reflection and anticipation

on the twenty-ninth day of december...

just before christmas, all of a sudden, i had a flash of divine inspiration, and the 1970kikiproject for next year came together. yippee! i am jazzed to share all the details with you on monday, january 9th.

within the next few days, many of us will turn our attention to making resolutions or setting goals (there’s a difference in the semantics, to my mind). now, while i much prefer the idea of having labour day weekend serve as the “new year,” i am not one to turn away the opportunity to plan ahead!

i came across the following set of reflective thoughts about life on ultrarunner olga’s blog. her list contains more points than i will share, here. i picked the ones that resonate the most, and reordered her list, as well. so, maybe wait until you have a quiet two minutes (my young mom readers are laughing in my face, right now!) and enjoy a meditative moment.

~*~*~*~*~

1.~It’s much harder to change the length of your life than it is to change the depth of it.

2.~Enjoy the little things, because one day you may look back and discover they were the big things.  Read.

3~Everything is a life lesson.  Everyone you meet, everything you encounter, etc.  They’re all part of the learning experience we call ‘life.’  Never forget to acknowledge the lesson, especially when things don’t go your way.  If you don’t get a job that you wanted or a relationship doesn’t work, it only means something better is out there waiting.  And the lesson you just learned is the first step towards it.

4.~Regardless of how filthy your past has been, your future is still spotless.  Don’t start your day with the broken pieces of yesterday.  Every day is a fresh start.   Every morning we wake up is the first day of the rest of our life.

5.~You end up regretting the things you did NOT do far more than the things you did.

6.~When you stop chasing the wrong things you give the right things a chance to catch you.

7.~One of the greatest challenges in life is being yourself in a world that’s trying to make you like everyone else.

8.~If a person wants to be a part of your life they will make an obvious effort to do so.  Don’t bother reserving a space in your heart for people who do not make an effort to stay.

9.~If you want to fly, you have to give up the things that weigh you down – which is not always as obvious and easy as it sounds.

10.~Doing something and getting it wrong is at least ten times more productive than doing nothing.

11.~Every success has a trail of failures behind it, and every failure is leading towards success.  You don’t fail by falling down.  You fail by never getting back up.

12.~Everyone basically wants the same things.  They want validation, love, happiness, fulfillment and hopes for a better future.  The way they pursue these desires is where things branch off, but the fundamentals are the same.

13.~The more things you own, the more your things own you.  Less truly gives you more freedom.

14.~Making a thousand friends is not a miracle.  A miracle is making one friend who will stand by your side when thousands are against you.

15.~Someone will always be better looking.  Someone will always be smarter.  Someone will always be more charismatic.  But they will never be you.

16.~Making progress involves risk.  Period.  You can’t make it to second base with your foot on first.

17.~Every morning you are faced with two choices:  you can aimlessly stumble through the day not knowing what’s going to happen and simply react to events at a moment’s notice, or you can go through the day directing your own life and making your own decisions and destiny.

18.~Everyone makes mistakes.  If you can’t forgive others, don’t expect others to forgive you.

19.~You can’t take things too personally.  Rarely do people do things because of you.  They do things because of them.

20.~The happiest people I know keep an open mind to new ideas and ventures, use their leisure time as a means of mental development, and love good music, good books, good pictures, good company and good conversation.

~*~*~*~*~

if you care to share, do any of the statements above speak to you? a few years ago (thanks to dr phil, i must say) i realized how true #19 is. once i changed my perspective about what drives people’s actions, the handling of certain situations became a lot easier. and i totally believe in #11 – never give up on a goal.

will you be setting goals or making any resolutions on january 1st? last year, i set out eleven goals for 2011 (recap coming on sunday, january 1st). this year, i am putting all my eggs in the kikiproject basket instead of making any resolutions!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On December 30, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I love #19 – great reminder because I’m sensitive and often do take things personally when I shouldn’t. I love #13, too! I’m a minimalist. :)

    I’m not really setting any new goals specifically for the new year…I do have some goals for 2012 but they are carrying over from 2011.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 31, 2011 at 5:52 am

      ah – i like this! yes – no reason why goals cannot carry over to the new year. i think the mindset is often that we have to have brand new resolutions. i hear you on being a minimalist (haha, even our shoes -> nike frees!!).

