like father, like daughter

dad and i squeezed in our outing of the month just in the nick of time [<- never did see that movie – did you? – which is too bad because i ♥ johnny depp].

we had left our plans for our outing kind of loosey goosey, and only confirmed our decision saturday evening. dad chose to go with our plan a, as in an afternoon dessert outing. that was just fine with me. i do hope we get a chance to do plan b in november or december, though, because it will make me laugh!

dad also chose the location for our break – that’s only fair since he was paying! dad opted for starbucks. again, fine by me! this was the same spot we ventured to wayyyy back in february for that month’s get-together! (although that was a morning break).

official october outing-of-the-month photo!

dad has a new jacket! new to me, at least. he won it in a golf tournament late this summer. i made him stop in the lobby and pose like he was a model for the sears catalogue:

dapper dad

dad is a good sport.

then we walked the five minutes over to starbucks. we barely got seats! luckily, my neighbours were at the neighbouring table, so they watched our table for us while we got our treats.

i knew exactly what i wanted. there were no pumpkin scones left, however [this location usually sells out of scones early in the day, i have noticed. next time, dad and i are going to have to make our starbucks date for 6 a.m.]. dad had a tougher time choosing. i went with my second choice, the blueberry bar [i really order it just for the base layer and the crumb topping – at least the blueberries are not too plentiful]. dad chose the butter tart and this espresso cupcake-lollipop thing on a stick.

spidey says nom, nom, nom (yes, i was in a silly mood!)

we tasted a bite of each baked good, but then stuck with our own choices.

i made dad rotate the cake-lolly to just the right angle for the photo - did i mention dad is a good sport?!

what a satisfying visit! over the 1.5 hours we were together, dad and i covered a lot of ground: i got my fill of talking sports (my leafs are in second place!); dad brought me up to date on the stock market; we also solved the woes of the world, discussed family and personal matters, and – of course! – talked about running (a passion we share).

thank you for being our photographer, random stranger at the next table!

yes – notice that dad and i are each enjoying a PERRIER. i am STILL finding coffee disgusting distastefully icky, and dad is mindful of his caffeine/java intake.

we also enjoyed watching the steady stream of people coming into and exiting out of s’bux while we were there. it was non-stop! at times, the line-up was out the door. starbucks has got a good thing going in uptown waterloo.

thanks for the great outing, dad! [and i will be following tim connolly’s impact with the leafs].

why do you think starbucks is so popular? imo, they have perfectly marketed a desired ambiance, image, and culture. it’s not thanks to their coffee that they are so wildly popular.

if that question is too deep, what’s your favourite starbucks treat or specialty drink? the chocolate oat bar would be my third sweets option. i have never had a mocha-frappa-latte-cino!

:)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On November 1, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I love your “dapper dad” shot. I think in part starbucks is popular because its ubiquitous…these coffee drinks get complicated so if you know what to order at starbucks you don’t have to stare for half and hour to figure it out.
    I tend to get a skinny vanilla latte when I go there, but I like all the holiday themed drinks (pumpkin, gingerbread). I actually haven’t had too many of their treats, but remember liking the vanilla scones

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      you raise a good point, zo -> people like a “cookie cutter” approach -> visit any starbucks and you know the x coffee drink or y sweet treat is going to be the same. i know the pumpkin drinks have been out for a while…when will they start on gingerbread themes?!!

  • Megan - Best of Fates  On November 1, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Even though I don’t drink coffee I still love Starbucks, it’s just such a comfy atmosphere! And I love the hot chocolate, so there’s also that!

  • Stephanie  On November 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I don’t know why Starbucks is so popular, to be honest. If I’m going to a coffee house chain, I prefer Second Cup…it’s a bit more eclectic, and more likely to reflect the owner’s personality. And you like the Maple Leafs. That makes me so, so sad. It hurts my sensitive little heart. I’ll get past it, I promise, but for now I need to go off and reorganize my mental image of you. I like the Senators, by the way. So you’re probably just as disappointed in my taste as I am in yours. Ha!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 1, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      bah ha ha!!! oh, i love the hockey slam talk. the sens?? you can have them, i am neutral. no ill will (at least they are in ontario). now, if you had said the habs, oh boy, drop the gloves! i like second cup, too. although i have never had their coffee….and the way things are going, i never will!

  • Johanna B  On November 1, 2011 at 10:39 am

    There’s a new (locally owned and very popular) coffee shop going in just a few blocks from me. I can’t wait to be able to walk there on le weekend. Today I’m drinking a pumpkin spice latte made with skim milk and no whip. The syrup has sugar but I had her do only 2 squirts instead of four. I feel quite virtuous ;-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 1, 2011 at 11:40 am

      oh, i love the indy coffee shops, too. they have a different vibe to them. i hope you can get to YOUR coffee shop for another pumpkin spice latte this weekend – a lovely treat!! two squirts?? you were playing it very safe! :)

  • The Orchard  On November 1, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I love the Vanilla Lattes and my favourite treat to go with the latter is the Espresso Brownie. However, I also love the White Chocolate/Blueberry Scone. But I like to have that with a Mocha! It’s complicated, I know!

    I also love the milk chocolate covered wafers that they sell near the till.

    Tricia :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 1, 2011 at 9:58 am

      oh, that scone is super good. right up there with the pumpkin! i’ve never tried those wafers – thanks for the recommendation! i love how the same starbucks location is the one closest to both of us! :)

  • Lisa  On November 1, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Great outing with Dad—he sure is a good sport, isn’t he?!! My dad certainly would not be as accommodating, for the pics anyway :)

    I don’t know why s’bux (I luv that abbreviation, and will use it now forever…thank you!) is so popular. There was a time (2008) when I was wellness coaching at a trucking terminal in syracuse (1.5hrs away) and I had to be there by 6:30am…so each week when I had to go there, I stopped at s’bux (!) and got a coffee to drink on the road. I swear, there must be magical caffeine in it because I would feel like I could rule the world on that drive! I also go to s’bux (!) sometimes when I’m having trouble focusing on my work at home—it’s a zoo! I sometimes like their coffee, and other times hate it….

    I need to catch a little of your disgust for coffee–I’m definitely overdoing it right now (for me) with 2 cups a day…occasionally 3!

    Hope you have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 1, 2011 at 9:17 am

      wow, that was quite the commute to syracuse, lisa! that is too funny re the effect the s’bux (!) coffee had on you. whenever, i think of being jacked up on caffeine, i always think of that episdoe on seinfeld with kramer and the free coffees. i agree – it’s a nice change of environment to work over at s’bux – unless you get distracted with people watching! i say enjoy your three cups a day, and rule the world! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

