the biggest lesson learned in october

hey friends! happy day-before-trick or treat-day!

i know it’s not the last day of the month – but i want to do a halloween-themed blog post tomorrow, so we’re going to do a recap of october today.

we’ll talk about the easy stuff first.

books: i gave up on the girl with the dragon tattoo [and am very glad i did, after y'all told me the rest of the story. eesh. not my cup of tea], and am now into the time traveler’s wife. it’s quite enjoyable, and i plan to stick with it [so far]. i was a bit confused about the time travel thing for the first few chapters, but it’s coming together in my brain the further i read.

outings of the month: checkmark (the brother and sil ana), checkmark (mom)….and hopefully checkmark DAD today!! true to form, we’ve left our father-daughter plans to the almost-last minute! one of two options should come together this aft or this eve, and i will report back on tuesday!

ok, let’s get to the meat of this blog post:

this month i learned that i do not enjoy making proclamations.

remember back here, early in the month, when i said i wasn’t going to blog daily any more. you were all very supportive and kind with your comments…so i skipped monday, october the 3rd…then proceeded to blog every day after that. well, do i ever feel foolish.

(source)

so i hearby PROCLAIM (uh oh!) to avoid making bold statements or promises on this dear blog o’mine. it’s different to set monthly goals or pursue my 41 new experiences for this year – at least in my own head i see the difference. i think it’s the potential for drama that rubs me the wrong way. for example: i always share new experiences AFTER i complete them. i don’t go about saying, “i’m going to meet canada’s best marathoner tomorrow!!” or “i’m going to puzzle ’til i go bonkers” -> sharing when it’s mission accomplished is way more my style.

ok, so here’s the funny part to this story: since i only missed that one day – october 3rd – i completed a backdated blog entry for that day last weekend. the only person, to my knowledge, who saw it was lisa – she was the only one who left a comment, at least. the blog entry is here: DATE squares.

do you get it?? i wanted to do a play on words with DATE. because it really is the date of october 3rd that matters – not that the squares are not fantastically tasty, mind you.

that means that every day in 2011 now has a blog entry. you can decide whether backdating one post is cheating or not. i say no because i pre-blog, so really what’s the difference between pre- or post- dating??

anyway – october flew by. november has got to be one of my two LEAST favourite months (the other is march) but i’m sure good times will abound, nonetheless! my focus is going to be on christmas shopping! and finding new experiences – planned or spur-of-the-moment.

what’s one lesson, big or small, that you discovered in october? OF COURSE you know i’m going to mention that it was confirmed to me that future shop SUCKS (i have too many blog posts on the subject to link back to just one).

least favourite month of the twelve options available to you? november -> at least with march, we anticipate spring. november -> winter’s gloom looms.

~*~*~*~*~

COUNTDOWN TO HALLOWEEN:

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On October 30, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Very funny post to read. I actually put your date squares recipe into my “recipe box” on my computer as soon as I got it! I never noticed that it was dated October 3rd at the bottom of the post until just now when I checked back (because I get your blog as an email so I just saw the “received Oct 22″ part). Anyhow, good for you!
    Happy Halloween tomorrow!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      ah! that is neat that you have saved the date squares recipe – do let me know if/when you try them! happy hallowe’en, g!! i bet h & h are super excited (and maybe m, too??) – i’d love to see photos of their costumes!

  • Lisa  On October 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Haha….DATE.

    You know I’m all for the backdating….it’s totally valid, and this is your game, so you get to make up the rules!

    My Mom and I always call November NO-vember. We kind of dwelled on the low light, and cold dampness…the impending winter…

    Then a couple years ago, we renamed it YES-vember. Sometimes it’s all about re-writing the story to make it what you want. I could have sworn I wrote a blog post about it, but I can’t find it…so apparently I didn’t!

    It’s still cold and dark, but re-naming the month helps me look for the positives—christmas is coming, the semester is more than halfway done, we’re taking matthew skiing again this year (and maybe Joe’s niece and nephew too!)….

    My lesson for oct…hmmm…Relax more and think less!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2011 at 10:34 am

      i love that! YES-vember – i am going to focus on that for the next 30 days – it IS all about attitude! oh, i hope you get skiing – that sounds like fun! good luck with more relaxing and less thinking in november, lisa! (thinking of joe and the MCM!!)

  • Zo  On October 30, 2011 at 9:35 am

    My proclamation…this might be a longer comment.
    I know what you mean…I tend to prefer discussing things after they happen too. I think the backdating is fine (I had no idea you could do that…I always thought the post took the date on which it was published).
    This past month I’ve seen several bloggers make the same proclamation with the same results. I have noticed a bit of discontentment in the air about blogging lately (I think all of us have some issues with it to begin with…and now there’s GOMI pointing out some other blogger issues). I think we, especially as nonprofessional (and not hoping to be professional) do have to think about what role the blog plays in our lives. I’ve had my moments of “it’s a chore” and I only post 2 to 3 times a week…so we all have to make our own “peace” about what feels right.
    [Along with the other proclaimers, I've had a few bloggers I read who just haven't posted, some who've deleted or made their blogs private.]
    January for me is usually a difficult month (thanks to our freaking snowstorm yesterday, it’s a little like January here!) I even posted about it in Jan. (and you commented…I don’t usually link to myself in comments, but here it is

    http://strivingcynic.com/2011/01/26/

    Okay, enough out of me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

      i’m glad you took the time for a longer comment, zo! :) yes – with wordpress, you can backdate just like you can future-date. i wasn’t sure, though, if the post would show up if you use googlereader (which i don’t). that is why i did the recipe, nothing “newsy” as i was thinking no one may see it (although i planned to refer back in my end of october post). thanks for your thoughts on blogging, in general. i think we all go through phases of inspriration and feeling the blogging blahs…professionals or hobby-ists, alike. I AM SO ADDICTED TO GOMI!! bad!! :)

      • Zo  On October 30, 2011 at 10:32 am

        Yeah, I’ve done the “just one more topic, then I’ll leave….okay one more…okay…”

  • Stephanie  On October 30, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I used to hate November when I was a teacher. Such a hard month. I also hate February. My favourite months are October, May and Christmas. (What? Christmas is a month.)

    re: back-dating, just a teeny tiny bit of cheater-pantsing, but still perfectly ok. It’s not in the same league as slipping an extra hundred from the bank when playing Monopoly.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2011 at 8:39 am

      oh, christmas deserves its own month, for sure – festivus, anyone??! i hear you on certain months being better/worse when you teach. november – blech. june – yippee!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

