one august goal was GOLDEN!

welcome to the last day of august! everyone says this, so i’ll say it, too: where did the summer go. i am throwing my arms up in the air in dismay because you know as well as i do that in the blink of an eye, we’ll be walking around in conditions like this:

(source)

so enjoy the sun and warmth while we have it!

at the end of july, i shared with you three goals that i concocted for this month of august. let’s review:

goal #1: be a girly-girl

success rate: B

this goal was more of a success than a failure. i’m esp happy because i kept on trying right to the end of the month. here are a few ways in which i showed my girly-girl colours:

  • i watched an episode each of bethenny getting married and the hills. with regular viewing, i could pick up some very useful grooming and fashion tips. [i am also up-to-date on jersey shore. whether that show assists with self-improvement goals is debatable and up to you!]. watching these fluffy shows brought out my inner air-head, i did notice.
  • i switched up my earrings and hair barrettes/hairbands every day, and used hairspray once or twice (had to buy the hairspray!)

$5 flower-power earrings that i found when i was out with sarah - i went back for them!

  • i party-prepped extensively for angela’s birthday party!
  • mom and i enjoyed a bonus shopping outing one aft over at the mall. at the embellished room, i picked up two floral pieces:

a mini - dress (treat from mom!)

this top, i adore. the vibe is such that i am calling it "my grandma i. 1970's florida top" - > the floral pattern is just of that vintage!

  • i wore nail polish more days than not, and make up every time i left the house

there is still room for improvement! i fell a little short on:

  • actually wearing skirts – shorts are still just soooo comfortable
  • lotioning up during the day [in my defense, i do not enjoy putting on lotion before a yoga class as it makes me too slippery]; i did cream up my face nightly

take away lesson: i’m certainly not on the path to becoming a diva any time soon, but it is fun to do a little something to spice up your appearance, even if you are the only one who knows it.

goal #2 blog in lower case letters

success rate: a+

ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner!

(source)

i hearby declare that this writing style is the new normal for the blog. i ♥ love ♥ blogging entirely in lower case! hopefully, you don’t miss the capital letters because i’m going to stick with no capital letters until further notice.

goal #3: enjoy a different sweet treat every single day

success rate: barely a pass (d+? c-?)

i was doing really well with this goal until i got the flu in the middle of august. that 24 hours of *upheaval* completely messed with my taste buds and appetite. i abandoned this goal because the whole quirky point of it was to riff off baskin robbins and their 31 flavours, and present my own 31 flavours. oh well. i still enjoyed fun treats this month – hotdog, anyone?!

i had no specific reading, knitting or grocery goals for august, but let’s recap anyway.

groceries: cheapest month so far since i started tracking in may. chalk that up to the flu: saltines and frozen pepperoni pizza are cheaper than fresh veggies – did you know?!

knitting: i’ll talk separately about the silky baby blanket when it’s done – almost there!

reading: i finished american wife on sunday august 28th

just in time for it's due date at the library on monday august 29th!

this novel’s structure is unique in that it is divided into four parts, one for each of the places alice lives over the course of her life. while the book is absolutely wonderful, and i highly, mightily recommend it,  the weakest chapter is the final section, “1600 pennsylvania avenue” when charlie and alice are in the white house. i just found the tone and pace to be somewhat different in this last part.

here’s one quote from alice, from near the end of the book, that struck me: “oh, the past, the past – how the memories of the people i loved sear me.” p 546

this novel gets a resounding **** four star rating. i will miss alice! i am totally inspired, now, to read a biography on laura bush. there are a few suggestions in the back of american wife, so hopefully i can find one at the library. for now, i am doing a brain vinyasa and spending time with…

counts towards the girly-girl goal, no?!

and next up is september – the TRUE new year begins on labour day, totally, don’t you agree?

how was your august? any highlights to share? i’m happy with all the outdoor time i enjoyed. i did make the most of the hot and sunny days!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On August 31, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    What great goals! Too bad the flu derailed you a bit, but you managed lot! It’s amazing how putting on lotion can be a trial too! Lessee, in august I was in the uk and chicago. Not my most productive month, but fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 31, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      oh, the travel would definitely be a highlight, zo! glad you enjoyed those opportunities this month! are you home yet?!!

  • Johanna B  On August 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    In August I followed your lead and had a new experience. I attended a gluten-free diabetic friendly cooking class. It was “Peachy Keen”. Not kidding, that’s what it was called. Each dish featured just picked from the tree fresh peaches. Yum! We got a decent serving of each course (there were 4) so it was like having a meal out. I’ll be making a couple of them again and again. I plan to attend another class before the year is out.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 31, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      yippee for new experiences! that sounds like a really worthwhile class, johanna, and that name is pretty catchy! :) makes me think of my cake decorating course back in february! glad you have another class on your radar for before the year is out (can you believe there is only four months left of 2011!).

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On August 31, 2011 at 11:29 am

    You did a great job on your goals Cathy! I love those earrings you wore and I think it’s funny that you watched Bethenny, The Hills, and Jersey Shore!! Seeing you and a bunch of my other friends was definitely a highlight of my August!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 31, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      thanks, angela! the thrive party was a highlight of my august! just by accessing the tv channel “slice,” online, i can’t believe how many cheesy/fluffy reality tv shows there are to choose from! i can def continute THAT part of being a girly-girl, no problem!

  • Holly  On August 31, 2011 at 9:29 am

    You did great Cathy! And thanks for the book review — sounds like something I would like. Too bad I say that about every book and now I have a million books I want to read :)

    I’m surprised you didn’t want to read A Shore Thing by Snookie – maybe next month? :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 31, 2011 at 9:36 am

      ahhhh!!! you’re awesome for passing along the snookie book title – i completely forgot!! maybe i can find it at walmart super cheap?!! :) i know – so many books, so little time. and dvd’s of tv shows…wah!!

  • Lisa  On August 31, 2011 at 7:05 am

    This is a great update—you did a good job! I’m impressed with the girly girl stuff. I fail miserably at that …partly b/c I work at home! :) but mostly because I can’t be bothered…
    Oh, and I am sharing your dismay about summer—although last night was beautiful, and mom and I walked for 2 hours…which is a good start for my new fitness plan. I plan to walk a lot more (which will be easy with my commute to my car!).
    I didn’t accomplish anything in august except spending lots of money on moving-related stuff. I looked at my credit card bill and did a double take…but then I paid it and told myself to move on :)
    I agree—new year starts Labor Day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 31, 2011 at 8:52 am

      you did have a busy august with the move, lisa! love your attitude: pay the bills and move on. also love that you can’t be bothered with the girly girl stuff – that is my natural inclination, i must say. aren’t walk n talks the best?! so glad you got out with your mom. can’t wait to hear more about your new fitness plan!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

