Preoccupied with Pretend People

Last evening, I went over to visit BFF Debbie (who is not an imaginary person).

file photo, as they would say in the newspaper!

Knowing me all too well, Debbie had saved a very special and extremely exciting (to me) newspaper clipping:

i hope you can at least read the headline, here...

YES!!! YOU CAN KNIT YOUR VERY OWN ROYAL FAMILY!!!

Debbie’s friend Dawna had passed the clipping on to her – I don’t know how Dawna got her hands on it, as it’s from the “Daily Mail,” obviously a British newspaper.

Anyway, my inner knitter kept squealing in delight as I closely examined the photos and accompanying article.

(How’s this for punny: the very first sentence reads, “If you’re needled about not being invited to the royal wedding…”

L to R: prince william and kate, the queen, prince philip, even the royal corgis!

the royal groom and bride

joining the queen and prince philip, we even have camilla, prince charles and prince harry!

When I got home, I immediately looked up the website for the pattern – the article says you can order the pattern book online for £9.99 (no idea what this would be in Canadian dollars, but it’d be worth every penny).

(source)

Needless to say, the book is currently sold out; last night the link to Amazon showed “out of stock.” Just now, I see they have updated the page, and the book will be available March 31st.

Will I order the book and knit up my own royal family? In all honesty, no.

Unfortunately, I loathe and detest knitting dolls. There are so many colour changes involved, and it’s incredibly detailed and time consuming work, as you can well imagine.

Plus, I would want my dolls to turn out EXACTLY as they appear in the photos provided – since the samples were (I’m sure) made by a professional – after who knows how many tries – I’m pretty certain my version would not look nearly as cute. Also, I’d be more tempted to knit The Family if the pattern book was available as a kit, with the yarn and embellishments all-included.

Lastly, I don’t know what I’d do with the set, once completed! I guess you could re-create the display, and have The Family serve as decoration?? Would that be too too kitschy, though?

Look what else caught my eye on Amazon:

Royal Wedding: William and Kate Dress-up Dolly Book (Royal Wedding 2011)(source)

Paper dolls were SO my thing when I was little! In fact, I still have my entire collection – I’ll do a show and tell some day.

I do love the knitted royal family – the designer, Fiona Goble, has created a masterpiece of sheer brilliance. So glad you passed along this clipping, Debbie!

*#*#*#*#*

So I was walking by Bon Mot yesterday and did a double take.

note the bottom left-hand corner there...

Remember Meg and Leif?

The have very nicely adjusted to life together in the Condo Casa.

I thought it was bad enough when they proposed bringing home a kittie…

…but a BABY???!!! My head is spinning!

how adorable!

Whoa, Nelly!!!

I don’t know, guys…

Are Meg and Leif ready to jump into parenthood??? Kittiehood?? Please don’t even suggest BOTH! :)

*#*#*#*#*

Later today I am meeting up with my VFBF: Very First Best Friend. (She is not an imaginary person). I can’t wait!! Recap tomorrow!

Who was your VFBF?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thehealthyapron  On March 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I have a friend like that and it truly is a soul sister thing! We can talk for HOURS!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 11:23 am

      That’s wonderful! There’s something about girl-chat time with a special friend that just makes time fly!

  • Dorry  On March 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Those Royal family dolls are hilarious! I can’t even imagine how difficult it would be to accurately knit all the colors and details. Probably best they were sold out. ;)

    Have you ever posted photos of things you’ve knit in the past? What’s your favorite things to knit? My VFBF is Allison – she lives in Dallas and we still hang out whenever we can. I just saw her last weekend at a birthday party. It’s great to have those people in your life who have known you for so many years.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      thanks, dorry! oh, i think the hours upon hours of work needed to do a *good* job on the royal family would be sky high! but they’re phenomenal to look at! i do post knitting projects from time to time. i love knitting sweaters, blankets, baby clothing the best. i love cables; i do NOT love intarsia (using many colours). i am ALMOST done my latest sweater, so will post a photo when it’s done – hopefully this weekend! glad you and allison live in the same state, at least!

  • Johanna  On March 23, 2011 at 12:35 am

    SHUT. UP. You still have all your paper dolls? I don’t have ANY of mine! I’m coming by tomorrow to play!!! :)

  • Kalli  On March 22, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    knitting royal family? crazy stuff i tell you!

  • Zo  On March 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    The knitted dolls are too funny…but I can’t imagine putting all that effort in and then…what do you do with it? Put them on the fireplace mantel?

    I agree with Lisa, you might be sad if baby and kitty cat go away all of the sudden..that reminds me, did you get that dress you were contemplating before your aruba trip?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 5:08 am

      we think along the same lines, zo! as much as i would love to say to the nieces, “here! fun new dollies!” after all that time and effort, NO ONE would be allowed to touch The Family! i never did get the dress….i thought about it some more, and decided i wasn’t willing to chance the sizing. even though i could return it if i wanted a different size, it seemed like too much effort when i CAN pick up cute dresses, here, too. but i kept the website bookmarked, so never say never! thanks for asking!

  • Holly  On March 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    That knitted royal family is hilarious — but it looks like a ton of work!

    My very best friend is (yes this is corny) Jason, followed by a few close girlfriends from college, and one that I’ve known since 4th grade! I’m also very close with my 3 sisters, so I have plenty of close friends to choose from!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 22, 2011 at 6:29 pm

      I agree! I wonder how many hours it would take to knit the entire set!
      What a wonderful assortment of friends, holly! I bet each person brings joy in a unique way to your life!

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Oh my gosh…that is so funny about knitting the royal family! I can’t imagine knitting a doll (or, actually a sweater). I thought you were going to say you were planning to do it!

    I think that Meg and Leif should definitely get the kitty and the baby. Really—what if they go away and aren’t available anymore! Plus, I’m betting they’re the lowest maintenance pet and child a person could ever have :)

    So glad you’re getting some friend time in!!!

    My VFBF is Kittie, and I still see her about once a year. We lost touch for a while (and she’s horrible about talking on the phone or emailing), but now we try to connect when she’s in town to visit her mom. It’s worth it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 22, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      good point, lisa!! just the fact that i realize i would feel heartbroken if Baby disappears tells me all i need to know! that’s so cool that you are in touch with kittie…and yes, friendships do ebb and flow, don’t they. i love when you can pick right up with animated conversation with a longtime friend, even if you haven’t seen each other for a while.

  • Johanna B  On March 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    I know someone who will in all likelihood knit the Royal family. I will forward the link to your post so that she can get in line to get the book. I should have so much free time.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 22, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      great! yes, please do pass along the info – wouldn’t it be great to see the final results from people who DO attempt this knitting project!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

