i’ll see your five and raise you one

good morning!

i hope you enjoyed a marvelous weekend. i loved having the buskers in uptown waterloo. did you get out, those of you in this area? i swear half the population of k-w made it to uptown waterloo at some point over the weekend. the crowds were huge!

i discovered yet another all about me set of questions. once again, i found the idea over at gabriela‘s blog. this has got to be, what, the fourth or fifth idea that i have pilfered from une vie saine?! this questionnaire is short and sweet.

FIVE words to describe myself:

~ organized

~ sweetly quirky

~ optimistic

~ stubborn

~ hardworking

FOUR favourite foods:

~ cereal

~ peanut butter

~ apple crisp

~ avacado

[you will note the glaring absence of coffee and raw vegetables/salads...yup, the flu-induced aversions are still holding...]

THREE things i’m most proud of accomplishing:

~ running a 3:00:45 marathon at the 1998 boston marathon (my pb)

~ graduating from university with a four year honours degree and bachelor of education degree [even though i am no longer use my french or teaching degrees, an education is a wonderful asset and life experience]

~ buying my very first car – a little green mazda 323 with racing stripes! – with funds 100% from my own bank account

(source)

TWO favourite workouts:

~ running

~ stairmaster

[the #1 and #2 ranking flipflops depending on my mood and the weather]

ONE thing to expect from my blog:

~ haha, a blog about nothing, to be seinfeldian about it?! the blog started so i could track last year’s 1970 kiki project, and has grown to include writings and musings about things that interest me, and more often than not, bring a smile to my face as i write. i like variety on my blog – i’d get bored writing about the same stuff every day, and you’d fall asleep reading.

now, just so i’m not a complete moocher, i’m going to contribute a sixth question to the original five:

SIX activities you would do with visitors to showcase your city:

~ walk through waterloo park

(source)

~ visit the st jacobs farmer’s market

~ go around ring road (by foot, bike or car) at the university of waterloo campus

~ shop in uptown waterloo, specifically hitting words worth books, write impressions, skirt, delirium, running room (!), eating well organically, and wherever else we had time to go after those spots

~ eat gelato at a sidewalk table and people-watch at whole lot-a gelata

~ watch a movie at the princess cinema

#1 spot – touristy or otherwise – that guests to your home should visit? the train ride from uptown waterloo to st jacobs is very popular but i’ve never taken it, so don’t want to suggest it without really knowing if it’s worthwhile or not!

~*~*~*~*~

here is your fun and life-enhancing trivia question of the day. i heard this on the radio at the store the other day.

according to forbes magazine, who is the most powerful female celebrity in the world?

waiting

while

you

think

(source)

answer: lady gaga

would you have guessed that? i would not. i am still stuck in the oprah or madonna eras!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On August 31, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I love posts like this! It’s always fun to learn more about someone. I have similar favorite foods! Mine would probably be cereal, almond butter, bananas, and avocado…and many more. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 1, 2011 at 5:32 am

      those are four very good staple foods, dorry! nutritious, and a lot you can do with them!

  • Zo  On August 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I guessed oprah. Behind the times I guess! I gather parts of my town and surrounding areas were hit hard by the storm (but people are ok), but in sunny Chicago I went for a nice walk in millennium park today!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm

      oh, i am glad to hear everyone at home is ok, zo – thanks for the update. glad you got out and about in chicago! we had sun here, too. hard to believe there are storms elsewhere on such a nice day. oprah: i guess she has “jumped the shark,” to popular culture and the press now that her tv show is over…she’ll still be the power queen in my heart for a very long time!

  • The Orchard  On August 28, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Oh yeah, me again. I also would have thought Madonna or Oprah for sure. Although I am not surprised to hear that it is Lady Gaga.

    Top place I would take a guest from out of town? You listed most of the places that I would take a guest. I have taken the train several times with my kids. A few words about it. It is quite costly, especially if you just want to go to the market to stock up on food. But, great a activity for kids. My kids love it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      haha, thanks for the train trip feedback! i was actually wondering if you had done that activity with your kids! might be something to do with my nieces some day! are you buskering this aft? i’m heading back to catch the last shows!

  • The Orchard  On August 28, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    WOW! Amazing marathon PB! My PB was a 3:48! I needed another 8 minutes in order to qualify for Boston. That is still a life-long goal of mine! One day…

    The Busker Fest was fantastic! I saw you at the Aerial Angels, but I was at the very front, sitting on the ground with my kids and couldn’t say “hi”. You had on your new Gym, Tanning, Laundry shirt! Cute!

    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      Oh yes, go for the boston goal, tricia! It’s an amazing experience and worth the effort! You’re so close!
      Of that’s funny that you were at aerial angels, too! I was so impressed with their show (buskers report is coming tomorrow!). I’d love to know which shows you and your family loved the best. I am going to live in that gtl tshirt-so comfy!! :)

  • Holly  On August 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I would have guessed Kim Kardashian (only because of how many people love/adore/follow her!)

    A 3:00 marathon — that is such an amazing accomplishment Cathy!!! You should be proud!

    I have my Bach degree as well (in Sociology/Criminology with a minor in German Studies) and even though I don’t “use” it every day, I am so glad that I have those experiences!

    Touristy place near our home: probably Mall of America!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      I would drive to minnesota JUST to visit mall of america, holly!! Totally jealous of your easy access!
      That is a really neat degree that you have – I like the diversity of subjects you specialized in!
      Good guess on kim k – she certainly is in the spotlight a lot these days!

  • Mom and Dad K  On August 28, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Have you tried peanut butter from the Bulk Food Store Cathy? Carl put me on to it. Just crushed peanuts, available in smooth and crunchy. Yummy! Best peanut butter around. I eat it every day. And yes, it does stick to the roof in your mouth.
    Dad K

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 11:22 am

      Thanks for the suggestion, dad k! I have not yet tried bulk barn pb, but I LOVE the all natural types: all you really need is mushed up peanuts, right! :)

  • Lisa  On August 28, 2011 at 7:20 am

    Great list! I always learn something new with these things (no matter how many versions of it I have seen!).
    I would have never guessed Lady Gaga…I am not sure I really agree with Forbes on this one!!!
    Have a great day Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      lady gaga: the star of the moment, i think! – > will be interesting to see if she has any enduring power…in 5 years will we be saying “lady WHO?!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

