It’s Around The Bay Day!

This morning is the 30 k Around The Bay road race in Hamilton, Ontario!

Why is this race significant?

~ It’s the oldest race in North America. First held in 1894, it even pre-dates the Boston Marathon! That’s pretty cool, if you ask me, and I’m proud that a city in Southern Ontario can make this claim!

~ 30 k is a unique race distance. While you can find an abundance of marathons, half marathons, even 25 k trail races, without too much problem, 30 k is not very common!

~ Over 7 000 runners from near and far will toe the start line this morning. It’s quite the drawing card for elite runners as well as those “normal people” who wish to challenge themselves with a distance longer than a half-mary (21.1 km), but aren’t quite ready for a full ‘thon (42.2 km).

~ The course is diverse in terms of terrain and scenery. (I have participated in this event several times, and have fond memories of those races!). The first 10 k is flat, boring and ugly, as you run through industrial Hamilton. The second third of the course takes you through lovely residential neighbourhoods, and you encounter rolling hills. The last 10 k is marked by an incredibly, unbelievably steep hill, but then it’s flat all the way to the finish.

The Around the Bay race is definitely one I would recommend to out-of-town runners because of the history, the uncommon distance, and the race route – for example, you get to cross over a drawbridge, at one point! [Sidenote: one year, the bridge went up to let a boat through right in the midde of the race! Runners were NOT amused!].

Hamilton in March, however, is not much of a drawing card. At this time of year, it’s pretty much still winter in Southern Ontario – ie. not visitor/sightseeing friendly. [Sidenote: funny memory: one year when Dad and I participated in this event, race morning dawned sunny...and over 70 degrees Fahrenheit. NO ONE was prepared for, or acclimatized to, this summery temp! Dehydration and sunburn were major factors - likely one of the only times people in this neck of the woods have ever complained about warm weather!]. 

Even in summer, there is not much to do in Hamilton. Toronto – yes. But a good 45-minute drive separates TO from Hamilton… bottom line, there are a lot more “desirable destinations” if you’re going to travel out of town only to do a race!

A lot of friends and contacts from the store are running today – best wishes, y’all! Don’t let the Grim Reaper freak you out!!

(If you like running-themed movies, check out Saint Ralph – Around the Bay and Boston both feature prominently in the storyline, it’s a sentimental, feel-good film, and I would give it a movie rating of 3.5 stars).

*#*#*#*#*

When Is an Idea Your Own??

As reported, I finished A’s sweater this week. I ended up making a few changes to the original pattern:

yes, i ripped the pattern out of my book - it was too bulky to lug to aruba! i felt guilty, then thought: hey, it's MY book!

these alice starmore designs are gorgeous; i've had the book for a quite a few years

you can see my notations on the pattern, then i also wrote up additional details about the front piece...

While A loved the pattern, she wished to have a higher neckline, so I revised the pattern on my own. I also narrowed the body, and made sleeve increases at every 4th row instead of every 3rd row, thereby modifying the shape of the sleeve.

It got me thinking about knitting patterns and recipesat what point can you call a design or a recipe your own?

Let’s take chocolate chip cookies, for example. There must be several hundreds of variations out there. Where do you draw the line at saying you made an adaptation to a recipe versus saying you created your own recipe? If I add an extra 1/2 tsp vanilla, is it now MY chocolate chip cookie recipe?

So, looking back at knitting – if I modify a neckline, switch up the body shape, and change the sleeve, is it now *my* pattern??

In the case of A’s sweater, I would still say NO, it’s not a pattern I can pass off as a Cathy Creation. To my mind, if I had changed the neckline, body and sleeves AND gone with different cable placements, then it could be classified as *mine.*

Your thoughts? Baking or knitting – what/how many modifications need to occur for a recipe or pattern to “switch authors?”

For recipes, I would say one ingredient switch is enough to make it yours – is that being rather lenient?

*#*#*#*#*

Fun Ph[F]otos for the Fiction Folk!

I popped in to Wordsworth Books yesterday aft, and spotted these wonderful posters on the wall:

Fitting messages considering the thoughts shared earlier this week about magazines and online reading!

Happy Sunday! Hope you get in some running, knitting, baking or reading!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MelissaNibbles  On March 28, 2011 at 10:36 am

    I like the Keep Calm And Read A Book sign! I want it for my bedroom.

    To answer your question about my sneakers, they’re about 4 months old and are Mizuno’s. I think they’re the right type for me…Maybe I need something with more cushioning?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 10:39 am

      that poster WOULD be great bedroom art! yes! i wore mizunos for years, melissa. they’re great in being lightweight, just wrap beautifully around your foot…but a soft, cushioned ride they will NOT give you. as you increase your distance, you may wish to consider something with more cushioning for the longer walks. just something to consider!

