delightful december!

on the first day of december...

welcome to the first day of the last month of 2011!

today we’re going to talk all about the month ahead. it’s going to be jam-packed! ["it" refers to both this blog post and the month, just so's you know].

december goal:

prioritize and embrace everything festive. i love the christmas season with my whole heart. this month, i am going to include as much exposure to christmas lights (on homes and in the park), festive music, favourite traditions, happy celebrations and outings with family and friends, and fun parties (staff, condo building, for example) as i possibly can.

it’s hard to believe that this is my last month to organize coupon of the month outings with mom and dad and for the brother/sil ana, too! [tangent: mom and i are all set for this saturday - locals: get thee to stitch n kitsch, this saturday if you can in any possible way. mom and i are terribly excited!].

i’m also jazzed because i have at least three new experiences related to christmas in the works, and two for around new year’s. the end of the project is on the radar – wow!

christmas prep update:

~ my shopping is done – today i am purchasing a jacket for grandma and that is the final gift to buy. so my goal to finish my shopping by december is a success.

~ decorating the condo is complete, as you well know. since it is now december, i am going to start wearing my christmas-themed clothing and playing christmas CD’s at home. i have held off til now because it seemed too early, during november. and yes, i have felt ridiculous having a decorated home for three weeks already. never again!

~ i am in the finishing stages of a christmas artsy-craftsy new experience, and will share it with you asap…tomorrow?!

~ i have three items left on my to do list: send out christmas cards (my goal date is to do this by mid-month); wrap presents (anticipate doing this by ~december 20th); do my philanthropy giving for the year (i give to my favourite charities once per year, and enjoy including this as a christmas tradition).

~ besides advent calendars, another tradition with little e and cutie c is decorating a gingerbread house. this year, i am going to have one kit for each girl, and we’ll do that on an aunti wednesday, i hope.

~ i am hoping to attend at least one church program or concert before christmas – either at my parents’ church (the church i grew up in) or in my neighbourhood.

~ i plan to share some christmas baking recipes – family favourites – on the blog, this month. no, not that i will be baking, you sillies! that’s what moms are for! i’ll see if i can co-ordinate blog posts with her baking schedule so that i can include photos – it’s more fun to drool as you read to see a finished product.

work schedule:

as you know, this is the month for which the retail world waits the entire year. and i love it!! i am going to fully enjoy my time at the store. for the month of december, my schedule is all over the place – no two weeks are the same. i have everything from an 11-hour day (um, today!) to split-shifts to a mix of day and evening shifts at both the store and theOTHERstore. bring it on! i am ready!

…and that’s a wrap for december chatter!

how are you feeling about december? excited, stressed, organized, overwhelmed, gleeful??? i hope you can have fun with your traditions and prep!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On December 4, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    You know I’m in the same boat when it comes to the retail holiday hours! It’s tiring, but SO MUCH FUN, especially because I work with the most amazing people ever. <3

  • Stephanie  On December 1, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    One of my favourite things about your blog is how vocal you are about loving your work. It’s a blessing to love one’s job, and I’m sure that your attitude has a lot to do with it. I love December and all things Christmas! Unfortunately, I can’t find my all-time favourite cookie recipe. I tried to recreate it from memory today, and it was an utter fail. I ate 6 cookies before I decided: “Nope, this doesn’t taste right.” Ha! So I’ll have to do more experimenting.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      you know, retail may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but i truly have found my niche and feel fortunate to look foward to “work.” oh, i am glad you are jazzed about christmas, stephanie! happy cookie experimenting – i’d love to know what type you were trying today…and good luck finding the missing recipe!

  • Zo  On December 1, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I love your embrace-it-all attitude and hope you have a great month! I always enjoy your posts but it does sound like you’ve got fun things in store for your lucky readers.
    I’m mostly excited about December..but do have a million things running through my head…just like everyone else I’m sure!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      thanks, zo! it DID work that i have a new experience/christmas themed post for tomorrow! oh, i hear you on the challenge of keeping all the to do items in mind…thank goodness for sticky notes!

  • The Orchard  On December 1, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I will be attending Stitch n’ Kitsch too! Maybe I will see you there!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 10:51 am

      hooray!!! have you been before, tricia? in my opinion, the quality of items is just as good as one of a kind in toronto! i have to work til 4 pm so we will be there from 4 pm on – good thing i work down the street! :)

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On December 1, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Great goals for this month Cathy! I too want to be able to embrace all things Christmas. It’s one of my favourite times of the year (minus the whole cold weather thing). I’m sure the store(s) will be very busy with people buying all sorts of running goodies. Congrats on being so on the ball with your Christmas prep!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      yes, december should get busier at the store, day by day. saturdays get esp fun!!
      i love how you are right into the christmas spirit, too, angela, and even organized your christmas child philanthropy already. that is wonderful.

  • Johanna B  On December 1, 2011 at 8:36 am

    I love the Christmas season. Rachel and I have so many traditions to celebrate this month. Some of them I will be doing alone this year but that is ok. On Sunday, I am going to the Festival of the Trees. About 50 organizations decorate and display trees and they are auctioned off to help support a local service organization. They are beautiful and a great way to start of the holiday month.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 9:11 am

      yea! feel free to share any christmas celebrations or news with me, whenever, johanna! i’d love to hear more of what you enjoy as traditions. wow – 50 trees. that would be beautiful to see. we have a similar “festival” here at conestoga mall, but it’s a much smaller scale operation. such a great idea!

  • shaywmi  On December 1, 2011 at 6:26 am

    The Bethany Live Nativity is the weekend. Friday, Saturday and Sunday. 4 shows each night. That would be a great tradition to start :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 1, 2011 at 6:31 am

      oh, yes! thanks for the reminder, shay! i’ve heard nothing but marvelous comments about this show. thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

