Stashes

What’s your grocery shopping style?

I’ve been thinking about my own ever since Holly initiated a Grocery Challenge for the month of May. I love a lot of her ideas, and am going to do my own variation for this month since the two goals I set are longshots at best. My version is going to be more about coupon clipping and keeping an eye out for sale items – more to come on this another day.

I grocery shop every day since Valumart is right across the street, and I love fresh produce, so pick up my greens and fruits daily. When it comes to dry goods, I am a hoarder of staples, a buyer of multiples. Need proof? Oh ho ho, let me show the ways…

my favourite pb is on sale fro $3.49 from $5.49, so yes, i now have six in my inventory

i only recently discovered that valumart carries s'bux coffee! it's currently on sale $3.99 for 8 sachets vs $11.95 for 12 pacs AT s'bux; that's half the price!

stevia: it's hit and miss as to whether it will be in stock at the health food store; NEED stevia for coffee, thus NEED stevia stashed!

you can never have too much tp around here...my fave brand was on sale the last few weeks for $6.99 from $9.99 - score!

i generally CLEAN GREEN with lotsa white vinegar; however, toilet bowls require heavy artillery cleansers, in my book

tangent: of course, i always have a running shoe stash, too! (had to throw that in here!)

The benefits of shopping this way? I never have to worry that there’s no peanut butter for my apples or oatmeal. And obviously, I am saving money over paying full price ($2 here, $2 there = a coffee out here, a Perrier out there…).

The downsides? Storage space in the Condo Casa is at a premium (hence the messy coffee shelf), and the grocery bill gets unfairly inflated (4 x $3.49 PB + umpteen Starbucks coffee pacs DOES add up).

What’s your style when it comes to stocking goods with no expiry date? At least I know I am not alone in my stashing ways: Gina has the best story – last summer she totally loaded up on cereal. Want to know why?! – here’s her story!

A couple photos as a sneak peak…

nice work, g!!!


Any SPECIFIC food you are prone to really stocking?
Cereal is certainly one for me!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • janetha  On May 5, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    can i just tell you how glad i am that this post was not about mustaches? phew!

  • Dorry  On May 4, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    If one of my staple items is on sale, I buy SO MANY! Things that come to mind: Almond Breeze almond milk, hummus, favorite brands of organic canned beans, and every now and then Sunflower Market put their dried mango on sale and I can’t resist buying a million. I also stock up on Kombucha and Larabars when they are on sale. And we do the same with toilet paper. Billy also buys toothpaste and mouthwash in bulk. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 5, 2011 at 5:14 am

      yes! almond breeze – that was recently on sale here…i didn’t show it because i only bought two (silly!) – not that impressive a stash! good call to stock up on the larabars – they can be a little on the steep side. looks like you’ve got grocery goods covered and billy has the drugstore side taken care of! nice partnership!

  • Zo  On May 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I don’t tend to stock up on one item…but I will have many different varieties of something because I keep wanting to try them (like my 50! teas). On the other hand, I just bought two years’ worth (2 bottles with 365 each) of multivitamins because it was buy one get one free!

  • Johanna B  On May 4, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Stashes? Me? Yep! I have enough toothpaste, body lotion, shower gel and shampoo to last through retirement. I match coupons up with sales and get the stuff for little or nothing and therefore can’t resist. Every six months or so I pack up a bunch and take it to the homeless shelter. They can always use the supplies.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      haha! love your stash list, johanna! so the drugstore is your weak point, eh!?! marvelous philanthropy with your donations to the homeless shelter – i really commend you for that act of kindness.

  • Gina Unger  On May 4, 2011 at 10:05 am

    I can (obviously)) totally relate to buying loads of food/household products when they’re on sale! Jeff and I always have running shoes in boxes in our closets from really good sales, too! And pb is another staple stock-up item when on sale – Costco is the best! BTW, Costco has your Starbucks Via – 24 packets for ??? (can’t quite remember, but cheap!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2011 at 10:09 am

      i wondered if you guys are costco members…i am not, but am aware that they have MAJOR deals on SO many items. thanks for the tip re my “via” packs at a good price there…and some of my running friends have picked up the CUTEST running clothes…i really need someone to adopt me and let me tag along! (or maybe not…$500 later, cathy exits costco…) :)

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 4, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Cathy you are hilarious! When you see a deal you have to grab it!

    I really don’t think there are certain foods that I stock up and stash — although we always have plenty of nut butter and canned/boxed soups — I don’t know why, probably because when they go on sale I buy too much!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2011 at 10:04 am

      we are the queens of the nut butter stashes, then!
      the problem is knowing HOW MUCH is “enough!” should i get a couple more?? even more??! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

