’s not all!!

Have a great Friday – last one of February!! (snow storm coming, apparently, just so we can further *celebrate* this fact…)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On February 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    I love colorful mugs and bowls. I like picking up random pieces that I find on sale at Target, Crate & Barrel, etc.

    I’m excited to read your recap about the cake decorating class!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      that’s cool that you’re a colour person, too! i could never have just plain white dishes…can i just say again that i wish target was in canada!! i’m sad that i only have one week of cake class left (btw, week #3 is now blogged!)

  • Lisa  On February 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Wa-hooo for the new mug! I love it. Totally awesome find.
    You got some great stuff this week…the mug, the watch!

    I would absolutely love a shaggy cake too. We were just talking about how a cupcake would be awesome right now. I’m such a frosting/cake person….mmmmmmmmm.

    So glad the cake class is going well! Have a fab weekend :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      thanks, lisa! oh, i’m a frosting gal! i could easily leave all cake and simply scrape frosting off and eat it all. and there’s no such thing as “too sweet” when it comes to icing!! enjoy your weekend!

  • Gina Unger  On February 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Glad you found your mug! I totally get wanting to diversify your colours in your dishes collection even if yellow isn’t a fave colour. I do the same.
    I’m going to send you a pic of my watch now b/c yours looks like an updated version of mine and I’ve had this type of watch for about the past 8 years at least! We MUST be friends! Every time my bands break it’s on to a new watch – and new colour excitement! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 25, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      didn’t we have timex watches when we were younger, too??! i seem to recall that…and that we both hold onto our watches as long as possible. it’s all about the SHADE of a colour – this yellow is pleasant and not offensive. it called to me, what can i say?!!!

  • Zo  On February 25, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Moving backwards….ugh! sorry about the snow. I love the shaggy cupcake and congratulations on the space agey watch and the new mug. I think the fact that it was such a good price just shows you it was meant to be!! From my mug loving perspective, I can say it looks like a good one. Sturdy..and slightly oversize? Also, it looks like its sloped rather than straight up and down…which is good for holding in/warming up your hands!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      the *snowstorm* ended up being a big pffft. a few flurries from 7-9 a.m. this morning and that was it! yes, the new mug is just lovely for size and shape – a perfect hand warmer! more shagginess coming, i think, next week!!

  • Holly  On February 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Cute mug! I hear you on wanting to have the perfect mug — it has to fit in my hand just right and it has to hold a lot of coffee :)

    I can’t wait to see the cake decorating recap post — the shaggy mum is really cute!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 25, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      thanks, holly! oh, the shaggy tip was my favourite of the whole night!! i HAVE to incorporate shagginess into my final cake next week!

  • Johanna B  On February 25, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    Love the mug. I’m still using a 101 Dalmations Christmas mug that my daughter gave to me years ago. Now she’s all grown up and is going to make me a grandma in April.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      Oh wow!! Congratulations, johanna! April will be here before you know it. Thanks for sharing your happy and exciting news!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

