Let’s Try This Again

(source)

Ahhhhh….

(source)

Mmmmmm….

(source)

Soooo Tasty!

Last April, I proudly posted a blog entry about giving up Diet Coke.

And I did stop drinking the evil, calcium-leaching, chemical-laden fabuloso, refreshing, best-invention-ever beverage that makes my heart sing and my lips smack in glee.

For about six months.

Then, sometime this past fall, I started drinking again.

And I felt horrible guilt. Yet it tasted so good.

It’s not only the taste of Diet Coke that I adore – it’s the rituals and associations I have surrounding when I drink it that I do so love.

Knitting + Diet Coke (+ blog reading) = a favourite way to spend some quiet time. I even joked to SIL Ana, one day, when I was off the liquid crack bottle that my knitting suffered when I don’t drink Diet Coke because I am not inspired to knit, knowing “my treat” is missing.

A few weeks ago, I realized my guilt - not to mention my un-centring inner heart vibe - was way far outweighing the pleasure factor I was receiving with each gulp of cold, sugary goodness.

I felt like I was disrespecting my body by repeatedly ingesting fake sugar, chemicals, and who knows what else, on a daily basis.

I stopped for a solid week. [You may be saying "a week? so what?" - if you have any sort of addiction, be it smoking, drinking alcohol, eating a certain food, practising a certain behaviour, you know a week is an eternity].

Then I went to Aruba.

feelin' hot, hot, hot!

I’ve always tanned + knit + drunk Diet Coke in Aruba.

And this time was no different. Boy, it hit the spot.

Then I came home.

I brought Diet Coke into the Condo Casa. I knit + drank Diet Coke…and then decided no. more.

On Tuesday, Angela posted this entry on her blog. I well remember last year at this time when her husband, Eric, ditched Coke. In part, he inspired me to quit Diet Coke – there’s strength in numbers.

And I realized, again: I don’t need this stuff.

I came up with a plan:

~If I’m craving carbonation, there is Perrier water.

~If I’m wanting a cold beverage, there is Brita water in my fridge.

~If I’m craving a comforting drink, there is a cuppa coffee at the ready with my name on it. [Yes, you rightly could argue that coffee is addictive; I see it as the lesser of two evils - at least it's not chemical-laden].

So, I’ve set myself a goal: no Diet Cola until Easter. Yes, it’s a late jump onto the lenten bandwagon, but better a late leap than no leap at all, right?! And then we will re-evaluate and look at the next step.

To be honest, this is one of those blog posts where as I’m typing, I’m thinking, do I really want to hit “post?”

But yes, yes I do.

Because if I put it out here, I can be held accountable.

I’ve come to realize that it’s OK to ask for support when you need it. So I’m asking!

So for the next month, exactly (how’d I time that?!), please feel free to randomly ask “did you have a pop today?” That would help me!

Yesterday was Day #1…one day at a time.

(source)

Ahhhhh….

  

the brita is full and at the ready

 

Mmmmmm….

 

my s'bux stash is currently a mile high

 

 

 

Sooooo Tasty!

Any addictions you wish to share?! I don’t judge, trust me!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thehealthyapron  On March 25, 2011 at 9:10 am

    yay for giving up Diet! I used to drink diet very often, especially in college and my internship. I quite about a year ago and I don’t even crave it anymore. Occasionally I’ll drink it if I’m out to dinner but it’s rare or I’ll drink it as a liquor mixer, but again, rare. I just don’t even like the taste anymore! Keep going!! Once you get past the hump, you probably won’t want to go back!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Oh, thanks for sharing your story! That’s so encouraging to hear that your taste for DC has disappeared. (Funny how many of us “drinkers/ex-drinkers” are out there!)
      One day at a time, right?!
      Your support is muchly appreciated! :)

  • Dorry  On March 24, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    GOOD FOR YOU! I understand that this is a big deal to diet coke drinkers. And of course it’s never too late to stop something that is not beneficial to your body. I think you are making a courageous choice and I’m glad you put it out there in this post! You CAN do this. I like your alternative drink choices, and maybe there’s something else that can be your knitting treat. I know one of my treats when I’m reading/studying/watching a movie, etc. is dried mango. It’s like my candy and I love it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 5:05 am

      oh, thanks so much for your enthusiastic support, dorry! yes – as dr phil would say (yes, i am a fan!) replace one behaviour with another. so fizzy water or coffee it is! dried mango – that sounds neat! i’ve never tried it, but have seen it at our bulk food store – thanks for the idea!

  • Jess  On March 24, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I gave up diet coke about a year and a half ago, and it was hard- but now I am so glad I did. You can do it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      thanks so much for your vote of confidence, jess! i really appreciate it! good for you on ditching the liquid gold…i mean evil stuff. i bet you feel great!

