summer recap: hot and not

good morning!

how’s your first day of back to school/returning to routine/feeling like fall going? all the best to anyone who’s jumping into the swing of a new schedule. this week, i will work my first shift at the OTHER store, and i have tons of hours at the store, so it’s going to busy, kids!

i’m going to be a contrarian today and take a look back at the highs and lows of this summer. the season, to my mind, is defined as father’s day through to labour day. the calendar may say otherwise, but that time frame makes sense to me!

le’sssss go!!

best summer motto:

this tshirt goes right back on my back as soon as it's out of the laundry!

hottest celebrity heart-throb:

(source)

yes, this witty star of horrible bosses (hilarious!) bumped clooney and cruise from their solidly entrenched places in my heart. on the fall to do list: get my hands on season one of arrested development!

biggest oversight: no ice cream! sure, dad and i enjoyed marble slab back in may…but that’s way outside the summertime boundary. i genuinely can’t believe i never made a trip to dairy queen or baskin robbins over the past couple of months. at least i got me a hotdog! and i lapped up 31 16 flavours of august!

best routine to let slide: i’m pretty committed to cleaning the condo casa weekly. that chore slid to the sidelines this summer. i scurried around with vacuum and windex every two weeks or so, and wasn’t so insistent on keeping a june cleaver-type home. [although this past weekend, i made up for lost time but decluttering, organizing, rearranging, scouring…hey, it’s more fun to clean when you can actually see the difference, right?!].

song i have listened to 1,017 times: lady gaga wins this award – > born this way is just the best.

most mysterious loss: my coffee tastebuds! i’m about ready to put up a wanted poster. also, if you desire a canister of taster’s choice instant coffee (with caffeine or without!), let me know. i’m overstocked. [i have but four packets of my starbucks via left – at least that is not stacked up to the heavens!]

biggest waste of money: seeing glee the concert movie in 3D. i shared with you that the movie cost me $13.50 for the ticket. but here’s the kicker: i bought my ticket online, using my visa card. when i got my statement last week, i had TWO ENTRIES for the ticket purchase! $13.50 + $13.50 – > error! i called visa. they told me to call empire theatres. i left a voicemail. have you ever tried to get customer service over the phone at a movie complex? yea, you can bet i got no.where. i called visa again. a very nice boy told me that he would take care of my double charge, and that i shall see a credit of $13.50 on my next visa statement. i sure hope so. glee was not worth THREE FIFTY let alone $27!

hugest wish-i-had-a-bag-over-my-head experience, part one: getting bangs cut into my hair:

getting a FRINGE cut in back in the spring was fine; this second big bang cut was not so delightful

what quickly became my go-to look: thank goodness for barrettes

best way to keep that summ-ah time feeling going: real housewives of new york, season three!!! i watched all of season one with these gals, missed all of season two, and just found season three on the slice network, online. i’ve decided i watching the new york ladies best, out of all the real housewives series. this show + jersey shore? rock on, summertime vibe!

hugest wish-i-had-a-bag-over-my-head experience, part two: i became a walmart shopper. and again.

most serendipitous story: on a whim, i went to a free outdoor yoga class, received a two week pass, took advantage of a groupon offer, and bing-bada-boom, yoga is back in my life after a four year hiatus.

the day my swelled two sizes too big: cutie c’s birthday party (two years old!) on toronto island.

most liberating act: i ditched my scale. yup, i have not weighed myself since wednesday july 13th, and haven’t missed playing the numbers game at all. try it – you’ll like it.

best new website find: thanks to nicole’s fyi…

file photo from our august visit!

…i’ve been checking out mrs january almost daily. canadian readers: we must thank nicole! you would not believe the coupons and deals on this site! amazing!!

most grateful for: the fabulous summer weather we enjoyed. the trend was to hot, sunny, and generally gorgeous days. i have no complaints about our july + august. it was a true ontario summer.

what’s one of your thumbs up and/or thumbs down experiences from the summer of ’11? my biggest surprise was how much fun i had at the concerts in the park on sunday eves – geek activity of the highest order, and i enjoyed myself thoroughly!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On September 6, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    fun post! I had a lot of thumbs up experiences this summer – starting with a trip to Mexico and ending with a trip to NYC. :) my thumbs down is being sick for the 2nd time in less than a month, but hopefully my immune system will be strong for the fall & winter!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 7, 2011 at 5:28 am

      it is wonderful that you got in some travel experiences, dorry, as i know that is something you really enjoy! being sick: hopefully both of us have paid our dues and are good to go for a long while!

  • Nicole  On September 6, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Of thumbs up good times (sorry, I pressed publish prematurely. ). Loved Disney and camping and relaxing and spending time with my girls!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 6, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      nicole, you are a treasure trove of info! thanks for the visa info…my fingers are crossed! guess what website i was SERIOUSLY looking at when i saw your comment pop up – > mrs january! (25% off h & m pants and tights!) glad you had so many good times with your girls this summer! disney would have been so awesome!!

  • Nicole  On September 6, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Glad you’ve been checking out mrsjanuary. This must be a full time job and a half for this woman.
    So glad we got a coffee date in before your taste buds failed you :)
    Cannot believe the first visa rep told you to call the theatre! Not so. I worked for cibc visa. It’s known as a double charge. Visa simply sends a chargeback to the company.
    Not too many thumbs down experiences but a tonne

  • Lisa  On September 6, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    There are so many things I want to respond to! But…I just like that you chronicled all this stuff about summer. It makes it like summer really did happen, and WAS eventful in many different ways (some big some little).
    I can’t believe I never once got ice cream this summer either. That is just a sad shame!
    My thumbs up: Moving across the street from my mom
    My thumbs down: I did not accomplish even half of what I thought I would over the summer—I thought with only 2 classes to teach, I’d be SO productive on other projects. Nothing happened. (oh well!)

    I loved the weather this summer…and I’m ok with this whole fall thing (even though I prefer hot). Winter I could totally live without!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      doesn’t time just fly too fast in the summer! in june, you think you have all the time in the world and then – bam! – it’s labour day! i love love love that you are across the street from your mom, now. our weather seriously turned COLD overnight. i sure hope there are some indian summer days coming our way – and yours!

  • Zo  On September 6, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    What a great way to look back at your summer. The temps are cooler today, and I’m wearing pants instead of capris for the first time since June. Another “summer’s over” sign–school buses on my way to work this morning!

    Highs of summer: iPhone and uk/Chicago trips
    Lows: hurricane Irene

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 6, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      You’re in pants and I’m in capris instead of shorts, for the first time.
      I’m so glad you got in a couple of travel experiences this summer, zo!

  • Holly  On September 6, 2011 at 9:15 am

    I love the GTL shirt and I’m so glad you had picked it up!

    And I hope you love Arrested Dev’t once you get your hands on it. I love that show. The characters are just hilarious.

    Thumbs up: my marathon
    Thumbs down: Jason losing his job :(

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 6, 2011 at 9:19 am

      i will for sure give a report on if/when i see arrested development. hoping to get my hands on a dvd of all of season 1. AND you had your awesome trip to chicago etc, too, holly! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

