nowhere near 27 dresses!

this weekend, i made the time to watch the chick flick 27 dresses.

(source)

nicole recently emailed me a spreadsheet [gosh, i love nicole's organizational style!] which lists all of the dvd movies and tv shows that she owns – and i am welcome to borrow what i wish! i tell you, there are enough options to keep me in front of the tv at least through the rest of this year…and next year…and the next year…!

to keep things simple, i just started at the top of nicole’s list and chose 27 dresses because i didn’t see it when it came out in theatres (i do remember that it was playing at the cinema in aruba when i was there last march).

i do not own 27 dresses! not even close! i went up to my closet and counted:

dress #1:

purchased at "the embellished room" this summer; i have not even worn it yet!

dress #2:

purchased in florida, summer 2010, during my outlet mall visit! worn at nick and wanda's wedding reception

dress #3:

a christmas gift a few years ago from cousin kate. she totally knows my style; worn on umpteen occasions!

dress #4:

purchased at "damsels in this dress," on queen street east, toronto, march 2010, worn to jillian and duncan's wedding

…and then there is beach coverup dress #5…

purchased off the old navy clearance rack with my groupon, this past summer; worn to TO for aunti day the day it was 40+ degrees C!

[ok, that one we are counting as half a dress because it is technically not a dress but i have decreed it as such].

that makes for a grand total of 4.5 dresses in my wardrobe. i do 110% love each of the above-noted dresses, though – they are all*me.*

27 dresses was predictable, inoffensive, sweet, gently humourous…pretty much b-grade in terms of the acting/writing/editing, a standard-fare boy-girl film. i have no real complaints (actually, no strong reaction, one way or another). the funniest sequence was katherine heigl’s trying-on of her bridesmaids’ dresses – talk about a hideous collection! and i chuckled at the oft-repeated inclusion of the line, “and the best part is you’ll be able to wear this dress again!” how many times have we all heard that one?! this film was a nice choice for a winter evening’s entertainment.

how many dresses do you own? (guy readers, i assume i am excluding you, today!) skirts do not count! include only dresses! and beach cover ups.

how many times have you been a bridesmaid? me = three!

have you seen “27 dresses?” what is your **** (four star) review? i’ll go with ** (two stars) -> sweet, not terrible, not outstanding. a MUCH funnier bridesmaids-themed movie is….bridesmaids!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On January 23, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I love those dresses! I’m trying to picture what 2 and 3 look like on. I have to admit, I know I have more than 4, but other than that? I’m not sure!
    I was a bridesmaid once…and the couple later divorced..and I’m not really in touch with the bride (whose “side” I was on) anymore!
    I saw 27 Dresses and thought it was cute…I saw it on a plane. Thinking back, I’ve seen a number of wedding movies on planes. 27 Dresses, Man of Honor, Bride Wars. Must be something about flying that brings it out in me!
    Also, I did finally put a longer reply on my post!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      that is funny about seeing all those wedding movies on airplanes! i am guessing you like something light-hearted that will distract without requiring TOO much focus and attention!?! i haven’t seen man of honor or bride wars…i also need to see the wedding crashers! both #2 & #3 dresses are super comfortable… – i really should wear them more often!

  • Stephanie  On January 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Wow! Those are wild dresses! :) I really need to buy some more unique clothes…those look like so much fun to wear.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      thanks, stephanie! i don’t enjoy wearing dresses all that much…so if i am going to put one on, it has to jazz me! a tip: avoid the usual stores at the mall…i like indy/local shops!

  • Dorry  On January 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I’m a sucker for chick-flicks, but agree it’s not the best out there! Hmmm – I probably own close to 20 dresses. I cleaned out my closet last week and gave some away. :) I’ve been a bridesmaid 5 times.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      wow!!! that is an awesome selection of dresses, dorry! way to mix it up with the lululemon gear! :) that is fun that you are a chick-flick fan, too. poor billy! :)

  • Lisa  On January 23, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I saw 27 dresses — and thought the same thing about it. Entertaining, a little fluffy :)

    I just purged a bunch of dresses in a yard sale this past summer—all dresses I only wore once, to black tie events when I was dating a lawyer and had to go to those things. Luckily, being with a private investigator now means we never have to be social for his work functions—he’s supposed to be anonymous!

    I think, currently, I have 5 dresses. I haven’t worn them all yet. Oh wait, I think I have 7…but I really should get rid of a few…

    I’ve been a bridesmaid twice. It was fun!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      Great comments, lisa!!
      Haha, from how I *know* you via blogging, I do not get the vibe that corporate/black tie events would be your thing at this chapter in your life!
      Two times a bridesmaid is just enough – glad they were enjoyable experiences for you!

  • Gina Unger  On January 23, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Very funny to hear about your collection of dresses! I don’t know how many I have… about 10? i’ll have to go count now! I just bought two dresses in November after not wearing dresses for a long time, actually, and LOVE them. I love your eclectic collection of dresses – totally suits you. really like the one you wore to jillian/duncan’s wedding and the one from kate.
    now for the movie… this has got to be one of my most favourite movies! cute and funny and everything i like about a chick flick. have watched it numerous times and will watch eagerly again! i’d give 27 dresses 4 stars and the bridesmaids movie 2 stars.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      that’s a great collection of dresses, gina! now do you have more for summer or winter? and yes – go get an exact count! :) glad you invested in some new ones in november! i would like to get a few more for summer wear, instead of shorts. and yes, they do new to be colourful and kiki-ish! glad that 27 dresses is one of your favourite movies! it is a feel-good film with a satisfying happy ending, that is for sure!

  • Johanna B  On January 23, 2012 at 10:25 am

    In general, I don’t wear dresses or skirts. I think I own 2 dresses and a couple of skirts. I’ve never been a bridesmaid. I was a maid of honor twice. I haven’t seen “27 dresses” but it’s on my list for this year.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 10:27 am

      all right!! yes – do put “27 dresses” on your 2012 viewing list, and please let me know what you think! perfect film for a relaxing weekend, imo!

  • The Orchard  On January 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I own 3 dresses, but I hardly ever wear them.

    I have been a bridesmaid twice.

    I would also give the movie 2 stars – thought it was just okay. Bridesmaids is hilarious!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 10:06 am

      i really hope bridesmaids wins a couple of awards during this awards season (oscars etc). bridesmaids + horrible bosses were the funniest movies i saw last year! glad to hear of someone else for whom dress-wearing is a rare occurence! :)

  • Juanita  On January 23, 2012 at 9:20 am

    I laughed at this movie because I also have a rack full of dresses in my basement. I have everything from the dress I wore to my Aunt Joyce’s wedding when I was 6 to the dress I wore when I stood up for my bil & sil 5 years ago. 3 Prom dresses, 2 semi-formal dresses, bridemaid dresses for at least 4 different weddings. Had some fun playing dress up wih Brie using these dresses. :-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 23, 2012 at 9:28 am

      oh, i love hearing about your collection, juanita!! lucky brie to have such an array of dresses to play with. that is really neat that you have saved all the dresses, from over the years. what a collection of memories! and yes, i bet you did LOL when you watched the movie!! now the question is: were you ever able to wear the prom dresses or bridesmaid dresses after the proms/weddings that they were purchased for?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

