Sarah of the Pink Shoes

Late yesterday afternoon, my friend Sarah and I met up at Coffee Culture for a long-overdue gabfest.

Sarah and I first got to know each other in August 2008 (can it really be that long ago?!) when she started working at the store. We had a lot of fun working together.

It was Sarah who inspired me to get these shoes (one of my four pairs of Nike Frees)!

…and we had fun being the Bobbsey Twins, wearing them on shift together. (Please don’t say “small things amuse small minds!”).

Whose feet are whose? I forget now!

As always happens when you’re chatting with a friend, our visiting time flew by in a flash, yesterday. It was so good to catch up! Sarah is now a certified teacher, and landed a long-term contract job that began in October of this school year, and will last until the end of the school year, in June. I’m so happy thisĀ all worked out for her!

We intend to get together next month, again. Can’t wait! [Sidenote: Of course, I ordered a coffee at the coffee shop. Guess what? I realized I much prefer Coffee Culture coffee to Starbucks - CC is not so bitter!].

When’s the last time you went out for coffee with a friend? It’s hard, sometimes, to co-ordinate busy schedules, but always so worth it!

teacher sarah! with a hot chocolate!

end of our visit, boo hoo. the time went way too fast!

Before we left, I needed one more snapshot for the records…

no pink shoes for either of us...although we're still sporting our NIKES! (sarah on the L in lunarglides, me on the R in the frees)

*#*#*#*#*

Winding this silk yarn has grown extremely tiresome.

skein #2/4 total...not. having. fun. with. this.

I am literally untangling the threads inch by inch, turning this mess into a useable ball of yarn. After finishing this skein (maybe today?), I may take a break and just knit with the two balls I will now have at my disposal…seriously, Dad, watch out…I am so tempted to enlist your help to wind skeins #3 and #4!!

OK, I’m outta here. Thanks to having a day off today, I have a time-intense New Experience I am going to try to accomplish – it may or may not be ready for posting tomorrow, but I’m going for it! It’s definitely a Kiki-Ish Idea (ie. quirky, fun, unique!)!!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On March 30, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Hey Cathy—-So great you could meet up with a friend! I love that, and I am all about pics of matching pink shoes!

    So later in the spring/summer when we meet up, we’ll photog our shoes if they match :) But I’m likely to be wearing Merrell Barefoot shoes…I haven’t had Frees since they first came out a long time ago (I had purple). I loved them. I should get more!

    Good luck with your yarn endeavors! I’ll stick to grading my papers and procrastinating…

    Have a great day…we’re closer to getting a little warmer weather—the sun has been deceiving the last couple days. Hope you’re at least getting sun “up there” too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 30, 2011 at 8:38 am

      we are SOOO lucky – a string of about 6-7 days of pure sunshine, up here! truly delightful! ok, when we get together, you wear your merrell barefoots and i’ll wear my vibrams – how about THAT for a matchup! GOOD LUCK with your marking – i know you’re swamped right now! hang in there!

  • thehealthyapron  On March 29, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Always fun to meet a friend! I met a good friend for lunch at WF over the weekend and we literally talked for 3 hours! insane…felt like 10 minutes!

    Loving the twin shoes!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      i so agree! it seems you sit down…and suddenly it’s at least an hour later! how come dentist appts or cleaning the house don’t go that fast?! oh man, i would LOVE to have a whole foods close by where i could meet up with a friend…great choice of spot! (our nearest is an hour away).

  • Jess  On March 29, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I went on a starbucks date with my friend today, too. It was a great little date!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      that’s great that you got out with your friend today! you win the award for “most recent outing!” bet the time flew too fast!

  • Zo  On March 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I took a day off work to meet a friend in NYC a month or so ago…I’d say that was my last friend/coffee meetup!

    I think Starbucks makes their coffee bitter on purpose so that you order one of the “fancier” (and more expensive) drinks.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      now THAT’S an interesting hypothesis, zo!! you could be onto something here…the “inside story” on starbucks coffee!…i like your theory! MYC…now i bet you have 1001 coffee shop choices there!

      • Zo  On March 29, 2011 at 8:42 pm

        Actually..we went to Argo Tea, which was fun.
        BTW…your comments went to my spam…I’ve rescued them..don’t know what the problem was.

  • Dorry  On March 29, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I LOVE those Nike Frees! I’d love a pair. I think it will be a treat I save up for in the next month or 2. Coffee dates with friends are the best, and they do happen too infrequently because we’re all so busy! But, I love the people I work with at lululemon.

    Starbucks coffee = SO bitter. I haven’t had coffee in quite a while, but I always thought theirs was gross.

    So sorry about the tangling thread. What a pain in the butt!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm

      oh yes, do treat yourself to a pair of frees, dorry! besides being so cheery, they are superbly comfortable. very light, very flexible. i do hope you can find a fun colour combination! so glad to hear you enjoy working with your lulu colleagues! i’d love to hear more about your job sometime. a fun work atmosphere makes all the difference as to whether you enjoy going to work each day, i think.

  • Nancy  On March 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Thanks for all the info. I’m definitely going to check out sportchek, running room and Toronto!! I wonder if they’ll have them at the Nike Outlet in Cambridge…

  • Nancy  On March 29, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I remember your nike shoe collection being so colorful – do you purchase those at the Running Room, or elsewhere? I’ve been wanting some very vibrant either running shoes, or street shoes. (Okay, I just want all the ones you have. lol)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      thanks, nancy! i love colourful footwear, too.
      you may be able to find colourful nike footwear at the nike outlet…but they tend to NOT have the latest and greatest, unfortunately…i think you’ll have better luck at the other places suggested – do let me know if you find some!

  • Johanna B  On March 29, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Love the pinkie shoes. I need a new pair for the spring season (not because it’s spring but because my current ones have too many miles on them).

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 11:52 am

      ooo, please let me know the brand and style of shoe you end up purchasing! spring is the perfect time for new shoes – a fresh pair for fresh weather! yes, my pink shoes always make me smile because of the colour, but also because i think of sarah when i wear them!

      • Nancy  On March 29, 2011 at 11:53 am

        Hi there!

        I don’t know if I commented correctly or not – but I love all your colorful Nike’s. Can you purchase them at the Running Room or where would I get them? I’ve been wanting a pair of Nike Free’s for a while, and I love how bold and bright they all are.

        Thanks in advance!!

      • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 11:56 am

        hi nancy! thanks for your comment! sadly, MOST running room stores do not carry the frees. a few of the flagship locations (edmonton, toronto, ottawa, for example) MAY have them. you could try to order online at runningroom.com, too. i know you can buy them at sportchek, if you have a location near you for that chain. that’s where i’ve gotten other pairs. and the nike stores in toronto (queen west, bloor area) have them, too. there are other really bright colour options, too! plus other nike styles have awesome colours. hope you can find some!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 29, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Ugh so the yarn isn’t getting any easier to work with :(

    I love meeting up with friends for coffee (and we’ve talked about this, I totally agree that Starbucks is waaaay bitter!) — last time was 2 weeks ago. We decided we need to get together more often — before that we hadn’t seen each other in a year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2011 at 11:53 am

      isn’t it crazy how FAST time flies. i think sarah and i first chatted about getting together back before christmas! i’m not sure what is worse: untangling yarn or ripping back knitting!! i’ll let you know in a few days! :)

Trackbacks

  • By Pink birthday shoes on May 2, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    [...] since I saw a pair of pink Nike Free’s on 1970 Kiki Project Blog, I hunted them down for a month or so until I found them on Ebay. They were last years, or maybe [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

