A Real Head-Scratcher

Our timeshare in Aruba has an online forum where people can ask questions before their visit to the resort. Usually, people are curious about restaurants, amenities, activities, that sort of stuff.

I was perusing the website the other day because I was all caught up on blogs bored homesick for my natural habitat when one of the posted questions caught my eye. The Topic Heading was simply “Wifi.” I was curious to see the question, because after my own freak out intermittent internet access experiences, I like to see what the resort regulars advise new guests.

So, BuddyD’s (seriously, that is his online name) question was, and I quote:

“Can you get a connection on the beach?”

WTF???! BuddyD!! You’re on V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N!!! The beach is for chillin’, sunnin’, strollin’, nappin, and drinkin’.

Now, I enjoy internet access as much as the next person, and really appreciate staying connected to my usual world when I’m on vacation. But to *need* internet on the BEACH?!!! Guy, you need a vacation!!!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I experienced my own head-scratcher moment this week! I met Mom for coffee, and she handed me a square package that was wrapped up:

floral wrap then wrapped in brown paper wrap

What could it be? [scratch of head]

Under the wraps, I found…

NO WAY!!! hahahahaha!!!

If you’ve been reading the blog regularly, you know that I’ve referenced this book TWICE, recently, here and here. As the story goes, Mom bought a copy of this book for SIL Ana and me a while back, with the intention of tucking it away ’til Christmas. With all the press the book has been receiving – and me talking about it – Mom feared we might purchase it ourselves…so it was an Xmas in June moment! Thanks, Mom!

my great-grandma used to make these!

many of the recipes are GF, too - my grandma, in her prime, made the BEST wareneki

i bet apple platz would be as good as an apple crisp...

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Great Great sadness in the Casa-of-Coffee Condo:

four VIA pacs, "tribute" blend

I was having a hard time locating this flavour at Starbucks. My Uptown location was sold out, so I tried the S’Bux location near The Brother and SIL Ana‘s where I have hit pay dirt before – nada.

Went back to my location, and the buddy at the til had heartbreaking news: Starbucks has discontinued this Tribute blend in the individual serving pouches. Boo hoo hoo! As you know, I love these instant coffees, and my favourite of them all is the Tribute. What you see above, then, is what’s left of my current stash. Not. much.

Now the Starbucks employee was a little helpful – he suggested I try Craigslist or eBay to see if I could locate some coffee stock. He indicated that when the word came out that this blend was nearing the end of its days, some employees bought their own stashes with the intention of reselling to us desperate types. I appreciate his tip, but I don’t think I am that addicted that I need to scour the internet for Blackmarket product! But I will be savouring my Final Four Tributes, let me tell you.

So, I’m left scratching my head over why this coffee type is to be no more…

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Have you seen/read/heard anything lately that’s made YOU shake your head? Very large, sweaty, overweight men should not ride bicycles while shirtless.

Ever buy anything *under the table?* I would buy a scalper’s ticket to see Madonna in concert. No joke. Life Bucket List.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 10, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I have several head scratchers a week…but I can’t think of any at the moment. Very smart move on your mom’s part.
    I’m always afraid when I like a product too much that it will be discontinued (sigh..Celestial Seasoning Almond Sunset tea…). You have my sympathy…I hope you enjoy your Tributes!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 10, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      i am unsure whether to just finish up the tributes right away or save them…thinking this weekend will see the end, though! ah yes, your teas…very sad…at least you have a lot of other favourites!

  • The Food and Love Diaries  On June 10, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    There are those Mennonites you were talking about!!!! Let me know how the recipes go :)

  • Holly  On June 10, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Too bad about the coffee! I have bought black market food before — Jason really liked these energy drinks from Amway (we used to be members — and I’m sure they sell in Canada too) but we canceled our membership so I bought some from a guy on Ebay. It was too much of a hassle to ever do it again.

    I’m glad you got that cookbook!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 10, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      i’ve never bought anything on ebay because it has seemed like too much work to me! (lazy?!) – thanks for sharing your energy drink story!

  • Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga  On June 10, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Just when you’re getting into coffee….they discontinued one you liked! Ahhh, well, you can just use that as a sign to experiment and try tons others! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      i wish i had your access to brands from TJs, WFs…i’m limited to instant, too, since i don’t have a coffee maker!!!

  • Lisa  On June 10, 2011 at 7:42 am

    Yay—christmas in June! Love when my mom does stuff like that :)

    And internet on the beach is just totally wrong, in many ways. Aside from the ridiculousness of it…how would anyone even see the screen (even under an umbrella)? I have a hard enough time in the shade on my porch—has to be totally bad for your eyes!

    Hahaha….sweaty shirtless men on bikes (I just threw up a little in my mouth)… haven’t seen much like that lately, but I’m at a conference full of nutrition and medical professionals—I sometimes recoil from being social with them—why do they “all” have to be so snooty and prove they know the most about food? I think sometimes professionals forget that we’re all “on the same team.” It’s still fun though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 10, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      enjoy the conference, lisa! can’t wait to hear more about what you learn! snooty people = PITA. hope you find some people to sit and giggle with! :) good point about the bright sunlight on the beach….and then there’s blowing sand to consider…wrong, wrong, wrong!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

