new experience #36: introduce mom to the wonders of stitch n kitsch

on the fifth day of december...

i have been to stitch n kitsch.

mom and i have been to craft shows.

mom and i have never been to stitch n kitsch!

on saturday, mom met me at the store at 4 p.m., at the end of my shift:

thanks, paul, for snapping our pic!

then, all we had to do was meander up king street, and we were at…

ever since i attended the spring show, i have been D-Y-I-N-G to take mom to stitch n kitsch. and, we planned eons ago to utilize this shopping excursion for our december outing of the month!

i was so happy when i saw the show was on ’til 6 pm:

the saturday show ad/poster

we wouldn’t have to rush around – hopefully, two hours would suffice!

right inside the entrance - they sure know how to make me feel at home!

(yarns from studioloo)

we’d been inside about 47 seconds and walked two feet (seriously) when i spied a must-have purchase from black orchid designs:

the vendors with my....

retro 50's pin-up girls hair clips!!!

gah! these are so me. thanks, mom, for the treat!

remember how i couldn’t wait to get back to the king eddy for bread pudding? (which was a bust). well, ever since the spring, i have not been able to get the thought of the tie-dyed undies out of my head. we made a beeline to that booth…

at the next show, in the spring, i am totally getting the tank top...

...and i am now the proud owner of tie-dyed bikinis!

dance of joy!! thanks, mom! [yes, i am spoiled].

mom and i stuck to our tried ‘n’ true shopping method: a tour around the perimeter; a spin around the interior; a second circuit to catch what we missed the first time.

if i showed you everything over which we exclaimed, we’d miss christmas, this post would be so long. here are highlights:

christmas tree decs! a whole tree in handmade ornaments would so rock.

love those walnut pin cushions - and the trees look fresh out of a dr seuss book!

what captured my attention on this pottery bowl is the fine detailing of the tree branches. gorgeous.

i SHOULD have got a wooden tree for my collection - the small was only $6!

(from bearface design)

more ornaments! cardinals spotted!

handknit goods!

how adorable is this re-fashioned onesie? too bad the nieces are past this stage!

check out the unique rims on these mugs! it's unfortunate that i do not need a mug...

haha - how much more appealing is "jam" than "cream?!" what a creative marketing term!

and my zen moment of the day:

each necklace features a different a-ha-ish quote

on our second loop, mom made two purchases:

we cannot show what's in the bag!

i can only say that we picked up adorable, wearable surprises for little e and cutie c.

i had to snap a photo of sidney’s (chum chum press) cards. after my own christmas card making experiment, i have total respect and admiration for hand-designed paper creations!

love the clear and crisp designs!

mom bought a pack of notecards, and sidney graciously posed for the blog!

mom has a *thing* for paper goods -> a love which i inherited!

on our way out, i allowed myself to drool and linger over the yarns. then i spotted:

manly yarn??!

how hilarious!!! i love it! then, mr manspunyarns proposed a fantastic photo idea!

let's recreate the yarn label...in real life!

see, this is exactly why i love stitch n kitsch – for the omni-present humourous quirk factor. the whole vibe of the show just jives with my being.

i asked mom to provide a few words about her first stitch n kitsch; here’s what she had to say:

What a wonderful experience!  Cathy has been talking up the Stitch N Kitsch since she attended in the spring: “Mom, you so have to put it on your calendar.”  There were unique, and quirky, and delightfully artsy items, all demonstrating a fine-arts level of expertise.  We went through once, and found items we just had to get (e.g. tie-died undies.)  We went through twice and found items that somehow we had missed the first time.  Would I return?  In a heartbeat.  Already, I have  the spring dates tucked into the must-transfer-to-the-2012-calendar file.  I know that my favourite shopping partner will accompany me.

you betcha we’ll be back in the spring! and i’ll be wearing my undies and my hairclips!

holiday craft shows/bazzaars: what have you experienced? while one of a kind is totally impressive (over 800 vendors!), both mom and i find it rather overwhelming in scope -> we hit the wall of creative absorption before we get through even 1/3 of the offerings. stitch n kitsch is perfect: one hour’s worth of delightful goods to behold, right in our ‘hood. perfect.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On December 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    what a fun experience! I love how close you are with your parents. It means the world to my mom when we go on fun outings together. I want those tie-dyed undies! Love them. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 5, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      thanks, dorry! i am so glad that you enjoy outings and phone calls with your mom, too. too bad i can’t show off the cute undies! :)

  • Johanna B  On December 5, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I really like those mugs but I’d be afraid of drippage from the scalloped edges. Glad you had a good time and BTW – those undies are neat. I’ve loved tie dye stuff since college (the late 60′s).

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 5, 2011 at 11:26 am

      Glad you’re a fan of tie-dye, too! It’s such a fun look. Brings out my inner hippie! :)
      Good point re the mug edges – I didn’t think of that!

  • Zo  On December 5, 2011 at 10:13 am

    I love craft shows but always end up getting a little hesitant/shy about approaching to look but not to buy…like I’m hurting the vendor’s feelings!
    The undies and hair pins are cute! I love shopping with my mom too.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 5, 2011 at 10:20 am

      you maybe need to attach yourself to a larger group of people who are standing in front of the vendor – they can divert the attention away from the fact that you are gazing, only?!! i hope you get out with your mom soon!

  • Lisa  On December 5, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Wow—looks like a great place, and a fun outing with Mom!
    I love your Mom’s assessment too!

    The tie dyed undies—-a must have for sure. One year, my sister and I tie dyed t-shirts at our birthday parties (in the summer…so my mom set everything up outside—smart lady). The thing was, after we tie dyed our t-shirts, we still had TONS of dye left, and we tie dyed everything we could find—socks, Keds, hair bands, undies, doll clothes…. Since it was a home tie dying thing, it all faded over time, and I swear that all of 6th grade all my clothes, socks, undies, and white canvas shoes were a dull pink color! It was so worth it though…

    The professional tie dye job looks much more long-lasting (but be careful what you wash the undies with!).

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 5, 2011 at 8:58 am

      i LOVE your childhood tie-dye story, lisa! you had a very…colourful wardrobe that year! i’ve never tie-dyed, myself – i bet it’s fun! the next show is in april – and we’ve marked our calendars already!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

