…and the winner is!!!…

KAREN!!

(entry #1!)

karen commented:

What a great giveaway, Cathy! I would choose the men’s t-shirt about sleet, hail, rain etc. It would be for John. He’s the die-hard runner in our house. My new experience this year that I’m thankful for is learning lots of really good gluten-free baking recipes. I found out in January that I’m gluten-intolerant. I’m really happy to have found some replacements for my favourite recipes.

congratulations, karen!

this is the design karen is referencing

thanks to all of you who played along and entered the contest. i thoroughly enjoyed reading your new experiences. i wish i could host a contest every week – that was fun! now you just have to wait til blog post #1,000 for the next giveaway, haha! [should i decide to start blogging three entries per day, the time will really fly!]

i was going to chitchat a bit then list the contest winner, but knew no one would read my preamble if i did that. so here’s how the winning ballot was chosen…

last giveaway contest, i used the very popular online random number generator to pick the number. but, where’s the fun in that?! i much prefer stephanie’s method!

early saturday eve, i excitedly scooted over to mom and dad’s with the “ballot box” in hand:

my cherished sushi hat

i had prepared the ballots at home:

i cut up ORANGE paper (of course)!...

...and wrote down each entrant's name and comment number!

i wanted mom and dad to serve as witnesses while i made the draw. there are not two more honest people on the face of this earth, so you can rest assured knowing that there was no cheating going on (not that i am not honest and trustworthy, too!).

my assistants and witnesses!

dad wanted to make sure the papers were well mixed:

concentrating...

then it was time for the draw!

i wanted to do the actual picking!

...and the winner is!...

thanks again, everyone! happy sunday!

~*~*~*~*~

november thankfulness:

(for saturday november 12): yesterday i was thankful for having mom and dad live in the building next door! so convenient to just slip over for fun things like…picking contest winners! and meeting for coffee breaks! but never any drop-by’s – we don’t believe in that!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On November 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    I love that your parents live next door! Must be a lot of conveniences that come from that. My parents (both remarried) live in Dallas not too far from Billy and me. It’s nice to be near them although a move is definitely on our horizon… :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm

      oh, i am excited to hear what is on the horizon for you and billy! that is nice that your parents are in the same city (right now!) – no travel time is lovely!

  • Stephanie  On November 14, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Congrats to Karen! I’m so envious that your parents live in the building next door. My husband and I always jokingly try to convince our parents to move in across the street from us. The house there has been for sale ever since we moved here 3 months ago. Not gonna happen, though, since we never stay anywhere for very long. I really wish that I lived closer to my parents!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 14, 2011 at 8:54 am

      i figure that you must move a lot…i guess there are pros and cons to that, right?! i do appreciate mom and dad being next door so much. now, it would not work for everyone to be that close to their parents, but for us, it’s awesome! hope you get to see your parents over the christmas holidays!

  • Gina Unger  On November 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    ah, shucks, darn! i didn’t win! i’ll just have to head over to the store and pick up the t-shirts that i like on my own, now! :)
    loving your november thankfulness thing and the no-complaining thing going on. good for you on that.
    but why no “drop ins”?!? i love that sort of thing! so did i totally freak you out last january when i dropped in at your store unexpectedly?!?! jeff and i high-fived each other on that one! tee hee! so much fun! love ya.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      that drop in caught me SOOO by surprise, as you will well remember!! but THAT drop in was most welcome and made me very happy – you sure got me good, that day! so YOU don’t mind a drop-in, eh???….hmmm, so you won’t be caught off guard when you hear a knock on the door some day, and there stands your dear ontario friend!?! :) (i’ll come bearing RR tshirts as a peace offering!). i’m enjoying not complaining, too! and i am finding it tough to LIMIT the thankfulness to one comment per day! that is a good sign!

  • Anonymous  On November 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    ah, man! I can’t believe i forgot to submit a comment for this contest! I’m mad at myself. I read your blog and felt excited about it and then….. who knows what happened! Seems to be the story of my life as of late. Oh, well. I’ll just have to keep my eyes peeled for the next one! I’m still upset that I didn’t win those cookies from the last contest ;-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      oh, i’m sorry you missed out, too, nicole! the more the merrier! :) i totally would lose track of time, heck DAYS, if i had your responsibilities! now let’s see…if i keep blogging once a day…only 1 year, 4-5 months til my next contest!! haha!

  • Zo  On November 13, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Okay, I’m pouting a little about not winning, but I do love that I was part of your balloting process.
    One of my parents is close by and the other lives across the country. Both have their advantages (having a place to stay near San Francisco and a place to turn up at every Sunday for dinner)!
    Have a great Sunday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2011 at 10:13 am

      that sounds like a really good set-up, zo! i’ve never been to san fran – that is wonderful that you have a reason to visit that (spectacular, from what i hear) city! happy sunday to you, too!

  • The Orchard  On November 13, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Darn! :)

    I think I will pop in the store soon and buy one of those shirts for my hubby for Christmas. Are there lots left?

    When do you work next?

    Cheers,
    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2011 at 9:29 am

      i know!!! i wish everyon who entered could have won! :) we have lots of the shirts in right now – all sizes in all of the styles. i am here til 2pm today or monday 11-2 or tues eve! have a great sunday, tricia!

  • Lisa  On November 13, 2011 at 8:37 am

    When I saw Stephanie use this method, I laughed out loud…I love it!
    I thought about it, but it would have taken me too long, so I resorted to the random number generator (which still took a long time because my comments aren’t numbered and I felt like I had to not count the few comments I replied to in my giveaway post). I completely trust your parents…well, and you for that matter. But really, they just look honest!
    I completely relate to your gratitude for having your parents so close by! You know I’m a big fan of being my mom’s neighbor—and today is her birthday so I’m gonna run across the street before yoga training today and give her a big birthday hug (and probably let her make me a cup of coffee since my keurig is broken!).
    Hope your day is great Cathy….it’s super dreary here, but I’m not gonna let that get me down!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

      happy birthday to your mom, lisa! i think a big hug is a perfect exchange for a hot coffee. hope the yoga training goes well today. it’s fun to go back to paper and pen vs the internet/computer, sometimes – and the random number generator system is one of those times! i like how you put together your giveaway last week, too – your favourite things that you just wanted to share. very fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

