lessons and carols

on the thirteenth day of december...

on sunday evening, i got to fulfill my december wish to attend a program of christmas music:

the program for the evening

the christmas program was at the mennonite church that mom and dad attend – also the church that i grew up in. i’ve only ever attended one church, my entire life. i no longer go, but i still consider this church to be my “home church.”

advent candles at the front of the church

ah…this evening was just what my heart needed this christmas season! there was a mix of carol singing, readings from the bible, and special music groups. my favourite was when the sunday school children sang – so cute! and watching them brought back fond memories of when gina and i used to be up there!

candles along the side windows

we mennonites are known for singing in four part harmony:

soprano, alto, tenor, bass, with piano accompaniment

my vocal chords were a bit rusty – it’s been a while since i’ve sung! music is the best part of going to church, for me. and i never realized, growing up, how awesome our singing is – until i visited other churches where the organ overpowers the congregation, or where everyone sings the same tune. nobody can match the mennonites for cooking and baking singing!

a cute christmas tree to welcome you!

i enjoyed every aspect of this evening out: the program itself (it was briskly paced, and i loved the mix of readings and music). also, i thoroughly enjoyed reconnecting with old friends and acquaintances. many of the church people have known me since i was born, or at least since i was quite young. it was a warm and cosy evening all around: festive decorations in the sanctuary, meaningful songs and bible passages, and delightful connections with old friends.

where do you find “the meaning of christmas?” dad commented that the church program really gave him the christmas spirit. this year, my home decorations and making + writing my christmas cards have given me a lot of joy.

~*~*~*~*~

i’m throwing in the towel!

i concede defeat! nicole is the merriest of christmas elves on the face of this earth, no question about it.

look what she has co-ordinated at theOTHERstore!

a drop off box for our local food bank!

we're official participants!

i really appreciate that nicole thought to organize the food drive to help spread some holiday joy in our community. it’s really fun to do secret santas, wear festive clothing…but also heartwarming to spread goodwill, and to think of others for whom this time of year is a challenge.

i bet we are able to gather a good collection! runners know from hearty, healthy, filling food!

there is no more i can do!!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On December 13, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    I think I don’t really know the definition of “mennonite” because around here the mennonites are the people riding in horse and buggies, going to school in a one room school house with an outhouse, and taking the rubber tires off their tractors and replacing them with metal ones! In fact, there was a mennonite church around the corner of where I grew up, and a school up the road.
    So, based on what I know about your family, the term “mennonite” must not be exactly what I thought it was!

    I don’t go to church—but I do have some really good christmas memories from the christmas eve service!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      yes, we are definitely NOT old order!! my type of mennonite is no different outwardly from catholic, baptist, presbyterian, etc. that is neat that you had the old order variety in your area, growing up! i’ll say it again – no one bakes better than mennonites!

  • Gina Unger  On December 13, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Ah, Wanner came through again with a wonderful evening! I wish I could have been there, both to sing and to listen. I choose to sing in harmony (in the congregation) at our church, but it is usually in competition with the (much too loud) instrumentalists. Acapella singing, acoustical guitars, etc. is more my thing! :)
    Too funny about Nicole! :) Great idea for the food drive box.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 13, 2011 at 4:58 pm

      oooo, i am so glad you caught today’s post, gina!! i was totally thinking of you on sunday eve…plus, it helped that i saw your parents, sister, niece and nephew! :) the singing was fab…but we could have used your lovely voice in there!

  • Zo  On December 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Well, perhaps running stores just attract elfish personalities, so naturally you’d both be putting in efforts.
    Hmm, for me Christmas spirit kicks in when I notice I’m inclined to be polite and patient where I’d normally be annoyed and other people seem nicer too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      that’s the spirit, zo! less of a “bah, humbug” attitude is definitely a good thing, at this time of year. i appreciate when people show patience and a polite attitude if we’re really busy at the store!

  • Johanna B  On December 13, 2011 at 9:53 am

    Every year I attend midnight mass at a local Catholic church. I’m not Catholic but I enjoy that service. A nun I taught school with back in the day invited me to their mass and after party one year and I was entranced by the ritual. It’s about the only religious thing I do all year.

  • Stephanie  On December 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

    I didn’t know that you were Mennonite. Ah, the beauty of blogging…always learning interesting new things about people. Your evening of singing sounded lovely! At first, I figured that you went to a concert. It sounded even better when you said that you were singing too! In my (not so) humble opinion, people don’t sing nearly often enough.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 13, 2011 at 8:52 am

      yes!! please note that we are not the old order mennonite variety, though!!! :) (i just point that out because often that is the only type of menno of which people are aware). i realized i miss singing! belting it out in the car along with the radio is not the same! :) maybe you will get some singing in this season??!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

