Too-Da-Loo, Runner’s World

Yesterday, a question popped into my head:

Why am I subscribing to Runner’s World magazine?”

My answer? Because I always have.

(source)

That response seemed a little lacking in sound reasoning, so I devoted some more brain time to pursuing this train of thought.

Upon reflection, I realized that I have subscribed continuously to this Runner’s Bible for at least 15, if not 20 years. I started running in 1989, and I’m pretty sure I started getting the magazine via home delivery shortly thereafter – likely soon after I got my first pair of shoes!

To cut to the chase, today I went to the RW website and cancelled my subscription. It was the logical decision to make, and to be honest, it makes total sense! Here’s why:

~ we sell Runner’s World at the store. So, I have access to the publication for free, and can read it during any quiet times while on shift (as long as I make sure not to slop peanut butter or spill coffee on it – haha!). Sure, our store copies arrive about one week later than my personal copy is delivered by mail, but since there is no time-sensitive news involved, I think I can bear it.

~ as much as I hate to admit it, I am spending less and less time reading hard copies of the newspaper and magazines, and more and more time scanning online versions of the same publications. For years, I was a newspaper junkie; over the past while, I’ve weaned myself off of my reading routines (yes, used to knit and read the newspaper and drink Diet Coke!), and have turned to reading on my computer instead. And, I’ve noticed that the RW website carries virtually all of the same stories and features that appear in the paper magazine.

~ not to sound overconfident, but after 20+ years running, and given my occupation, I feel experienced enough that I could author some of the articles…Do I really need to read up on how to dress for cold weather? Or the best hamstring stretches? Yea, I still read these types of articles, but I learn very few new ideas.

Cramping Out(source)

~ to my mind, RW recycles articles every 2-3 years. The main tips in “The Twenty Best Superfoods For Runners” will next appear as “Healthy Staples For Your Kitchen.” “Beat the Winter Blues” is not much different than “How to Stay Motivated in the Off-Season.”

The Best Foods For Runners

(source)

~ this will sound just plain snarky: I really dislike the current editor-in-chief, David Willey. I’m sure he’s a very nice guy in real life. His editorials just irk me, though. Yes, this is a small quibble to whine about, but reading his openings makes me petulant. This aversion cannot be further explained, sorry.

So there you have it. Maybe I can just feel all virtuous about saving the planet, one less paper product in my home, blah blah. Which reminds me…Runner’s World is about due for another “How to be a Green Runner” article. May 2011 issue, I bet.

Do you subscribe to any magazines? Would you consider giving them up?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On March 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    This month I’m behind…still reading March and the April’s have started coming. But People I stay on top of!

    • Zo  On March 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm

      gah! meant to reply to your response!

  • Zo  On March 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I’m a sucker for cheap magazine offers..so I get People, Self, Shape, Fitness, Health, Real Simple and to my everlasting shame Marie Claire (that one I am letting run out and their “Big 6″ Health Bloggers article is one of the reasons I started my blog…I got interested in the bloggers they were writing about and let’s say I drew very different conclusions than the article). I think part of it is that I just enjoy getting mail that isn’t a bill….

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      haha! i hear you! always wayyy fun to open the mailbox to find a magazine! ok, zo, you win the prize (so far) for most magazines! i love your selection, though…all my favourites! can you get through reading them all in a month?!

  • Dorry  On March 25, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Hahaha – so true – how many times can we read the same info over and over? I also have to admit I read so much of my information/news, etc online these days, and Runner’s World has a great website in my opinion. I was just talking to Billy about this because he subscribes to a bunch of magazines and never reads them! But, in his defense, the subscriptions were free through some promotion or points from a credit card. I hope you’re staying warm up there! I wish I could swoop you down to Dallas for a warm weekend. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 7:09 pm

      oh, i’d love to come down and hang for the weekend with you – need another crew member for sunday?!! :) yes, it’s hard to keep up when you have a constant stream of magazines coming into the home! i do love to read them, but when?!! billy must be in the same boat! i agree – the RW website IS a wonderful running resource.

  • Johanna B  On March 25, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I subscribe to RW. I will not be renewing my subsciption in June. I still pretty much read it cover-to-cover but I can check it out from my public library for free. Maybe not the current issue but every other one. I also check out the Vegetarian Times magazine from the library. I do subscribe to Clean Eating and Eating Well becaue I’m still changing so much in the way I eat that I find them helpful and the library doesn’t have them.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      interesting that you will be stopping your RW subscription, too, johanna! yes, we can get it at our library, too – thanks for the reminder, i forgot about that option! i’ve heard of veg times but have never seen it/read it. a “foodie” magazine is a lot like getting a cookbook – worth the purchase!

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 25, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I don’t subscribe to anything. I used to, and I used to buy mags at the store too—-but then I realized that it was just a waste of money (even though it can be really enjoyable to sit on the beach reading a mag!).

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      i have a hard time paying for a magazine from the store, too (and did you know mags usually cost more in canada than in the US!) – i figure 2-3 magazines, that’s the price of a book! ooo yea, magazines on the beach or around the pool? very relaxing!!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 25, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    I used to get Runners World — if you ran Grandma’s marathon or the 1/2 marathon you got a free subscription for a year. Now they are too cheap so they don’t do that anymore! I find the info I need on their website, so why get the magazine?

    I do have a subscription to Women’s Health because it was only $5 and I figured, it was a good deal and I like to have something like that on hand if I’m going to soak in the tub (aka mindless nonsense to read!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm

      that would be a good deal – a free subscription is awesome! after i cancelled, i thought – maybe i can only see all the online info because i subscribe?? but then i realized that i can see the same info when i check the RW site from the store – so there goes that theory! yea – so why pay for a paper copy?? i like women’s health, too – it is PERFECT for relaxing with. and a $5 subscription?? unbeatable!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

