vectorious

they say that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. from what i have seen, over the years, this is an entirely correct statement.

the way to my heart, however, is to offer me a tshirt. i will run a race, enter a draw, volunteer if i know a tshirt is coming my way.

earlier this month, we had a vector cereal promotion at the store. with every purchase, customers could take home a mini trial-size box of vector cereal, if they so desired.

the sample example

i do not mind passing out cereal boxes one bit! after all, it is my favourite food! [you wouldn't believe how many people actually declined the offer - like maybe 40%? i was genuinely surprised].

i was also thanking my lucky stars that we were not handing out vector tshirts. i recapped that head-shaker story here, if you missed it back in august.

imagine my joy when i walked into work late last week, and my manager presented me with!…

my very own vector tshirt!!

the very nice people at vector sent free long-sleeve, tech tshirts for store staff and current clinic instructors. yes, by wearing the shirt, i am a walking billboard for vector…

the shirt back

…but this cereal queen does not mind a bit.

i just hope we never work out a deal with ontario pork

rate vector on a scale of 1->10, if you’ve had it. i give it 8/10. i love the crunchy granola-y bites, the sugary-sweet flakes, and the fact that it does not get soggy. but i do find it heavy. it’s delicious mixed in a 50-50 split with plain old puffed corn cereal.

correct me if i’m wrong, but i don’t think i’ve ever asked you: what’s your favourite cereal? last year, as part of the 1970 kiki project, i reviewed 40 types of cereal. you can see the list here! currently, puffins still have my heart.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On October 27, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    My favorite cereal before Celiac Disease was Quaker’s Oatmeal Squares. Boxes and boxes of oatmeal squares. Now my fave is Udi’s gluten-free granola. Bags and bags of granola. I’m a cereal queen as well.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 27, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      yea! welcome to the club! happily, there are some VERY tasty GF cereals out there!!

  • Zo  On October 25, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I’ve never heard of Vector…I’m wondering if we have it in the states.
    I have a history with cereal. When I was a kid my parents wouldn’t buy us “junk” cereal. When I went to college and it was available all the time I went nuts…Lucky Charms and Cap’n Crunch for dinner! By the middle of my freshman year I was exhausted all the time…turns out I was anemic, thanks in part to my “junk cereal” diet. I still have a soft spot for the junk, but now I like Kashi Heart to Heart and Puffins.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm

      vector must be canadian, i am now thinking after a few comments today… i’m sorry about the anema, zo, but i am also shaking my head in agreement with you – junk cereals are so yummy!! yea for puffins!!

  • Stephanie  On October 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Oh, I love cereal. I mean – I really, really love it. I usually get sweeter ones and eat them as snacks rather than breakfast. My favourites (based on flavour only) are Kashi Crunch, multi-grain cheerios, Mini-Wheats (brown sugar, please) and quaker corn squares. So good! (Thanks for posting about cereal.)

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

      yippee!!! i love meeting other cereal fanatics!! i love your choices – i have had them all. i only beg to differ with mini-wheats – white icing, please! :)

  • Dorry  On October 25, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve never heard of/had Vector! But I love that long-sleeved t-shirt. :) My favorite cereal lately is a combo of crispy brown rice & cocoa crispies. I miss some of my old favorites that aren’t gluten-free. I also love Love Grown Foods granola, of course!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 25, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      maybe vector is canadian?!! i am honestly not sure! you truly are a granola ambassador – i love it!

  • The Orchard  On October 25, 2011 at 9:42 am

    I love that t-shirt!

    I am a huge cereal fanatic and usually eat it for breakfast and lunch. I would also give Vector an 8/10. One of my faves is Quaker Harvest Crunch with almonds and raisins. I also like Just Right. I like most of the Special K cereals, but especially the one with strawberries (even though the strawberries appear to be freeze-dried!). We eat a lot of Mini Wheats too. I read something last year that said Mini Wheats is actually a great cereal – even though it has sugar on it, it is very high in fibre and that outweighs the sugary part. Good to know!

    • The Orchard  On October 25, 2011 at 9:45 am

      Oops, I guess it is not a t-shirt. I love the long-sleeve shirt!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 25, 2011 at 10:14 am

      i love that you’ll have cereal for breakfast AND lunch! you’ve got a wide variety that you enjoy, too! i’ve noticed they’ve really branched out with variations on special k – i think i tried a vanilla one or almonds or something that was really good!

  • Lisa  On October 25, 2011 at 6:45 am

    Yay for t-shirts!!! And how funny that you got to hand out cereal! I’ve never had vector (and probably won’t due to my current diet)….but I do have fave cereals! I think there were times when maybe I lived primarily on cereal—there is nothing like the crunchy milky texture and the sweetness (but not too much!).
    As a kid, I always had raisin bran or Cheerios (but I wanted the sugary stuff my mom wouldn’t buy). Later, chex and granola types. Now, I love the kashi shredded wheat cereals…..but I think I’ll sacrifice my love for it based on my health (I am glad you don’t need to do that–I know how sad you’d be!).
    Have a fab day Friend :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 25, 2011 at 6:59 am

      thanks, lisa! our moms had similar philosophies as we did not get the hard-core, sugary kids’ cereals, either. mini-wheats was the compromise! you’re right when you mention texture and taste – the two go hand-in-hand in building the perfect bowl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