  • Johanna  On December 29, 2011 at 10:41 am

    #4 slugged me over the head today – just the words that resonated in the moment but they’re all fabulous thoughts. #7 is something I feel like I’m still learning and struggling with but I hope that I’m getting closer every year. Maybe by the time I’m 85 I’ll have accepted/sorted it out. I think I could read list this every day for the next year and always come away with something different.

    As you know, I have a deep abiding fear of goal-setting but I’d really like to find a way to commit to something self-improving this year. Even if I don’t figure it out for Jan 1, I hope to find it.

    • Johanna  On December 29, 2011 at 10:42 am

      PS – really looking forward to hearing about the new Kiki-project!

      • 1970kikiproject  On December 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

        thanks, johanna! i am really looking forward to sharing, now that i have figured out what i’m doing! i appreciate your comment about how you could read the list on different days and have different reactions/thoughts. that is so true. go for your self-improvement goal, i say! and yes, it does not have to be determined on january 1!

  • Zo  On December 29, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I’m excited to hear about your project!
    I would say even though I know 19 is true, I definitely have to work on getting that one through my head. I get the phrase “don’t take it personally” a lot. And although I think some people could be a little (or a lot) more kind or sensitive, that quote is exactly right, they weren’t insensitive because I’m me, they were insensitive because they’re them! I think 8 is also true and I kind of love number 20!
    I was just thinking about goals/resolutions this morning. I don’t always make them, it depends what I want to achieve. This year I have a lot I’d like to do, so it’s good to have an opportunity to think about it (and I’ll probably talk about them next week and use my Saturday post for reflection). I may even try doing a spreadsheet to help. I always think that i’ll be good about writing stuff down but I’m often not and my handwriting is so bad that I spend more time just deciphering!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

      thanks for sharing your insights on #19, zo. it helps to step back and look at our personal interactions from a different angle – but that is hard as our first reaction is about our own feelings. i am now really looking forward to reading your saturday post!!! do try the excel spreadsheet!! it makes things so easy to update (or delete!), too!

  • Johanna B  On December 29, 2011 at 9:38 am

    The two which resonate most with me are #’s 8 and 3. I’ve always believed that every person/situation that enters my life has something to teach me and that I must be open to that particular lesson. I also believe in reciprocity in relationships. I don’t have to do all the work and if I am something important is missing.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 29, 2011 at 9:55 am

      very wise insights, johanna. thanks for sharing! relationships should be like tennis matches and not slugging out homeruns!

  • Johanna B  On December 29, 2011 at 9:10 am

    My current favorite (along the lines of the 20 of yours) is: No matter how slowly you’re going, you’re still lapping everyone on the couch. So true, so true. I try to remember that about a lot of things in my life.

    I printed out your list to write some of them in my journal. I collect things like this. Thanks for sharing them.

  • Stephanie  On December 29, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Number 7 definitely resonates with me. I spend a lot of time thinking about the me that I WANT to be. But I need to honour the me that I am. Let’s face it…I’m not a hipster-type who throws fashionable dinner parties and knows all the right music and has a perfectly organized house. I’m not. I’m a chronically disorganized geek with a short attention span. And seriously…that’s ok. So my resolution for this year is to be more me.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 29, 2011 at 9:14 am

      this is awesome, stephanie – spoken from the heart. two thumbs up to you. i agree that it’s a challenge sometimes to just accept where we’re at and say, hey! i am ME and mighty fine just the way i am. (this resonates back to your blog post today, eh!).

  • Lisa  On December 29, 2011 at 8:10 am

    It’s hard to pick just a couple—they really all ring true for me. I do really like #13 and #14 a lot.

    I don’t usually make resolutions—I’m horrible at doing things involving willpower, and I’m pretty good at following through on my life plans without resolving to do them on Jan 1. But…this year I have one idea that I’m ready to focus on now, so I can probably tie it into a resolution this year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 29, 2011 at 8:25 am

      ooo, will you share your idea on your blog, lisa? i am intrigued (unless you have written already…i know you have some future plans/directions you would like to take). i agree that you don’t “need” january 1st to make a positive change!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

