i’ve got a package for you

well, no, actually i don’t – sorry! i’m the one who received a surprise in the mail. i just muchly love that “package” line from the movie legally blonde (classically wonderful movie, btw, if you’ve never seen it).

so what arrived via canada post??

none other than…

just as depicted on the cereal box!

my cheerios beach towel!

wow, my shorter term memory must be going…i had completely forgotten about how i had ordered free towels back on august 11th, thanks to the cereal box giveaway offer.

the towel is super cute. unfortunately, it’s also super cheap and thin … not the highest of quality (not that i was expecting a brian gluckstein-quality plushness when you receive something like this, for free).

i ordered three towels, total, so the other two should be on their way! i’ll show “the collection” once my set is complete!

~*~*~*~*~

third time’s the charm

i realized last friday that there was only one week left in september.

and dad and i had not yet enjoyed our outing of the month.

then i looked at my calendar, and thought about dad’s schedule.

ugh-oh. the pickings were looking incredibly slim for how we were going to fit in a get-together.

dad’s idea for september had been to go for lunch to zoup. this soup-sandwich-salad-neat-o restaurant is right across from us, and i haven’t been there yet, either (dad has, once). i was thumbs up on that plan…until i realized there were zero lunch slots available to us between now and september 30th.

my suggestion was to go to a movie together. that would be a new experience as i have never gone to a movie with just dad. now, the kink in that plan was that the only movie i really want to see that is playing right now is…

(source)

i just couldn’t bring myself to inflict this film on poor dad – plus, he’s not a sjp fan (i am!). moneyball, the new release starring brad pitt, would be more dad’s style…but, i am not crazy about dear brad, and the movie is 2 hours 15 minutes!

movie problem solved when we couldn’t come up with a suitable evening for both of us.

which brings us to option #3 –  a sunday afternoon break at starbucks. wouldn’t you know, we got there and all tables were full! so we hopped across jaywalked across king street to the gelato place.

official portrait for the september outing

mom!

yes, we invited mom to join us – the vibe was just right. we all had a wonderful visit – even though we are next-door neighbours (condos in side-by-side buildings) it had been two weeks since we had all seen each other!

dad, i think we need to plan october NOW!

~*~*~*~*~

whose line is it anyway?

[tangent: contrary to legally blond, i do not care for drew carey nor the game show “whose line…” and one of my fave game shows ever, the price is right, is simply unwatchable with mr carey as host. bob barker -> irreplaceable].

anyway, on friday, janetha blogged a funny post based on an email her mom had forwarded on to her. j has no idea as to the origins of the “adult truths” listed in the email; therefore, i have no clue either as to who to credit, obviously! so, just read and laugh – here are my favourite ten:

1. nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you’re wrong.

2. mapquest really needs to start their directions on #5. i’m pretty sure i know how to get out of my neighbourhood.

3. bad decisions make good stories.

4. i keep some people’s phone numbers in my phone just so i know not to answer when they call.

5. how many times is it appropriate to say “what?” before you just nod and smile because you still didn’t hear or understand a word they said?

6. i love the sense of camaraderie when an entire line of cars teams up to prevent a jerk from cutting in at the front. stay strong, brothers and sisters!

7. shirts get dirty. underwear gets dirty. pants? pants never get dirty, and you can wear them forever…

8. there is a great need for a sarcasm font.

9. you never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren’t going to be productive for the rest of the day.

10. the first testicular guard, the “cup,” was used in hocky in 1874 and the first helmet was used in 1974. that means it took 100 years for men to realize that their brain is also important.

received anything fun in the mail lately? my mail is so boring! i don’t even have magazine subscriptions anymore!

sarah jessica parker: like or unlike? me = a big fan. ever since her “square pegs” tv show in the 80’s. i would kill for her hair!

which truth is your favourite? me = #5 -> i’ll say “pardon” two times, then i’m out.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On September 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Okay, so you got me laughing out loud here! LOVE the adult truths list! Particularly #1, #2,***#3*** (our canoe trip saga), #8, and #10. Too good. Must share with Jeff now. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 27, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      glad you got a good laugh, g! i thought they were too good not to share, too! oh yes – #3 def applies to you and jeff!

  • Lisa  On September 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I like #4 and 5 the best!
    I really like the cheerios towel—I would love one of those—actually, I could think of a lot of foods I would like towels of!
    I like SJP, originating from Girls Just Want to Have Fun. And actually, I think I’m due to dig that movie out and watch it again…
    I received my new ugi ball in the mail today—I haven’t used it yet though—right now I’m just looking at it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 27, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      hooray!!! now THAT is fun mail, lisa! can’t wait to read more about the ugi ball as i know nothing about it! ok, me and you as co-designers of a line of foodie towels…we’ll be millionaires! :) i will need to track down that sjp film – haven’t seen it!

  • Zo  On September 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I love the Cheerios towel. And I like SJP. She seems to not take her celebrity for granted…I would love to see Square Pegs again one of these days.

    #6 is the truth for me. We have a lot of two lane roads that merge into one around where I live. I try to be good about letting people merge in, especially when it’s clear that they’re trying to merge in early, but when someone drives up the merge lane to get in as far up front as possible, I call that the “I’m more important than you” move.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      oh, i am glad you know what i am talking about with “square pegs!” i wasn’t sure if anyone else had watched, way back when. and yes – the arrogant, last-minute mergers bug me, too! i can get not nice about it!!!

  • Dorry  On September 27, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    hahaha – I loved reading that list. Too funny. I like #1 & #6. :)

  • Holly  On September 27, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Cathy I am super jealous of your Cheerios towel! And it fits your personality because you are a cereal lover — too bad you couldn’t get a nice Puffins one though, right?

    I like SJP sometimes, she seems to always play the same character (Jennifer Aniston seems to do this too) and it kind of gets on my nerves.

    Those truths are hilarious and (duh) so true — about #2, it seems as though the mapquest directions getting out of your neighborhood makes me the most confused — I don’t always know which was is north/south/etc and I end up having to really think about which way to turn.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 27, 2011 at 11:17 am

      oh, a puffins towel, now that would be hilarious! just wait til you see the next two towels, too! i am the worst with north/south etc, too – i need “turn left here. go thru two traffic lights” – those kinds of directions!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

