a santa’s sack of ideas

on the eighteenth day of december...

every week, stephanie shares a “reader grab bag” of cool-i-o blog posts or articles that she has found online. being that it’s the christmas season and all, today we have a santas sack in lieu of a grab bag. yes, i am blatantly stealing sharing [you can't write steal and christmas in the same sentence, it's a rule] stephanie’s idea, and below, you will find reads that are worth your time. enjoy!

*****

the perfect foods for health (for baby and you) – i just assumed that babies should eat rice cereal as their first solid food. in this post, on lisa’s blog, she proposes an alternative to that first food for baby. a fascinating read, even if you don’t have a baby.

*****

destination marathons lure casual runners – from last saturday’s k-w record. i am starting to bounce around the idea of doing a running event in a warmer climate in winter, 2013. this article gives a few suggestions of races to consider. i like that stephen of dream travel is quoted – i have dealt with him, personally, and he was super helpful, efficient and informative. ahhh, a get-away from ontario’s cold…i gotta get planning!

*****

my cousin joel’s account of his participation in a pharmaceutical drug trial…in australia, no less! part one, part two, and part three. joel and andrea just came home yesterday from australia – if you poke around further on joel’s blog, you’ll see he’s had quite the new experiences, himself, while living in the land down under!

*****

feeling stressed out of your tree about christmas? read the post “we all know where this leads,” from stephanie, the yarn harlot. i won’t spoil it – just read it, and you will feel better.

*****

sarah hampson, likely my favourite globe and mail writer, interviews regis, likely my favourite (ex)talk show host, in “what i learned from regis philbin.” i liked both the content and the style of this article.

*****

clay baboons: this is stephanie’s (yes, the same stephanie as above) blog which is dedicated solely to her plasticine stories (which also appear on tuesdays on her regular blog (yes, the same link as above). so far, my favourite story is my first running injury (not what you may think) although they are all super funny and fantastically creative.

*****

some children’s cereals have more sugar than a twinkie! click here to read a short news release, and here for the list of the top ten best and worst cereals. i am surprised that my beloved cap’n crunch is *only* number five! i’ve never had numbers 1-4 but based on what i know of the good cap’n, they must be sugar cubes dipped in sugar!

*****

i found this clip in the paper version of last saturday’s globe and mail – it’s so short, i doubt it’s online:

graphic designer christopher rouleau has developed the perfect passive-aggressive solution to the perils of urban co-existence. the toronto etiquette project, a series of cards with printed suggestions of public behaviour modifications, are designed to be handed out to offending strangers. self-righteousness, with a smile! [can you imagine?? "um, excuse me miss, but your high decibel shrieking into your cell phone is offending me. (hand her a card). have a nice day!" not something i see myself trying!].

*****

and lastly: sick of christmas music? play this song! loud!

what’s something neat and interesting that you’ve read this week? help me expand my mind!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On December 19, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I just finished the January 2012 issue of Runner’s World. I found a 10K in Kansas City and I am going to sign up as soon as registration opens up. I’ve been wanting to do a 10K again and this one is in June so I have time to work up to 6.2 miles again. Can hardly wait.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 19, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      that is GREAT news, johanna! let me know when you are officially in. that is a great goal to embark upon for 2012!

  • Lisa  On December 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Hey, you “grab bagged” me! Thanks :)
    I really love nutrition topics so much—because I like to help people break out of the status quo (without insulting doctors or anything like that—I mean, I do think they have the best of intentions with their recommendations…other people just have more time to research some of this stuff).

    I love Stephanie’s clay baboon site—it just reminds me to not take life so seriously, and when “things” happen, to just tell stories. Really, I mean, if we didn’t have stories to tell…what would we have?

    Now, I have to go check out the others…. I’m tight on time for just 48 more hours, then I’m on break from teaching (so I just have some wellness clients to see…but that amounts to 8 hours a week) till Jan 2! YAY.

    Since I’ve been mostly MIA from blog/internet (except online classrooms) world, I don’t have much to share at the moment…but I can say it’s mostly because I had matthew with me this weekend and we played a lot of boy games. I bought him a nerf machine gun for christmas—we played deer hunting for hours and hours. We also went on a hayride and went to the movies (chipwrecked). My heart is now full again :)

    I’m also sad because I had to take him home, but that’s all part of the game…

    You must be so looking forward to sharing holiday excitement with little e and cutie c….. :)

    We even got snow this weekend—did you?

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 18, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      what a lovely catch-up chat with you, lisa! we DID get a light snowfall overnight, and it’s actually perfect: not cold and just white enough to be christmas-y! so glad that 1) you are ALMOST at the end of teaching and 2) that you had such a fun, matthew-filled weekend. i bet you are full of joy! i would love to see chipwrecked with the nieces! i love your comment about stories – you are so right. life is all about sharing our stories. and blogging is one way to do so!

  • Stephanie  On December 18, 2011 at 9:35 am

    If you stole from me, then I stole from other people! I love it when people post their favourite links from the week. Now off I go to read!

    (Thanks for the link love!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 18, 2011 at 9:41 am

      that’s why i enjoy your weekly feature – i am intrigued by what other people find interesting! plus, there’s so much to read, so little time…so to have a source of “these reads are worthy of your time” is a great help! i think this is about idea #5 i have stolen from you. however, i will not be trying my hand at plasticine figues, fear not!

  • Zo  On December 18, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Hmm…all I keep thinking about is this very short video I saw on You Tube…it’s
    one of these…why am I watching this? Oh too funny! sorts of things

    Stealing from Stephanie may have crossed my mind once or twice too…
    The passive aggressive card thing is hilarious…it would definitely be tempting to give some away. Have a great Sunday, Cathy.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 18, 2011 at 9:06 am

      thanks for sharing the link, zo! youtube is either the best…or a huge time suck! i thought the cards were pretty funny – what will people think of next?! hope you’re enjoying gazing at your decorated tree today!

      • Zo  On December 18, 2011 at 9:20 am

        you’re welcome. How weird! I thought I was just pasting in the link, but I see the screen is embedded.
        The tree is looking good. Will have some pics up tomorrow!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 18, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      two more things! i laughed out loud at that clip – that really is hilarious. and i can see why you liked it, seeing as sc kittie has done some funny antics, too. i had no idea that i could actually get a video-type thing on my blog! wow! i wonder why when i put a youtube link in a post i don’t get the actual video??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

