what a stupid saturday evening

watch out! i’m about to go on a total tear. ear muffs may be necessary as i can’t promise that a few choice swear words won’t fly.

this story is a continuation of my ipod shuffle sagas. to refresh your memory you can check out this post where i went to buy my silv-ah ipod because greenie was acting stupid. then greenie kept behaving. then greenie really did bite the dust, and silv-ah became the go-to ipod. please note that all of this rigamarole has occurred within the last two months (i bought silv-ah on august 23rd).

ok – back to my rant.

friday: i turn on silv-ah and nothing happens. then 25 minutes later, he starts playing music. wtf???

saturday: silv-ah is playing away, normal as anything then starts skipping, like records used to do, then konks out. when i plug him in, NOTHING. itunes does not recognize the device, there is absolutely no connection going on. silv-ah is dead as a doorknob, as the saying goes. i freakin’ can’t believe my luck.

yesterday, i was at the store (naturellement on saturday) so the earliest i could get up to that hellhole of a future shop was early saturday eve. the only good thing about this story is that future shop is open til 9 p.m. on a saturday.

so, as i’m driving to future shop, i think, oh! silly me, i should have brought greenie ipod with me to see if there’s anything they can do to reboot him, and get him working again (in the back of my mind, i’ve suspected he has just been playing games all along). menh – i’m half way there, i’m not going back for it.

i get to future shop. i go to electronics. it’s not busy. two associates are playing on a computer. i wait. the guy finally comes over.

sure, he can plug silv-ah in…if i’ve brought the cord with me. they have no extra plug-in cords for shuffles in the store.

i did not bring the cord with me. frick-a-frack! i had it on the kitchen counter but it’s sure as hell not in my backpack now.

buddy is oh-so-sorry [*riiighht*] . he half-heartedly roots through a crap drawer of randomness. nope, no extra cord. he cannot open a shuffle to access a cord. he cannot help me unless i have brought my plug-in cord.

are you for real???? you’re telling me in all of future shop there is no cord??

yes, that is what he is telling me.

i realize my only option is to drive back home for my cord.

back home i drive (it’s about 10-15 minutes to future shop).

up to the condo casa i stomp. there on the floor is the plug-in cord. i grab greenie, and back to future shop go i.

this time i get the apathetic girl associate. she plugs in silv-ah and there’s no response.

then she plugs in greenie…and would you believe it, he springs to life! i’m not sure whether to laugh or pull my hair out.

so: bottom line – future shop refuses to replace my silver shuffle because it is more than 30 days old. i am told to follow up with apple. [*thanks*]. i am COMPLETELY pissed off not very happy as i leave future shop.

on my drive back home (fourth time down king street, so i don’t have to concentrate all that hard) i have time to reflect on the plus sides of the night’s adventures:

SILVER LINING #1:

i witnessed a gorgeous sunset when i got in to the condo casa to retrieve the plug-in cord:

two deep breaths of appreciation, and it was back out the door...

SILVER LINING #2: i had been working on another blog post for this morning: a way back playback to my very first marathon which was fifteen years ago at the niagara marathon (today is race day!). i was in a complete writer’s quagmire – the post sounded braggy and disjointed and stupid and i was frustrated -> that’s when i took the break to go to future shop. so now i can spare you that craptastic blog post. maybe another time it’ll flow out of my brain better.

SILVER LINING #3: thanks to all the time i wasted driving back and forth to future shop, i missed the window of opportunity to clean the condo casa! shucky-darn, the cleaning will have to wait.

SILVER LINING #4: greenie works! i scurried home and plugged him in to my computer, charged him up, gave him a trial listen, and he is fine. [for now. bets on when he gets ornery again??].

SILVER LINING #5: now that there is an apple store at conestoga mall, i can go there for my shuffle needs – cuz i will need to replace silv-ah – and i will never have to go back to future shop again!

what’d YOU do last eve? please tell me you had a fun night!!! i also ran out of time to watch the season finale of jersey shore. wah!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On October 23, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    If you consider all the products FS sells, they can’t be expected to have every single cord available for every single situation that could arise. I don’t see this as their fault. Consumers have to accept some responsibility and be prepared.

  • Zo  On October 23, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    What a pain! It sounds like future shop has some learning about customer service to do!
    Mr. sc and I had a nice outing yesterday, so last night we both just played on our computers (well I was too lazy for that and just played with my phone).

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 23, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      yes! see, being in retail myself, i just get so irked by poor customer service i had a chance to play with an iphone for about 30 minutes the other. wow, oh wow. i can see why you’d be content to play around on yours – they are soooo cool!!! glad you and mr sc had a good daytime outing!

  • Johanna  On October 23, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Oh my, I can empathize to your electronics frustrations. I’ll admit to a fierce loyalty to all things apple but, oh my goodness, the frustrations I’ve experienced with my electronics. My aversion to creating ewaste is constantly challenged (I can’t relay the story of repairing an ipod classic TWICE in the hopes of bringing it back to life – my blood pressure will go through the roof!). Future Shop? Fuhgetaboutit. I CANNOT step foot inside that store without blowing a gasket. Overall I blame society’s (punctuation? help?) ‘throw away’ mentality on the lack of good customer service in the electronics field – nobody wants to repair or troubleshoot anymore, just replace it with something new. Drives me BONKERS. I realize that I’m two shakes away from saying “when I was a kid…” but SERIOUSLY… everything lasted forever and there was always someone who could be found who could make a reasonably priced repair. Those days are gone and I, for one, miss them terribly.
    Yours truly,
    Geezer-granny Jo

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 23, 2011 at 8:44 am

      thanks, jo. i appreciate your thoughts on ewaste and our throw-away mentality. so true. all i know is when i had my walkman “back in the day,” i would get years out of one. less than two months with an ipod (and this is not the first time)…NOT impressed. and i am glad you are not a future shop fan, either!!

  • Ali  On October 23, 2011 at 8:04 am

    I’m so lucky my husband is a computer nerd. He is my 24h tech support. Last night we went out in Burlington for a friends birthday. I was up much too late. Will be struggling to stay awake at work later.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 23, 2011 at 8:42 am

      oh you are so lucky to have help at the ready, ali! i get so frustrated with tech stuff (ipods and computers). bet the party was FUN! good luck at work later – coffee, perhaps??!

  • Lisa  On October 23, 2011 at 7:21 am

    Ah…so frustrating! It seems like when something like that happens, it has this way of sucking out hours of your life!
    And right….no cords at all anywhere in Future Shop…um, maybe they should have cords so they can actually help people?
    I do like your silver linings though :)
    I spent last evening with Matthew—we went to a Pumpkin Walk, to raise money for the walk/bike path…they had about 2000 pumpkins lining the path all lit up and it was a perfect night with perfect weather. Then we watched a movie and told stories in bed. It was really fantastic!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 23, 2011 at 7:53 am

      oh, lisa, that is a FANTASTIC way to spend saturday eve. wow – 2000 pumpkins! that would be a sight! so glad the weather was nice for you, too. have an awesome day – more yoga training, i presume?! i seriously hope to not purchase a single thing for a very long time at future shop!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