      • MelissaNibbles  On March 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

        Can you suggest a few good sneakers that I could try out? Thanks!

      • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 10:43 am

        sure! asics and saucony are the most cushioned, in terms of a general brand of shoe. nike and adidas are also on the softer side. personally, find new balance flat like pancakes, and mizuno is not very soft, either. good luck!

  • Zo  On March 27, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    That race sounds fun/interesting..love the part about the drawbridge!
    The “when is it yours?” is an interesting issue…I think I would tend to acknowledge the original source but then explain my modifications…and I suspect other people using your modifications would say “Kiki’s” or “Cathy’s” (by the way, which do you prefer when being addressed in blogworld?) version of such-and-such…and I guess if the modifications were very different, you’d consider it yours….
    Then there are things like knowing my dad used to smash up pretzels and put them in ice cream back in the 70s’, long before pretzel cones and “chubby hubby”!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      oh, it’s such a classic race. canadian races aren’t known for electric energy (we can soooo take lessons from US races!) but ATB is good! cathy is my given name, but kiki is my nickname. the nieces call me kiki because they have another aunt cathy, too. i like either name! i love that – smashed pretzels in ice cream! i’ve never tried it. the sweet contrasted with salty sounds divine! (like pb filled pretzels that i’ve read about lately – have your tried those?)

      • Zo  On March 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm

        I have….I always find them to be not quite as good as I’d expect them to be…I think the texture is always a bit off for me…

  • Dorry  On March 27, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    That race sounds awesome! I’d love to do a 30K since I’ve run a couple halfs now, but not sure about 26.2. Eeek! Too funny about the year it was unseasonable warm. It’s been VERY warm/borderline hot here the past week or so, but a cold front came in last night and it was 48 degrees (I think) this morning at the start line. Certainly not too cold, but chillier than expected. I loved it! I can’t imagine running in heat.

    Good points about the knitting/recipes question. I see so many variations of the same recipes around the blog world. I think it’s nice when people say if their recipe was adapted or inspired by another recipe, but I agree that if some ingredients are changed, it can become your own recipe. Excited to go read the next post about your knitting!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2011 at 6:09 pm

      oh, that’s good news that you did not have to boil today, dorry! perfect timing for that cool front to come through. personally, i love hot weather running, but i realize it is not everyone’s cup of tea! i like, too, when people acknowledge the original source of their inspiration, and note the changes they have made. it’s fun to experiment with recipes!

  • Gina Unger  On March 27, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Glad to hear you mention the movie, St. Ralph. Jeff and I LOVED it! It was a surprise great movie for us. :) I’d give it a 5/5.
    Interesting that you ask “when does a recipe/pattern become your own?” This question just came up at our MOMs group this past week in fact! Someone said that you need to change a considerable amount (what does THAT mean exactly?!) of the method/instructions (i.e. not just ingredients) before you can have true copyright privileges. But since when are recipes EVER unique ideas? I have made recipes completely up without any direct cookbook assistance, and wham. Awhile later I discover basically the exact same recipe somewhere else. But they were still my own inventions in the first place! How do you prove it? Point is, there are probably no original recipes anymore so how can anyone really copyright them at all? Same goes with knitting patterns, maybe??? I’d call most of your creations “Cathy originals”!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      glad you saw that movie – it’s just a winner! great insights into the cooking/recipe debate! interesting that you were recently talking about this with your moms! i’ve thought that, too: what if i THINK i’ve come up with my own idea, because i haven’t seen it elsewhere, and then you DO discover the same/almost the same recipe/pattern/design after the fact? is it “stealing” if you don’t know you’re stealing?!!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 27, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Cathy I have no idea about the “when does a recipe become your own” — I have thought the same thing — how many ingredients/amounts do you need to change/add before it is yours.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2011 at 11:18 am

      Thanks for sharing, holly! I guess if in doubt, err on the side of giving your original source the credit, eh!? What got me thinking is that there are soooo many cookbooks out there; are there really that many unique ideas??! Hmmmmm!!!

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 27, 2011 at 10:42 am

    That’s very interesting about the recipe thing—I agree with you. Unless you make up the whole thing from scratch, it’s just an adapted version of someone else’s plan. There may be some gray areas—-since it’s hard to invent something new in the kitchen—-with cooking. Like, when I made dessert kale chips, I can say the recipe for the kale chips is mine (except that I followed a cashew cream recipe for most of it), and also made the kale chips exactly how everyone else makes them (by massaging the gunk onto them and dehydrating).
    So—I thought of the concept of dessert kale chips, but the process and the recipe were not new inventions… Hmmm…makes ya think!

    Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2011 at 10:57 am

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Lisa, and the specific example of your kale chips. I would say dessert kale chips is YOUR idea/recipe, for sure…and a good idea it was, at that!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

