New Experience #10: Drink Coconut Water

In the past couple months, I have read a lot about Coconut Water, both on blogs and in magazines. Some people enthusiastically endorse this healthy beverage while others…are not such big fans. In an effort to expand my list of enjoyable beverages (update: still clean on the Diet Coke front!), I thought I’d give Coconut Water a try.

I found this 14 0z (414 ml) plastic bottle of Zico brand Coconut Water at Eating Well Organically.

"zico pure premium coconut water with natural pineapple & citrus flavors"

For this price…

yes, that's $3.19 for 14 oz/414 ml!!!

…it’s verging into liquid gold territory! [Sidenote: pet peeve to be explored another day…how can we expect people to give up pop and chips in favour of healthy food and beverage choices when you can get a Coke this size for less than $2.00??]

I decided to try the Coconut Water during my morning shift at the store.

will i be an enthusiastic endorser of this product?!...

eager for the first sip!...

i've drunk the first mouthful...

..and this photo pretty much says it all. :(

ICK!!!! EWWWW!!

I was not a fan.

Why? I found the coconut water to be sickenly sweet and very syrupy. I took two sips and honestly thought I might either gag or have to spit it out. There was an unpleasant aftertaste – from the plastic bottle, maybe??

It was just horrid. Now, maybe it would taste better post-workout, when you’re craving refreshment. Also, I have to say I am just not a fan of fruit flavoured anything: yogurt, ice creams, electrolyte gels…I will always pick a chocolate or a mocha over fruit. So, maybe the added pineapple and citrus did not help the coconut water cause.

I sipped about 8-10 glugs and then just could not bear any more. Down the drain it went. Major fail!

Then, I went and made myself a coffee. That was good.

Have you tried coconut water? What was your impression, if so?

*#*#*#*#*

Updates on yesterday’s news

A local runner from Kitchener won the Around the Bay road race! (Kitchener is the neighbouring city to my Waterloo). Here’s the article in today’s K-W Record. From various reports received, it seems a lot of my friends enjoyed a satisfying race. Congrats, everyone!

*#*#*#*#*

Yesterday, I gave A her sweater!

 

the finished product

While A loved the knitting, unfortunately, the fit was not entirely what she had hoped for. I could tell when she put it on that the neckline was still looser than she had envisioned. Long story short, after a few emails yesterday, we concluded that I will reknit the sweater.

 Honestly, I am fine with this, and here’s why: 1) from a business standpoint, I want my customer to be 100% satisfied with both the product and the service paid for. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising, and I would hope that A will recommend me without hesitation should she ever get inquiries as to where she got her sweater. 2) it’s silly to have a sweater just sit in a drawer and not be worn – that’s a waste of A’s money and my time. 3) I fully agree with A’s assessment. The sweater does need to made less boxy and the neckline will look better in a tighter crew shape. 4) I’ll be able to speed-knit through the second version of the sweater, given that I am familiar with the pattern, now, and took copious notes the first time through.
 So, A will have the sweater she desires…just in time for May’s warm sunshine and light breezes! :~
 
Lastly, I found this quote this morning on Gina’s (The Fitnessista) blog. It resonated with me, completely. Maya is so wise.
  

 

 “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” ~Maya Angelou
 
 The sun is out. Happy Monday!
 
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On March 29, 2011 at 9:12 am

    LOVE your photos of you tasting the coconut water. Haven’t tried it out of a bottle before. Just the juice out of real coconuts. Is it the same? Because that was kinda bland tasting.
    Oh, so heart-breaking to hear that the sweater needs to be re-done! What a lot of work! But I totally get your reasoning to re-do it. I’d be the same way.
    Love the quote! :) I heard someone say something similar last year and I’ve NEVER forgotten it. I often think about it as I deal with my kids… what will they remember when they grow up?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 9:32 am

      i think a real coconut would be the way to go! but if it’s bland on its own….i bet it needs alcohol + a beach setting to taste divine! haha! oh, that’s a good application of the quote, gina – with children. i like that. easier said than done, at times, but a good philosophy to really try to remember and apply.

  • Lisa  On March 28, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I only like plain coconut water out of the “box” not the plastic container. The flavored is weird…and the plastic container makes it taste like plastic! I still really only prefer it when I’m sweating and hot though!

    I also have a great smoothie recipe for it with limes, aloe, and ice :)

    I can’t imagine starting over on the sweater…but totally agree with your standpoint! And you must really love doing it or you wouldn’t have in the first place! Hope your week is going well—it may warm up a little here by Friday—there too? I heard we may get into the 50’s!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 5:10 am

      i totally think the plastic bottle impacted the taste. and i found it funny that such a “health food beverage” would come in PLASTIC! MAYBE i would try a plain coconut, in a tetris pac, AFTER a workout…but maybe not! oh, any temp over freezing sounds so pleasant, right about now! let’s keep our fingers crossed!

  • Zo  On March 28, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I didn’t like coconut water when I tried it too…part of me wanted to like it because it’s supposed to be so good for you..part of me was relieved because it is expensive!
    I’m not a fan of fruit flavored ice creams…I tend much more towards goo.
    That’s a shame about the sweater but you seem okay with it (I’d be muttering a lot)…is there someone else who you could give it to, or will you wear it yourself?

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      the plan is to rip back the entire sweater – so i’ll have all the yarn, and i’ll just reknit the sweater with new measurements. thankfully, the next version will be SMALLER ie will use less yarn, so i know i won’t run out! i AM ok with it. thankfully, i like the pattern a lot, so while i wasn’t PLANNING to do a “second sweater,” i won’t be hating the knitting of it. sooo…so far NO ONE who has responded likes coconut water! so who’s buying this stuff?!!

  • Dorry  On March 28, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I’ve only had the O.N.E. brand coconut water. It’s not my favorite drink, but it helped me rehydrate & replenish after Bikram yoga last summer.

    I love your attitude about knitting the sweater again. I think it’s great that you’ll be able to speed knit it and you’ll learn something from every item you knit – kind of like learning something new from every race we run, right? :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      yes, running and knitting – we learn from every “project” (training for a race is a project, isn’t it?!). i’m quite eager to get started on the RE-knitting, now! O.N.E. brand is new to me – i don’t think coconut water is too commonplace (??) around here…maybe if i could get to a whole foods there’d be more variety! (my dream – whole foods in waterloo!)

  • Johanna B  On March 28, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    I have never tried coconut water. After reading your review and the comments on a recent post on Caitlin’s blog (Healthy Tipping Point) I probably won’t. I can’t afford to spend that kind of money on something I might just pour down the drain. I do like fruit flavors but not syrupy sweet anything.

    I really like the looks of the sweater. Too bad it didn’t fit her right the first time.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm

      thanks, johanna! it IS a gorgeous design so once we get the meaurements correct, it should be top-notch! i agree – an expensive waste if you end up not liking the coconut water. i felt bad getting rid of it…but it was just really disgusting!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 28, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Too bad the sweater didn’t fit correctly! Is there any hope of salvaging any of it? Eek!

    I haven’t tried coconut water (shhh I hate coconut) and I’m sure I’d make the same face you did if I took a sip! $3 per bottle is pricey too.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      do you know, holly, is the coconut water that expensive in the states, too? definitely wouldn’t chug 3 of those per day, even if i had liked it! no coconut fan, eh? i think i only like the scent in lotion – haha! nope, unfortunately, the sweater is a complete do-over. too bad since i DID follow a’s measurements the first time ’round…ah well, live and learn!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

