My VFBF

We started out as little neighbourhood playmates:

jan or feb, 1973 - hours upon hours were spent in outdoor play!

We were the first invites to each other’s birthday parties:

jan '74, my 4th birthday party

jan '76, my 6th birthday party

Together, we experienced our 15 Minutes of Fame at a Teddy Bear Picnic:

clipping from the k-w record newspaper, july '76 (thank goodness my mom was particular about dating photos and such!)

There were annual family outings to Sauble Beach or Grand Bend

L to R: mrs m, wanda, me, mom, joanne, the brother, my dad (mr m must have taken the photo!)

…and the traditional New Year’s Eve sleepover parties:

laughter > sleep time!

…and 10,001 other days spent together that were never captured by camera (click here to read about Memories of Swimming Lessons, for instance!).

Now flashforward a whole bunch of years…

Place: The Huether

Time: after work

Date: yesterday

Who: yours truly and her Very First Best Friend (VFBF from here on out)…

...joanne! (even though jo has gone by her formal name of johanna for many, many years now, she will always be joanne, to me!

Despite having over 1.5 hours at our disposal, and chatting/sharing/laughing non-stop, VFBF Joanne and I barely cracked the surface of possible discussion topics!

pausing the chatter just long enough for a photo opp!

Happily, we both agreed that last eve’s visit is the first of many to come. Soul Sisters reunited!

self-portraits can't be beat!

we've come a long way, baby!

*#*#*#*#*

You knew it.

I knew it.

They knew it.

Welcome home, Baby!!!

meg and leif are PARENTS!

Baby Robin is in da house! [This time, I needed no assistance to come up with a name: “Robin” is fitting for spring and, also, YOU can decide – boy or girl?!!]

…but Meg and Leif are not pet owners.

And that’s OK by the landlord (aka me).

But, you say, what if FOUR plates are needed?? After all, three is an odd number…

Well, Meg, Leif and Baby Robin will simply jet off for a vacation:

that's a complete set!

*#*#*#*#*

Winter returned with a vengeance overnight:

truly craptastic

It made my heart turn to Christmas, obviously, as I purchased my first xmas gift for December 2011! Can’t say for who, can’t say what. But Operation Christmas 2011 is underway!

Do you buy gifts ahead of time, or only right before the occasion?  For my mom, Christmas stocking stuffer buying is a year-round activity!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna  On March 23, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Oh, those pictures bring back so many fabulous memories!
    1. I swear I have similar snowman/birthday photos in my album.
    2. I also have an original clipping of the teddy bear picnic!
    3. I have absolutely NO photos of our Sauble trips so that photo is an especially precious memory to me (is it staggering to think that our parents THEN are our age NOW?!!).
    4. I remember that haircut AND that nightgown AND those New Years evenings (which I don’t have photos of either). More precious memories (well, maybe not the haircut – lol).
    I grinned all the way to chorus and can’t wait for our next get together. We have indeed come a long way, baby! xo
    PS – Love Robin! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      you should see how many birthday party photos i found!! i swear you are in every one from age 4-12. i had to pick and choose! we all have those cringe-worthy hairdo’s ~ mine is circa grade 10! oooo, we must set up our next outing asap! chick flick? (still too cold for sauble beach – haha!) xoxo !

  • Zo  On March 23, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    We got a little snow, too…and it was hailing before. Not very springy.
    Congratulations on your new addition. I hope Meg, Leif, and Robin (cute) are happy together.
    I always think I’m going to get my Christmas shopping done early, but I pretty much don’t start until the end of November and keep going till the bitter end. If I bought presents early I’d probably forget I bought them and end up buying more…that happens a bit already!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      hope you managed to stay warm today, zo! i understand about forgetting what you purchased: i have to keep all presents in the same area, and check off people’s names, or else i’d be buying repeats/multiples, too!

  • Dorry  On March 23, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Great photos! What a fun time with your VFBF. :) I sometimes buy presents ahead of time if I see something that is just perfect for a certain friend or family member, but usually I buy sort of last minute. I think it’s because I’m terrible with surprises and want to give them the gift right away.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      you and holly better never buy early gifts for each other! you have the same difficulty with keeping a surprise! :) you know, i did not realize how many photos i had of joanne and me and our families! this is only a sampling in this post…i’m so happy we’ve reconnected!

  • Jess  On March 23, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Winter returned here, too :(
    I shop ahead of hand, but not THAT ahead of hand haha.
    Love the old pics of you and your friend, looks like an amazing friendship!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      thanks, jessica! snow, snow, go away!! we’re all sick of you!! :) i don’t think i’ve ever bought an xmas gift THIS far in advance; but it was one of those things that if i don’t pick up NOW, it’ll be gone when i want it nine months from now…better safe than sorry! yes, joanne and i have a long history together, that is for sure! pretty special.

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    What an awesome tribute to your friendship!
    New friends are great, but there’s something awesome about a VFBF!

    Welcome to your new home Robin! I say boy.

    We are totally getting buried in snow right now—I guess I’m not too surprised, but I was liking the bits of sun we were getting!

    I don’t buy christmas presents ahead of time…I usually only have to buy for my nephew…so I have to wait and see what’s cool at that time before I buy :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      that is so true, with kids: the “in thing” can change very quickly, so it’s best to wait! you got snow, too, eh?! must be blanketing northern north america! i think it’s supposed to snow now til midnight, the news just said! robin=boy – ok! we’ll have to see if we get any more votes! stay warm, lisa! have a great evening!

  • Johanna B  On March 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    We didn’t get snow this time. It was 80 degrees yesterday afternoon. Mr meteorologist I’m ready for spring – not summer… Oh, and I buy Christmas presents year round.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      it’s fun to always have your eyes open for gifts…and snap up any really good prices that you can find. our family does xmas lists in october (at canadian thanksgiving) but if you KNOW what people would like, no reason to wait til the christmas rush to do shopping! 80 degrees??! that IS summery! but i’d take it, please! hope you mellow out with less extreme temps, johanna!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Ugh you got snow too!!! I was not happy to see the snow this morning and it is still snowing! I think we’re supposed to end up with 6 inches total? Yikes.

    I usually buy things close to the actual holiday/event — when I buy things ahead of time I end up giving it to that person early, I can’t stand to keep a surprise!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      oh, you’re funny, holly! i get excited, too, about giving gifts! it’s STILL snowing here, and it’s to continue til tonight…this IS march 23rd, not december 23rd, right?! sounds like we’re in the same boat, for sure!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

