March Outings of the Month, Modified

Nothing like leaving things til the last minute!

One of my 2011 Goals is to have an Outing of the Month, every month, with Mom, and with Dad, and to give babysitting time to The Brother and SIL Ana.

You can put a check mark next to the March Outing for The Brother and SIL Ana – here‘s the report of that babysitting adventure festivity!

Due to extenuating circumstances, things did not work out to go to lunch with Dad, or to go shopping with Mom in March. (In February, Dad and I went for coffee at Starbucks. In February, Mom and I shopped at Michaels).

On the bright side, we did enjoy two coffee outings this month! 

Last week, we gathered at Matter of Taste:

the girls!

photographic proof that dad was there, too!

(Actually, B was able to join us, as well, that afternoon!)

This afternoon, mom, dad and I rendez-vous’d at The Huether. (Yes there is a plethora of coffee shops in Uptown Waterloo. Did I start drinking coffee due to atmospheric osmosis?!)

I had yet to try a Huether coffee.

me and my...caw-aw-aw-fee!

The verdict?

Yum!!! I just got decaf…too late in the day for anything strong!

the girls, again!

dad treated - thanks, pops!

All in all, two coffee outings with my favourite parents is better than no get-togethers at all! April’s Outing of the Month goals: lunch out with Dad (remember, we’re moving through the day from breakfast –> coffee bread –>lunch) and a trip to the Kitchener Real Canadian Superstore with Mom (we really want to check out Joe Fresh fashions for spring).

How often do you get to see your parent(s)? I am lucky to have my parents in the condo building next door!

*#*#*#*#*

I’m Still Clean!

Last week, I shared about ditching Diet Coke (mini-goal is to get to Easter, pop-free). So far, so good! I’ll submit to any testing, sans hesitation!

Have I craved a Diet Coke? Yes.

Have I given in? No.

How have I overcome a craving? With substitutions: Perrier, coffee, cold water, a snack…I go with what is the “second best option” for that moment in time. Within minutes, then, I can forget that I initially wanted a pop!

Do I miss Diet Coke? I don’t miss the drink itself  – I miss the ritual of drinking a Diet Coke while knitting. That’s the honest truth.

Do I notice difference in mind/body/spirit? Yes. Physically, I feel less bloated. Mentally, I feel less guilt because I know I am injecting less chemicals into my body. But I do miss the ZING!!!! that Diet Coke gives me – that energy rush. Caffeinated coffee just is not giving me the same feeling (??) – so maybe it’s an aspartame-whoosh I feel with Diet Coke!?!

Anyway the few times I have felt like drinking a pop, I’ve resisted, thanks to knowing I’d have to blog it. Feeling accountable is helping!!

Did you give up anything for Lent? How are you doing?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Julie  On April 1, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Because I live in France and my parents live in Canada, I am lucky to see them once a year (twice if I’m really lucky). I can’t imagine seeing them more as we are very busy with the kids’ sports. Not only that, in Canada we lived in T.O. and the parents in K-W. I would never be able to see them weekly now with the sports schedule and would feel guilty if I lived that close. At least I have an excuse with living farther away. That being said, I do love my parents and spend two and a half complete weeks with them a year. If I lived in the same country, I would see them for a few hours once – twice a month. So, it probably all works out!!!
    What about you cathy? How often do you see yours with them right next door?

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      You definitely have a unique situation, julie, compared to most of us! I love how you devote quality time to family when you do get back here to visit. And yes, with all your boys’ activities, I bet frequent family visits would be hard to schedule, anyway-your boys are at “that age!” You know, it’s funny…I’d have to say I don’t see my parents any more now that they’re next door compare to when they lived a 15 minute drive away. But the commute is fabulous now! And I like that I can just pop over with cookies for dad or for a quick little visit. Do you skype with your parents at all? It’s such an amazing-free!-innovation!

      • Julie  On April 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm

        Yes, we skype once a week and Mom and I still exchange daily emails. Thanks goodness for the computer!

  • Dorry  On March 31, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Both my parents are remarried and they both live here in Dallas so I see them fairly often – I just had lunch with my mom today! Good for you for keeping up the no diet coke! I gave up cereal for Lent and I craved it for the first week or 2, but haven’t thought about it too much since then. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2011 at 5:06 am

      oh that’s so nice that you had a March Outing with YOUR mom today, dorry! so much easier to visit when geographical distance is not an issue. that’s right, you DID give up cereal…good for you on maintaining that resolution. cereal….yum….i would miss cereal very much!

  • Zo  On March 31, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    My dad lives near me, but my mother lives in California.
    Congratulations on keeping your soda goal. I don’t give up anything for Lent…although I could certainly come up with a few things I probably *should* give up…

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 31, 2011 at 7:08 pm

      that’s lovely that your dad is close by! i usually don’t give up anything for lent…i didn’t grow up in that tradition. haha, we all could compose a good list of “i should change…” i bet!

  • Johanna B  On March 31, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I enjoy getting to read about your excursions with your parents. Mine are both gone now and I still miss my mom quite a bit. My dad passed in 1965 and that was so very long ago. I grew up without an extended family nearby. We were in New Orleans and they were in Kansas and Missouri. I am making up for lost family time now by getting together as often as I can. In fact, yesterday I made a flying trip to Kansas City and got to visit with Aunts, Uncles and lots of cousins.

    Congrats on the diet coke thing. I’m still hanging in there as well.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 31, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      good for you, my-diet coke-abstainer-bloggie-friend! there’s strength in numbers!! feel free to vent if you ever need to! :) i’m so sorry to hear that your parents are no longer with us. and i’m glad your extended family is still a part of your life. i bet you had a wonderful trip this week, and enjoyed your time with everyone. thanks for sharing.

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On March 31, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Geeeeeeeze Cathy, once again I am drinking a Diet Coke as I read your blog post!!! :)

    My parents live about 2 miles from us, which is nice because we do get to see them every once in a while. I really like running into them at the grocery store, Target, library, etc. Jason’s parents each live really close as well. It makes holidays really easy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 31, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      oh man, holly, now i have a craving! haha – joke! that’s so cool that you’re so close to both sets of parents. i love random sightings of my parents at the mall or the coffee shop – glad you feel the same!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

