how many books could you read in a year?

on the eight day of december...

in saturday’s k-w record, there was a column written by chuck erion, the former (now retired) owner of words worth books. in the article (click here to read it, if you want), mr erion discusses his 2011 goal of reading 52 books in one year. he shares a couple of his favourite choices, and how much of his goal he achieved.

can you guess how many books he has read this year? remember: this gentleman is a former professional in the book world!

got your guesstimate?

(source)

[stalling before i give you the answer…]

(source)

26!

i was surprised! i would have thought this number would be higher! although if some of his choices were 500+ pages, i’ll grant him some slack [actually, i wish he had given his whole list of 2011 reads, instead of just three recommendations].

i did a quick tally of how many books i’ve read this calendar year. if i get through the time traveler’s wife (still 150 pages to go! yikes!) by december 31st, i’ll have read at least six books this year. i say “at least,” because i’m pretty sure i forgot to write down some titles. [shades of my grandpa c, i have a coil-bound notebook, dating back to 2004, where i record the date i finish a book, the title, the author, and my out-of-four-stars review].

here’s what i have:

the hour i first believed ~ wally lamb (started it in 2010, but finished it january 25th, so i’m counting it)

[in my log, i have the word “missing” written here…if i could write down missing, why could i not record titles?!]

the help ~ katherine stockett

[i know i had a few starts and stops in here as nothing was matching the excellence of the help].

sizzling sixteen ~ janet evanovich

sloppy firsts ~ megan mccafferty

american wife ~ curtis sittenfeld

[a few more ditched-after-a-valiant-effort books, here, including the girl with the dragon tattoo].

et c’est tout!

i wonder if i can time my pacing so i finish the time traveler’s wife on december 31st – i’d love to welcome january 1st, 2012 with a brand new read!

how many books have you read this year? 2011’s 6-ish total is a low year, for me.

how many books did you guess for mr erion’s final total? i would have predicted he could do 40, at least.

~*~*~*~*~

as you know, it’s all christmas all the time here in kiki-land. and i fully intended to show your our festively decorated lobby for the condo building, in today’s blog post. the lobby looks so warm and welcoming – it’s simply lovely. but we’re ditching that idea because i have news to share that trumps christmas. yes, it is so.

when i was linking up to chuck erion’s column, another entertainment headline caught my eye:

madonna is performing at the super bowl half time show.

(click here for the link to the newsflash).

to say i am excited to learn this news is the understatement of the month. remember: on my life bucket list is “see madonna live, in concert.” watching a superbowl half-time show on a big-screen tv is one step closer to that dream??!!

february 5th. late aft/early eve. you’ll know where to find me.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On December 8, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Hmmmm….I have no idea how many books I read this year. If I include health and nutrition books, it would probably be in the thirties…if I don’t, it is probably something like 3 (and that may slightly optimistic, but it could be right!).

    I hope I read more for fun next year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      ok, if i was going to make up “rules for reading,” i’d say you could count the health and nutrition books if you read them cover to cover. because then it’s like they’re non-fiction, more or less. if you read certain excerpts, only, then NO! you can’t count them! you just need some more florida beach trips next year, lisa – nothing like sitting on the beach and reading!

  • Andrea Budding (@AndreaBudding)  On December 8, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Do textbooks count? ;) Now that school is over, I am making up for lost reading time! I just finished Freedom and read American Wife before that and The Help before that. All very excellent, but very heavy (!) reads. Now, I am onto Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews, a much-needed chick-lit break.

    I love your idea of keeping record of books you’ve read with a rating; I need to consider something like that for myself!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      hooray!!! congrats on finishing school, andrea! yes, you need some light reads to relax and let your brain chill out! :) we should have a little book club session about american wife and the help at our christmas get-together! or else we all just lie around and read for a while?!

  • Anonymous  On December 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    21 for me! I usually average about 20 a year. :)

    • Anonymous  On December 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      That says anonymous, don’t know why! It is Julie!

  • Zo  On December 8, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Without my list in front of me (I’ll check it later) I’d guess 18-20 this year. I’m surprised by the 26 too…I would have thought more… Say 40-45, but it depends on the books…reading heavy going books would take me longer than chick lit would.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 10:22 am

      18-20 is none too shabby, zo! please check your list as i’d love to know your exact total (yes, i am nosy!). yea – type of book and # of pages could really influence the total number of books read. chic lit is definitely easy reading – and very enjoyable!! hey! that could be a good yearly goal! read 52 chic lit books in a year! (or would you OD on that genre??!).

  • The Orchard  On December 8, 2011 at 10:11 am

    That was interesting to hear. I saw that article and then meant to get back to it, but never did before the newspaper was recycled. I honestly would have guessed about 60 books, so 26 WAS a surprise!

    I will be doing a post soon on my book progress (or lack thereof). I have read 31.5 books. The one that I am currently reading is what did me in. If I do this challenge again I will not read any non-fiction books. I just get stuck on them and then nothing gets accomplished. There, I pretty much wrote my blog post right here! :)

    BTW, how exciting was it to find a card from you in the mailbox? VERY! Thank you so much! What a great surprise! I would love to meet up for coffee in the new year!

    Talk soon,
    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 10:24 am

      i remember one blog post you did about your reading, tricia! you are a reading rock star!! way to go on 31.5 and i would love to hear more about “the one that did you in!” i totally agree that non-fiction can really bog you down. light fiction is much easier to fly through. glad you found the card! :)

  • Johanna B  On December 8, 2011 at 9:48 am

    I really thought he’d read more than 52 so I was way off.

    I don’t have my list here with me so I can’t give you an exact total but this was a slow year for my bookwise. I’ve been devouring magazines instead. I think I finished about 15 books – a couple were nonfiction but most were novels.

    I’ve graduated to large print because they’re easier on my eyes. I could were glasses but I don’t.

    I still haven’t read The Help but I have a copy so I will sooner or later.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 10:00 am

      haha, yes, what can we count as the magazine:book equivalent? 10 magazines = one book?!! i bet when you dive into The Help you will not be able to stop – do let me know what you think when you’re done, please! i’ve read some large print books – with my contacts out, i’m blind as a bat, and i read in bed, so large print is pretty handy! just makes the book heavier if you’re lugging it around, though!

  • Stephanie  On December 8, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Oh my goodness. I read a lot of young adult novels, which I can buzz through in a few days. If I count those as well as “real grown-up” books…I think I’d probably be over 52. I’m going to count my books in 2012!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 8, 2011 at 8:30 am

      do it! do it!!! i’d love to see your final answer on dec 31st, 2012! i really should go back and re-read some of my young adult favourites…thanks for the idea! i used to read A LOT, growing up, and i remember getting through a nancy drew in one day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

