Magic 8 Ball Cookies

In her Monday eve blog post, Monica provided a Magic 8 Ball link.

Oh my gosh. Talk about too much fun. I immediately asked this psychic helper online Magic 8 Ball a question about work. It got the question right. That’s it! I’m a believer! :)

Yesterday, I was overcome with the urge to make cookies. Since this desire strikes intermittently at best, I had to roll with it. Recipe #8 of the Unofficial 1970 Kiki Project, coming right up!

In order to up the baking fun-factor (cuz we all know I need all the encouragement I can get, in the kitchen) I decided to consult the Magic 8 Ball and let it pick the type of chocolate chip cookie to be made.

Here’s the Q & A that went down:

Me: Should I make a chocolate chip cookie recipe found on the internet?

M8B:

"no way!"

[Well, that was certainly a clear and definite answer!]

Me: Should I make a chocolate chip cookie recipe from my recipe collection, then?

M8B:

"ask again later"

[Since “later” is pretty open to interpretation, I waited 15 seconds, and asked again!]

Me: Should I make a chocolate chip cookie recipe from a recipe book that I own? [I rephrased just to humour M8B, who so far seems to be feeling pretty cranky today].

M8B:

"definitely"

[Now we’re getting somewhere!]

Me: Should I use a peanut butter cookie recipe as a base?

M8B:

"definitely"

[Okey-dokey, M8B!].

One final question…

Me: Can I use the two eggs I have that are slightly past the best-before date?

M8B:

"absolutely!"

[OK, I’m sorry but this whole thing completely cracks me up. Talk about making my day].

Onto the recipe!

I chose the Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies recipe found in my “Come Taste the Pride” cookbook.

yes, from the 1995 international plowing match!

As I’ve said on many an occasion, you cannot beat community fundraiser cookbooks for solid, reliable recipes.

I think you can see this recipe clearly enough that I don’t need to retype it!

let me know if you need clarification

I swapped in chocolate chips for peanut butter chips, and used butter (not margarine) – everything else stayed the same.

[Ha ha, guess what?! Half way through the mixing of ingredients, I realized this recipe does not contain peanut butter! So I just added in 1/2 c all-natural peanut butter and another 1/2 cup flour to balance off the added “butter.” Let’s see what happens…I daren’t defy the M8B’s choices!]

ah! that's what we like to see! poofy pillow cookies, fresh outta the oven!

nice! i'm pleased!

Then I couldn’t resist; I had to ask the M8B one last question:

Me: M8B, are these cookies going to taste good?

M8B:

"definitely"

[Oh, man, I gotta cut this out. I’m becoming addicted!].

Have you ever consulted a Magic 8 Ball? I used to have a real one, years ago, that I kept on my desk…no idea what happened to it. I totally think it’s OK to *play* with asking the Magic 8 Ball questions for fun. I would be horrified to learn that someone used it in regards to a Major Life Decision!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Are you feeling lucky? [Better just ask the Magic 8 Ball!]. My local blogger buddy Angela (with whom I visited thrive juice bar, earlier this month) is hosting a Giveaway Contest! Click here to see the details and to enter!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Hilarious! I am going to have to try that out sometime soon when I have a weighing question. ;) I remember my best friend, Allison, had one growing up, and we used it all the time! Cookies look delicious. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 28, 2011 at 5:12 am

      the internet is a wonderful thing when you can get access to a magic 8 ball with the click of a button! good to know it’s there for the next big decision to be made! :) …and the magic 8 ball was right: by all accounts, the cookies are delicious!

  • Peggy  On April 27, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    The first thing I did was ask the Magic 8 Ball if my fiance should give me a back rub when he gets home… it’s answer? “Definitely!” I can see how I can grow to like that thing! =)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      see! the perfect example of why every home needs a magic 8 ball! :) i hope the fiance came thru for you!!!

  • Gina Unger  On April 27, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Too funny a blog today! I think those 8 balls are fun, too! Glad your cookies turned out with your revised method. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      oh, i *know* they only turned out because the magic 8 ball approved of them! :)

  • Lisa  On April 27, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    This is hilarious! i’m going to start consulting M8B for sure.

    I used to have a friend who had an 8 ball when I was a kid…and I thought it was the coolest thing. I would be asking it questions all day long when I was over there!
    Thanks for the giggle :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      Thanks, lisa! I think I’ve hit upon how to make cooking more fun…I need to install a magic 8 ball in my kitchen! Can’t you see it: “magic 8 ball, tofu for supper?”
      Glad you have fond memories from childhood!

  • Johanna B  On April 27, 2011 at 11:37 am

    My BFF and I went crazy using a Magic 8-ball in college. Of course, we were also into Tarot Card readings and the Ouiji board. (Must have been the drugs, ha ha) Fortunatly that stage passed for both of us and now it’s just for fun.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 11:52 am

      oh, those crazy college days, eh! fun times! yes, the magic 8 ball made me think of ouiji boards, too….now those kinda scare me!

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On April 27, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Thanks for the mention Cathy! My cousin had a magic 8 ball when I was younger and I loved playing with it! My parents never bought me one and I guess I forgot about it after a while, but I still like asking them things just for fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 9:58 am

      i had totally forgotten about magic 8 balls til i saw monica’s mention! it really made me laugh how the answers were completely appropriate for my cookie questions! your giveaway contest offers some really great treats – i bet you get a lot of entries by tomorrow morning!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 27, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’ve only looked at Magic 8 Balls as pure jokes — and I don’t think I ever owned one, but I’m sure one of my friends did.

    I love those cookbooks — I have a bunch of old church cookbooks that I got at Goodwill and they have some good recipes (some are full of lard – literally!).

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2011 at 9:48 am

      old church cookbooks are really the definition of “down home cooking!” light and healthy recipes are NOT the norm! but they can’t be beat for cookies, desserts, IMO.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

