hallelujah

on the twenty-second day of december...

12:30 a.m. today was the exact moment of winter solstice in toronto.

(source)

that is a photo that i found when i googled “heaven.”

so gaze upon that scene and play the hallelujah chorus to go along with it.

why?

because we made it to the shortest day of the year.

i am breathing a deep sigh of relief and happiness because we have turned a winter corner already, and now the days will get longer (it may only be second by second, but it is happening). mom and i always say that we start to notice the lengthening daylight hours at about my birthday – so, it will take a couple more weeks to kick in.

in honour of the shorty-short day today, this will be a petit post. it’s not my shortest blog post of the year, though! – that one was back in august when i was sick. a 15 word post? this one is already 10 times that length!

anyway, happy thursday. tomorrow’s post will feature an aunti christmas tradition that little e, cutie c and i enjoyed yesterday!

what’cha you doing today? me = a free morning, then the store from noon – close. hoping for many christmas shoppers!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On December 22, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I had a similar day – a free morning which was for a 4 mile run, blogging, emailing, enjoy a slow breakfast…then I worked noon-7:00PM. the store was so busy! I hope yours was, too. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 22, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      that is a great day! yes – our store was the busiest yet of the past week! gotta love the last minute shoppers! have a nice evening, dorry, and relax – two more shopping days til christmas!

  • Zo  On December 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Work. Animal shelter to play with the cats. Home.
    [probably my shortest comment]

  • Stephanie  On December 22, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Happy Solstice Cathy! This morning I went out to do a few last Christmas errands. And now I’m just enjoying the warmth in my house…it’s another cold, gray, wet day outside.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

      at least it is not snowing!! or would you prefer some white stuff to the dreary grey?! stay cosy, stephanie!! it is so mild here today – not december-ish at all (not that there’s anything wrong with that!).

  • Johanna B  On December 22, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I attended a winter soltice celebration at a yoga studio near my house. It felt strange to mark the occasion with repeated sun salutations but maybe they were to herald the return of the sun to our lives. Anyway, it was a good experience I felt all warm and massaged when we finished. I popped home and enjoyed a cup of hot chocolate with a shot of amaretto. Yum.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 22, 2011 at 8:32 am

      oh, now that sounds like the perfect way to celebrate, johanna! and yes – sun salutations to welcome the return of more sun – i like that!!

  • Gina Unger  On December 22, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Oh, yes! Jeff and I always count the days until Winter’s Solstice! (more so than we do the days till Xmas!) thank goodness for the coming lengthening days!
    our day holds: last day of school for Jeff and Hayes’ (a party for which I am providing baking – may post on blog?!) and more fun activities with our advent calendar. :)
    happy winter’s solstice to you, cath!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 22, 2011 at 8:21 am

      oh – what a fun day! there is NOTHING like the feeling of having the whole christmas vacation ahead of you!! glad you guys are excited we have turned the winter corner, too!

  • Lisa  On December 22, 2011 at 7:55 am

    My mom and I celebrated (or at least talked about, happily) the fact that we are turning this corner!
    I have friends visiting from South Carolina, and they are freezing and absolutely cannot believe how gray it is. They’ve been here for about 3 days, and already they’re exclaiming things like, “How do people actually live here!?” “What do you do all winter?” “I can’t even take my kids outside to burn off some energy!” “It’s cozy in here, but I’m about to go stir crazy!”

    My response, “Welcome to my world!”

    I’m meeting a client this morning. Then hopefully grading two classes worth of work from last week (I guess my students are on break, but I am not yet until I finish grading their work—somehow I overlooked that and only thought about grading final exams—-but I still have 3 classes that are in the middle of a session!).

    I’m hopefully meeting up with a friend and her babies, and then visiting my dad and matthew (when matthew gets out of school). I also REALLY need to clean up my house.

    I’m thinking I may put off the grading till tomorrow….

    Happy Winter Solstice!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 22, 2011 at 8:22 am

      that is very interesting, the comments from your friends. yes, indeed, we are hearty types up here in the north! yes! leave the marking and focus on the socials!! :) i need to clean, too – not today!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

