new experience # 25: watch a movie in 3D!

i’m not joking you! it’s true! i’ve never been to a 3D movie!

(source)

i know it’s hard to believe, especially since i really love movies – and since 3D films have been around longer than i have – but a 3D movie experience has never happened. [yes, i'm capitalizing "d" for "3D" because lowercase looks funny].

i think it’s because i emphatically dislike animated features and sci-fi flicks. and both of these genres are where you usually would get to enjoy 3D visuals.

way back when i conceptualized this year’s 1970 kiki project, i’d shortlisted “watching a movie in 3D” as a new experience i really, really wanted to do. but, i’d pretty much resigned myself to the fact that i was going to have to tolerate an animated feature (i draw the line at sci-fi).

funny how things work: i was looking through thursday’s sale flyers from the paper, and realized i also had the week’s entertainment guide in there. so i flipped to the movie listings and this movie caught my eye:

glee: the 3D concert movie

(source)

yippee-yi-yay! i love glee! [but how was i completely caught unawares that a movie was even out?!]. i was a devoted fan for the first season of this hit tv show. i loved the quirky humour, jane lynch, soap-opera-but-speeded-up storylines, and yes, the singin’ and dancin’ hits the kids belted out each week. since season one, i’ve only watched the show sporadically. but, i know the characters, the premise, the type of musical entertainment – what a perfect 3D movie option pour moi!

i wasn’t about to chance not getting in on saturday eve. so i purchased my ticket for the 6:40 p.m. show [early show! 1 h 40 min long movie! -> talk about filling my movie prerequisites!]

ai-yi, ouch! $13.50! (and no coupon this time). empire theatre + 3D movie is no bargoon! (a movie at my beloved princess costs but $7). but, as you’ve heard me say before, what i won’t do for the blog!….

printed-at-home ticket; i chickened out of trying the "download to mobile" option!

as i was organizing my movie ticket, i had to think of angela and her spectacular live glee concert experience back in june! i’d love to know how angela would compare the two “shows!”

i debated gussying up a bit, but decided against it. my fear is always that theatres will be iceboxes, and i didn’t want to shake and shiver all eve – i’ve had enough of that sensation this week. is earrings and make-up good enough? plus, it was raining out. excuses, excuses

at the entrance to “theatre street,” i received my glasses!

fastest photo-taking known to mankind: i'm sure the kid - i mean usher - thought i was soooo weird

looking gleeful WITH flash!

looking gleeful withOUT flash!

yes, two photos as i was so very, very gleeful!

do they think we’re morons?

now i was standing by myself, laughing, taking a photo of the 3D glasses bag. totally weird woman

you know…

i like the look!

"shades" (punny!) of the kiki harrharrwoods, no?!!

me being clueless, i thought the glasses would still be red + blue (green?). they were very comfortable – and i dislike sunglasses!

and recyclable! how very 2011!

now for my movie observations, in point form:

  • i’m going to play it straight with you: the movie is totally cheesy. i did enjoy the song and dance numbers, which was what i was there for, but several of my favourite songs were missing (best production number in the movie: safety dance – this youtube clip is from the tv show). the filler chatter in between songs is way too “rah rah glee” – it felt like brainwashing, sickeningly sweet self-promotion. however, i do give the production team kudos for their message (obviously aimed at the tween + teen audience members) about acceptance and loving yourself.
  • the 3D experience, on the other hand, blew. me. away. wow! confession: prior to the movie, i worried i wouldn’t get the 3D thing – you know how some people are resistant to hypnosis? well, no prob on that, as the previews blew me away! a bird flew over my head from the back of the theatre! it rained confetti on us! during glee, the stage appeared to be right in front of my toes. and the images were totally crisp, clear – really, really sharp definition in colours and visuals.
  • i loved the cameo appearance by gwyneth paltrow [i don't believe this revelation needs a spoiler alert as i doubt you're itching to get out to see this movie]. funnest surprise: the dancing, singing little asian boy, not much older than cutie c – if you HAVE seen the movie, you know who i mean.
  • i would have enjoyed seeing this movie with lisa and her two daughters to get the tween/teen perspective. and i needn’t have worried about the film selling out – i think there were 19 females and two males in the audience! [i've since read some online reviews - not exactly gushing with praise, are they??...have to share this: "i found the film insufferable." christopher tookey, daily mail]
  • bottom line: i’d see a 3D movie again any time – is adorable e too young for this experience? i would see an animated/disney movie with her in a heartbeat [alvin and the chipmunks in 3D is out at xmas!]

