New Experience #9: Travel to Aruba Solo

This will be the final Aruba-themed post, I promise. Even I am sick of talking about Aruba! :)

although not tired of looking at palm trees!!

While I’ve been to Aruba several times in the past decade, I have never travelled there by myself. So this vacation was a new experience in that sense.

Here are the reasons why I made the trip on my own:

~ with B’s current job, he can no longer get away during the month of March; I really appreciate that he graciously allowed me to go to our timeshare without him (B will have his chance for a solo trip this summer when he goes hiking in Colorado!).

~ since we had been to Aruba before, I felt comfortable with, and confident about, flying internationally on my own. I had a direct flight from Toronto, and was familiar with travelling to our timeshare once I landed in Aruba.

~ I knew a lot of people who would be at our resort while I was there.

~ I was only going to be gone for one week, so the chances of getting bored or homesick were minimal.

In summary, I had a very fun week, and am grateful for the opportunity I had to enjoy the sunshine, heat, and relaxation time.

Below, please find a compilation of all the blog entries from the trip. This may go down as the “furthest distance travelledNew Experience of this year! (unless I go visit my cousin Joel in Australia, haha!)

[Sidenote: if you have any specific questions about Aruba, please feel free to contact me - in a nutshell, it's a fabulous vacation spot].

Aruba Predictions

Aruba Report: Good Karma

Monday in Aruba: Reunion Day!

Welcome!

Tuesday in Aruba: Poolside!

A Walkabout Tour

Wednesday in Aruba: Peachie to be Beach-ie!

High Nine

Thursday in Aruba: Aah and A-Ha

Grocery Shopping in Aruba!

Friday in Aruba: Sunrise, Sunset

Of Gardens and Greenery

Saturday in Aruba: I’m a Gamblin’ Fan

Aruba Outtakes

Sunday in Aruba: Tick Tock on the Clock

Aruba Predictions Recap

Bon Bini!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On March 15, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Funny. I’m so used to traveling by myself that it was a new/weird experience for me when my boyfriend and I went to England together in October. I was nervous about doing the overnight flight thing with him (between me being grouchy from lack of sleep and wanting to navigate through the airport to get our train, I wasn’t sure how it would go). We had a great time. Anyway, congratulations on your new experience!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 15, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      glad your travel experience worked out well, too, zo! never been to england – i bet you had a wonderful trip! i get weepy when i don’t have enough sleep – not the best esp if situations get stressful! think i’d rather be grouchy! :)

  • Holly  On March 15, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Cathy somehow I missed the part that you traveled alone! You are braver than me! In December I flew alone to Chicago (flight was less than 2 hours long) and took a cab to my hotel — I was so nervous. I’ve flown alone before, but it is to visit friends/family who would pick me up — this time I was 100% on my own. But it felt good to do it on my own. I don’t think I could travel internationally though – you are tough!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      hey, your trip to chicago on your own is a great first effort at solo travel, holly! i’m glad it turned out well for you! i actually did not *broadcast* the fact that i was in aruba alone on purpose…i just didn’t feel comfortable doing so, if that makes sense. (i realize the chances being stalked in aruba are slim-to-none, but i still just felt better about being a bit vague…i don’t think i would feel comfortable doing an eliabeth gilbert-esque “eat pray love” type tour on my own, though! (ie some place where i don’t speak the language, or is very far away).

  • Lisa  On March 15, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Going on a solo vacation sounds awesome to me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      yes! it wouldn’t be for everyone, i recognize, but i don’t mind at all. lots of freedom to do what you want, when you want!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