  • Zo  On March 24, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    That’s funny…my first instinct is to say no…and as soon as I’m done commenting I’ll remember my 15 addictions. I think I’m addicted to tea…I probably have 15-20 varieties at home (and 5 at work…)

    My boyfriend drinks regular coke…he stopped for a while last year, but he’s gone back to it too….guess it’s hard to quit! Anyway, good luck and I’ll be sure to ask about your pop drinking!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      well, feel free to share another time if you think of more addictions! you can share them at the same time you ask me if i’m drinking! :) (for the record, two days now, so far so good – i’m clean). tea?? that’s ok. continue on. thumbs up. the husband stopped coke last spring and then went back to it this fall when i caved. he’s still on it. i just bought another case tonight. luckily, it doesn’t interest me at all!

  • Johanna  On March 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Good for you, Cath! It’s not easy giving up things… especially when they have such fond associations.

    I’ve never been a Diet Coke drinker (always was the straight-up Coke kind of a gal) but long ago when I became pregnant with Jacob I gave up all drinks with caffeine and, of course, Coke was one of the many that was included. I was off of it for over 2 years since I breast-fed forever as well. When I tried it again, I couldn’t STAND the stuff! Too sweet! I STILL don’t like it. Now, a well placed Sprite every now and again can hit the spot but the dark colas? I think that taste just may be gone forever.

    For the first time ever, I gave up something for Lent this year. I’m embarrassed to admit that it’s playing Farmville on Facebook. It’s such a terrible use of my time but it’s just one of those mindless things that I somehow got hooked onto. We’ll see what happens after Easter. ;)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 7:56 pm

      major congrats on giving up a favourite past-time for Lent, jo! Thanks so much for sharing! Please let me know what you choose to do after Lent – play again? Or decide not to?! and thanks for sharing your own Cola Story. A naturopath once told me that even real coke is better than diet coke because at least it has real sugar in it (lesser of two evils?!). that’s really cool that you noticed your taste buds had changed! i should be so lucky?!

  • Gina Unger  On March 24, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Oh, I remember the days when we roomed together in Waterloo and we drank Diet Coke and ate pizza… and then we were up ALL NIGHT b/c we couldn’t sleep from the caffeine!!! I am behind you, supporting you fully on this journey. It’s a hard one. And I know you can do it! :)

    And I totally get being scared to hit “post”. At the beginning of Lent I was going to give up eating desserts in the evening (I usually have a cookie or brownie, etc. along with my rooibos teas)… I thought about posting a blog about it so I wouldn’t cheat, but I didn’t. However, although I haven’t been totally “clean” for all of Lent, I’ve definitely NOT been eating desserts every night. I’m pretty much back to our household rule of “desserts on weekends only”. And it’s great!

    I just heard today that it takes 3 weeks of doing the same thing every day to break a habit or make a new habit.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm

      oh yes – fond memories of our room-mate era! remember that little balcony off your bedroom? i def remember sitting out there with a super gulp diet coke! :) thanks for your support – i can always count on you! <3 good for you for your "no desserts for lent" resolution – now it's out in the blog world, haha! we'll all be checking in with you, too! :) yes, i've heard the 21 days theory, too. in fact, that's the name of a blog i read – you may like it, too, actually! http://twentyonedayhabit.blogspot.com/ keep me posted on your dessert intake, ok?!! haha!

  • Johanna B  On March 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    I was addicted to diet coke for years. I have diet coke ornaments for my tree at Christmas. I have a diet coke charm for a bracelet and until the first of this year I had a fridge full of the stuff. I swore that I’d given up enough stuff over the past two years and I would NEVER even consider giving up my diet coke. Surprise. Never say never. I’ve been diet coke free for 2 mos now. I take one day at a time. Good luck on your journey.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      wow!!! yea, you!!! what a good story, johanna! i love the christmas tree ornament…that is funny. i do have a set of diet coke glasses, and a fridge magnet…they are not currently in use! :) thanks for sharing your story – i’d love to hear sometime what your a-ha, get-rid-of-the-diet-coke moment was.

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 24, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Cathy should I tell you that I’m drinking a diet coke right now? Eek!

    I have given it up in the past and to be honest I have cut way down. I used to be a 3-4 can per day gal and now I have 1 can maybe 4-5 days per week.

    I think this is great and I’m glad you hit “publish”!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      aw, thanks so much, holly! haha, i DO laugh that you are enjoying a DC at this moment – that is funny! good for you for cutting back! that’s quite a reduction. i guess we just have to do what feels right to us, at this moment…and there are certainly worse things to be addicted to, aren’t there?! i just tend to be an all-or-nothing person – so it’s hard for me to have a pop only some days!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