star ratings: the movie itself: * 1/2 stars (one and a half stars); the 3D special effects: *** 1/2 stars (three and a half gleeful stars!)

what’s your history with 3D movies? haha, i am imagining the audience reaction if there would be a film with scenes of a rough airplane flight, or a ship being tossed about at sea… :)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Abi  On August 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I love 3D when it’s done right. I know you said you’re not a fan of animation or sci-fi but Avatar in IMAX 3D was truly mind blowing. As an artist I’ve done a few studies on traditional film animation, but this just adds a whole new (dare I say it) dimension to the process. I find it fascinating, but then again I’m a huge sci-fi fan :-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      thank you for sharing your “professional” point of view, abi! during the previews i saw for the next “happy feet” and “lion king” movies, i honestly had the thought, “i wonder how they do this??!!” that’s neat that you’ve done some film studies! and i like your pun! :)

  • Johanna B  On August 22, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I remember the 3-D horror movies when I was a kid. I loved them. I liked the horror films of my childhood – not the merde that passes for horror flics these days. Glad you had a good time.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 11:18 am

      “The merde that passes for horror flics these days” – awesome observation, johanna. Your comment made me laugh.
      I think I would go see some 1960′s classic 3D movie…that would be ok!

  • Holly  On August 22, 2011 at 11:03 am

    The first 3D movie I saw was Avatar I think — and yes it was incredible!!! And I’m pretty sure we paid $13-15 per ticket too. That 3D stuff isn’t cheap!

    I haven’t been to a 3D movie since!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 11:20 am

      Avatar! Never saw that!
      Neat that prices are pretty similar between minnesota and ontario!

  • strivingcynic  On August 22, 2011 at 9:23 am

    I’ve never been to a 3D movie either. I know I just read about something coming out in it that I want to see, don’t remember what though..,

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

      oh, i totally recommend that you try it, zo! and i’m glad i’m not the only one who made is this far in life with no 3D movie experience!

  • Gina Unger  On August 22, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever worn 3D glasses in a movie – unless maybe at the IMAX theatre at Ontario Place when I was young??? Anyhow, now that I’ve read your blog, I’d love to see a movie in 3D at a regular theatre sometime. :) Laughed lots at your depiction of taking pix for the blog… I can totally relate!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 9:30 am

      oh, i think h & h would be quite ready for an animated 3D, gina! and you can try it with them, too!!! wish we could all go together!!

  • Lisa  On August 22, 2011 at 7:15 am

    This is so funny! I’m glad you experienced the 3-D movie and now know what it’s all about!
    Near where I live, we have an IMAX theatre, and Matthew and I go there a lot. We first saw Monsters vs. Aliens in 3D when he was about 5…and the screen was so big and the animation so nauseating…Matthew started crying and wanted to leave (the fighting and stuff was so big and right in our faces). Mom, Joe and I all walked out seeing stars…and had headaches. We decided we would go for just regular 3D after that. At the same theatre, but not IMAX screen, we’ve seen Coraline, Yogi Bear, Disney’s Oceans (that was AWESOME!), Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore (what I won’t do for Matthew!)…and a few others.
    I worked in a 3-screen theatre when I was younger, first in concession/tickets, then in the projection booth. I loved that job—I put together (spliced the reels together) movies on Thursday nights (at midnight…cuz the theaters had to be empty), and then previewed them. If it was a good movie coming out, we’d (all theater employees) would come in friday morning and watch together. But….I had to watch all the crappy scary ones by myself in the middle of the night (I would keep the lights on and beg friends to come with me).
    Ok, that was way off topic…and I can’t remember if I’ve already told you about that!
    Anyway…I am at Starbucks right now and thought of you :) Hope you’re feeling better!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2011 at 8:45 am

      oh, i am laughing at the whole imax experience with matthew. you poor people! that is quite the tale. thanks for the examples of other 3D child-friendly movies you have seen. you are such a great auntie, lisa! :) that is so cool you worked in a movie theatre – don’t blame you for wanting company for the scary ones! i bet you were the envy of your friends for having that job, though! (and i love tangents, so no worries on throwing in that sidenote!) ok please have a coffee for me this a.m. as, yup, still cannot drink one!

Trackbacks

  • [...] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = 'none'; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = 'none';} } function closesplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = ''; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = '';} } The Official Blog of Benjamin J HeckendornA few general questions: What is the most you would be willing to spend on a desktop computer, etc?Tablet PC? To find out more!A crash course on back-to-school laptopsPrescott Computer Guy BlogAtola TechnologyHow To Watch YouTube Videos In 3Dnew experience # 25: watch a movie in 3D! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

