Aruba Predictions Recap

Back to life, back to reality

I’m faaaaaading!!!…

wahhh!

I swear as soon as I enter the Aruba airport, I always start losing my tan. I’ve been slathering on lotion, vaseline, and aloe gel about every 17 minutes in an effort to ward off the inevitable dry skin and flaking that appear within seemingly seconds of setting foot back on Canadian soil. But enough cryin’. The sun is out and I just ran some errands without wearing mittens! We could be inching closer to spring, people!

Before I left on vacation, I set seven goals for the trip. Let’s see what ended up going down….

~ Read two novels. Well, I started off great guns with Good Enough to Eat, and had it finished by Wednesday. Then I fizzled out with Chelsea. Not that she’s not funny, and I do look forward to reading this book. But I bought a magazine, read the Aruba newspapers, and just didn’t get very far with Chels. I’m currently on either chapter two or three.

~ Find a couple of pieces of eclectic kitchen dishes. I searched high and low for a mug, but didn’t find one that totally grabbed me. But!! I DID score with this purchase!!! It makes me smile every time I look at it:

a souvenir plate!! an look what i paid for it?!

I am in luv with this map plate. It’s slighty kitschy, just-this-side-of-tacky, and I knew as soon as I saw it that it had to come home with me. Score zero for a mug, but one for the dishes collection!

~ Stick with 5 a.m. wake-up routine. 100% success rate, here. I think the latest I woke up (on my own, I never use an alarm as I don’t like the shock factor) was 5:17 a.m. and one morning I lay in bed from 4:30 a.m. on, til I got up. Basically, I just jumped onto Daylight Savings Time a week early! When I came home last night, I had no time change to make, no “loss of one hour sleep” to make up (although since I got to bed after midnight and was up at 5 a.m. today, yes I am feeling the need to make up sleep!).

~ Finish A’s sweater. True to the prediction, this did not happen. BUT, the front and back of the sweater are completed, so that just leaves the two sleeves and the neckband to knit. My new goal is to finish A’s sweater by the end of March. (*Perfect* timing: a cosy wool sweater…just in time for Spring!).

~ Blog every day. Actually, it ended up being two blog posts a day! I had no intention of blogging in this manner pre-trip. I realized once I got to Aruba that I had a lot to say/share, and two shorter blog posts worked with my “schedule.” There are two reasons why blogging worked so well in this manner: 1) easy Internet access (at the resort, if not always in my room!) 2) before leaving, B helped me change the resolution on my camera, so uploading photos only took 2-3 seconds each as opposed to the 45-60 seconds it had been taking me, up to this point (duh, wish I had clued in to making this change earlier in my blogging career).

~ Buy one pair of flipflops. No go on this predicted purchase. I didn’t see any pairs of cutesie floppies that I totally adored. Instead, though, I found…

a totally kiki slogan + colour combo!

After consulting with both mom and BFF Debbie, I bought the shirt. Why the hesitation? Because I own at least 317 (no exaggeration) tshirts, 251 of which are likely white. What can I say, I love a tshirt. (A-Ha! How’s that for a future Kiki Project – wear a different tshirt every day for a year! Could do!).

And my most favourite buy – please note I spent ONE WHOLE DOLLAR on this piece of jewellery:

yes, that is the pope and mother teresa you see there, among others...

A Catholic-themed bracelet. Quirky and unique to be sure. [Please note that I sincerely mean no disrespect at all in wearing this bracelet. It’s fun to me, yes, but I also take religion seriously, and am not mocking faith nor cherished symbols at all].

~ Return home with Gumby muscles. Success! Definitely feel more limber. My body loves a sun bath, and lots of heat. While I am not quite ready to pretzel myself like this…

(source)

…my muscles do feel relaxed and loose. Hope the feeling lasts (longer than the tan, maybe??!!).

Unexpected Outcomes:

~ I would have predicted that a BINGO win would come my way. Other years, usually I win once. Not meant to be, this trip.

~ I didn’t watch TV at all. In Aruba, we can pick up a lovely selection of U.S.-feed crap TV channels, so in the past, I’ve watched my fill of entertainment shows and popular MTV programs. This year, I flicked through the channel choices one time, nothing caught my eye, and that was the end of TV for the week.

~ I am completely content with my point-and-shoot camera. Since last fall, I’ve been debating the purchase of a dslr camera. After this trip, I can say, with confidence, that the point-and-shoot is my type of camera. I love that it’s easy to transport, easy to operate, and takes a quality of picture that is just fine with me. Glad I realized this before I committed to a $600 + purchase!

So there we are! Some hits, some misses, some surprises. Just as a trip should be.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On March 15, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Loved reading this! Sounds like your trip was overall a great time. It’s nice to take a break from TV – and in place of that time you were able to keep blogging! I took my point & shoot to Europe and took some of the most amazing photos. Billy has a big, fancy Nikon, but I swear my photos are just as good, sometimes better. ;)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 15, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      thanks, dorry! that would be a fun “blind test!” line up a bunch of photos and guess which ones are point&shoot and which ones are dslr! i would love to hear about your trip to europe some time!

  • Zo  On March 14, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    It sounds like you got just what you needed out of the trip…(and your souvenirs are great!). I had a lot of fun reading about Aruba and your experiences there (and your pictures were beautiful)!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 14, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      thanks, zo! i will enjoy using the plate, wearing the t and bracelet and thinking back on the week! even though i’m happy with my point-and-shoot, i would like to develop my photo skills – this trip awakened the inner photo taker in me!

  • Lisa  On March 14, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I love the re-cap!
    I know that sad tan-losing feeling…and the dry skin onset when the cold air hits it :)

    Great plate and tshirt!

    All in all, it looks like you made respectable progress toward your goals, and also had a nice relaxing time. Hope your canada weather is as good as ours in NY this week—it’s chilly today but supposed to get into the 50s!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      ah, yes, i think spring will hit NY and ontario this week! with a little luck we’ll all be “snow free” by the weekend! i’ve been itchy all day!! no cure except to turn around and go back south! :) thanks for your comments, lisa – enjoy your spring break week!

  • Holly  On March 14, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Yes I thought your point and shoot camera took great pictures!

    I’m glad you made it home safely — a boring flight is a good one :)

    Too bad about the Bingo — maybe that means you’ll win double next year?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 14, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      thanks, holly! i fully realize that a dslr will take amazing professional quality photos..but it’s just not for me. i can’t even stand carrying a purse around with me, so i just know i would not tote a bigger camera. yup, “better luck next time” with the bingo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

