Friday in Aruba: Sunrise, Sunset

It was a beautiful day in Aruba.

 

there was very little breeze today and zero cloudcover!

 

I did not win at BINGO.

But Elaine did!

elaine had to share with another winner, but still ended up with $50!

 

 My moms

 

 

…go home tomorrow. Boo hoo. So I will be playing BINGO solo tomorrow. Just my luck, watch I will win with no one here with whom to share my joy! I’d still take that situation, though!

This morning, I moved house down to the lobby…

why don't i just show you my downstairs workstation?!

…as is my new routine. It was just me and the birdies, singing away (the birdies, not me, that is).

I got to witness the sun come up…although I had to go to the other side of the lobby to do so. My computer perch faces west.

photo taken about 6:45 a.m.

...and a few minutes later.

 Although I have crossed paths with many friends and resort staff, there was one special person I really wanted to see this week. I made a few inquiries yesterday, and found out that, yes, she still does work here. We had a joyous reunion!

one of my favourite people down here!

Mildred was our room attendant the first year we stayed here (and I think the second year, too). We clicked with her right away. Mildred was always quick with a joke or funny line (and she kept our room super clean).

One time, B did not apply his sunscreen liberally enough, and came up to the room mid-day looking rather crispy red. Mildred took one look at him and said, “Ooooo, you red like lobster!” ‘Twas an apt description. We also taught Mildred the correct usage of the phrase “See you later, alligator/In a while, crocodile.”

Mildred remembered my name today! What a memory. A few years ago, she received a promotion, and is now a housekeeping supervisor. That’s just great for her.

a self portrait! mildred also has a sharp new hairstyle since I last saw her!

All I really felt like doing today was knitting. So I did. Yes, it is rather wackadoo to be knitting on a 100% wool sweater in the heat of Aruba, but I’m really enjoying the challenge of the cables on A’s sweater. (Even after I had to rip back eight rows…)

Tanning update:

today i tried really hard to balance my sun angles in order to achieve even-ness of glow

One point five days left. I envision more knitting + sun time tomorrow. Maybe I’ll move back to the beach.

I also made some more purchases! I’ll show all when I do a recap at the end of the trip, and see how I fared with my predictions. Let’s just say I am 110% thrilled with the items I’ll be packing into my suitcase home!

I just watched the sun set. Kind of a “stop and smell the roses” experience. To be honest, it drove me a little nuts, just standing there waiting for the sun to go down. But I could not have asked for a more magnificent sight!

the sun was not quite out of the sky...

finally the golden globe hits the water

i moved up to pool level for this shot...

...and with that, the sun has set for another day in aruba

The neat thing is that these sunset photos were taken within a few minutes of 6:45 p.m. – exactly 12 hours from my sunrise photos!

Tonight I want to check out the New Balance store at the mall across the street. They were closed the other night when I was there, and I want to see if they have any minimalist footwear. They better not. If they do, and if I am weak, I will be wearing a pair of shoes home on my hands; my luggage is not going to accomodate a pair of shoes!

Have a great weekend!

*#*#*#*#*

[Sidenote: My prayers and thoughts are with anyone affected by the earthquake and tsunami. I thank BFF Debbie for mentioning this news story in her email this a.m.; I had no idea as I have not been checking in on news websites. The TV in the lobby here is tuned to coverage right now, so I am getting more details, but am absolutely horrified by the situation. It also makes me ashamed of my freak-out over losing my Internet connection in my room the other day…such small potatoes compared to this disaster].

 [Sidenote to the sidenote: I am now GLAD I have no Internet in my room! I am not obsessively checking email every time I go upstairs. Since I am in the lobby, there are people constantly coming and going (well, not at 6 a.m.) so I am meeting friends, chatting with people, commiserating with those who also have no in-room wifi – which is everyone, it appears. So this whole fiasco situation ends up being a blessing in disguise!]

[ETA third Sidenote: Now I DO have Internet in my room again! I tried it on a whim, and it works perfectly. Oy yoy yoy...]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On March 12, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Great pics! I know exactly what you mean when you say the sunset was beautiful but you wanted it to hurry up—haha! I always feel that way.

    It sounds like you’re (still) having an amazing time, and I hope your last 1.5 days goes really super slowly so you can get more sun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2011 at 7:37 am

      thanks, lisa!! yes, let’s hope today goes at a turtle’s pace! thanks for commiserating re the sunset…i felt so guilty, like i should be sooo into “being in the moment,” but it just wasn’t happening for me at that space in time!

  • Holly  On March 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Cathy those pictures are incredible! Good luck at Bingo tomorrow — even if no one is there to celebrate with you, we’ll celebrate with you here on the blog! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2011 at 4:11 am

      oh, thanks holly – a virtual celebration wtih y’all would be a-ok, you’re right! and for the photos – thanks! i am not even that *into* photography, but the lighting and scenery down here are so spectacular, that i wanted to try some photos-as-art, myself! i can only imagine what someone with a dslr and some training could accomplish!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

