the neverending story + a better story!

my tentative plans for thursday eve never came to fruition (<- don’tcha love how that word sounds?!) so i ended up booking an appointment for the apple store. it was meant to be: there was one time slot left for 6:45 p.m.

confirmation email!

since i know you are on the edge of your seat, i will cut right to the chase: the ipod saga is not yet over.

i know.

i am shaking my head, too.

apple store service dude listened to my brief account (this piece of sh!t won’t work my shuffle won’t play!) tappy-typed on his iphone for a good five minutes, and told me they could “swap out” my shuffle.

except they had NONE – yes, as in ZERO – in stock.

i was like, i am fine with another colour. no – it has to be replaced with exactly the same thing, i was informed.

after seven more minutes of iphone entries, he told me he had ordered me another silv-ah shuffle (ok, he didn’t say silv-ah) and it should be in within a few days.

i was not surprised, p!ssed off, or bothered because i had fully prepared my emotions and my brain for the fact that i would not be leaving the apple store with this situation resolved.

to be honest, i’m also nonplussed (<- what’s with the vocab today?!) because i am ♥loving♥ dad’s relic old-school shuffle! the thing’s a beast and i am never giving it back i am super-pleased with the sound and performance!

oh – i confirmed that yes, i do need to make an appointment to pick up the shuffle when it comes in. :/

arrrgggghhhhghhhh!!!

~*~*~*~*~

two doors down from the apple store, you’ll find suzy shier:

home of cheap fashion

this sign caught my eye:

you don't expect me to walk on by, do you?!

i’ve never been a suzy shier fan, but when sarah and i went shopping in august, she found quite a few cute pieces, and on that day, i had seen a couple of items that i liked. no better time than now to try them on!

the store was pretty busy. and you could tell this was a “big event” because they had a dj spinning (very loud) tunes!

playing my favourite dance music, too!

smart move: provide music that makes customers want to be in the store -> they linger -> they buy more stuff…that’s a solid retail sales plan! or maybe the dj’d music was to keep the sales associates happy…either way, great idea!

i had to wait about 10 minutes to get into a change room. that was ok because standing there, i noticed THIS sign:

50 is better than 40!

and what’d’ya know, the two items i liked were in the 50% off category!

i couldn’t pass up these bargains. a little retail therapy was quite soothing after yet another apple delay.

i came home with:

greyish/silv-ah hoodie with a bit of a grunge look to it...

...and below-the-knee-length track pants!

total: $25. if the temps climb a few degrees any time soon, i can wear my new knickers this fall, yet. and the hoodie will be in active rotation twelve months of the year.

i left the mall pleased. quite an accomplishment considering i was leaving without a new ipod!!!

then, i completed some xmas present research. it’s all about balance, you know: one present for me, one present for you.

~*~*~*~*~

COUNTDOWN TO HALLOWEEN!

have you decorated for hallowe’en at all? cutie c and little e and i had fun with window decals this past week!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On October 31, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I have laboriously decorated my desk at work and the inside of my house. I buy one new Halloween objet d’art every year. The outside is another story. Nothing to speak of. I do have a wooden owl which I leave out year round even though he is holding a sign that says “boo”. I love Halloween decor.

  • Stephanie  On October 30, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Argh. So annoying. That said, I’ve never gotten on the ipod bandwagon. Would you believe that I still play CDs?!? Yeah, I know, I’m kind of a neanderthal that way.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2011 at 8:26 am

      oh, i have all my CDs still!! i just have no way to play them! i do yearn for the days of the walkman…mine was very reliable!

  • Lisa  On October 29, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    This Apple store you speak of….it can’t be a real Apple Store! I really don’t understand the appointment thing—what if you just want to browse in there and then end up having questions and want to impulse buy (I’m thinking of my habits)…but all that stuff is price-y so I can’t imagine just buying something without asking any questions… it’s just so weird. And what kind of Apple Store doesn’t have millions of everything they sell? Especially if they’re so busy they have to require appointments?!

    Anyway…glad you got some fun new stuff!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 29, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      i know!!! great point, lisa, about spur-of-the-moment buying! i have no idea how that works…i shake my head. thinking of you today, friend~ :)

  • Zo  On October 29, 2011 at 10:08 am

    It’s one of those, it’s not funny, but it kind of is situations. Good for you on being emotionally and mentally prepared (who would have thought it necessary?) for your trip. Glad sil-vah is getting exchanged and I suspect this crappy way of handling customers might bring more complaints, especially if it’s not consistent with other apple shops.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 29, 2011 at 10:29 am

      this whole experience has taught me perspective, that is for sure! it’s really “small potatoes” in the grand scheme of life…an annoyance and yes, absolutely ridiculous customer service, at both future shop and apple! i would love to know how this apple store compares to others, esp those in the US!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

