you’ve gotta be kidding me

i’ve now been diet coke-free for 22 complete days – yea, me! so, i thought i’d give an update on how i feel.

(source)

first off, you have got to be kidding me that it has ONLY been 22 days since i stopped drinking pop – it feels like a freaking LIFETIME ago that i last knit, read blogs, and sipped on fizzy goodness. that being said, i am genuinely glad i changed my imbibing ways.

(source)

just so you know, i have not cheated at all – being accountable on the blog is what has been my primary motivation. secondary motivation is feeling authentic, light of heart and spirit, and guilt-free.

i credit success to dear dr phil – i learned from him long ago that you do not BREAK a habit – you simply replace one addiction action with another. so diet coke time has become coffee time! now, believe me, coffee is proving to be an acceptable solution…but i don’t love it to pieces. what i DO enjoy is that it makes me feel all warm and cosy inside, but the taste is only…ok? acceptable? just beyond so-so??

(source)

i’ve found that coffee really packs a punch! i have made the mistake of having one cup too many of non-decaf on a couple of occasions, and wow, the jitters really kicked in – and not in a good way. i felt on the edge of feeling overly anxious. lesson learned! and i find i tire of coffee pretty easily – after a few mugs, i’m done for the day with any desire for coffee, and switch over to carbonated water.

the coffee i am drinking is just instant – nescafe is preferable to maxwell house.

my at-home coffee collection - i also have stockpiles of regular, decaf and stevia at both the store and theOTHERstore

i would love to sip down nothing but starbucks via; however, the price is prohibitive, and i am trying to be fiscally responsible with my drinking budget. [tangent: it is totally unfortunate that i can buy two six-packs of diet coke when it is on sale at shoppers for $5 – yes, that is 12 bottles for $5.00. starbucks via pacs cost $11.95 for twelve. carbonated water is anywhere from $1.oo to $1.89 per 750 ml bottle, depending on whether i can score a sale or not. i keep reminding myself i am investing in better health! oh – and don’t forget about the stevia sweetener – $8.99 for a little 15 gram canister. this switchover is not financially advantageous!].

the brand name is "new roots," and i purchase my stevia at "eating well organically."

*they* say it takes 21 days to install a habit in your life – since day 22 was yesterday, i am past the breaking point – right?!

(source)

let’s summarize the differences i have noticed:

physical:

~ great digestion – any stomach or bowel warblings have dropped off considerably, to the point of being practically non-existant. and this is with the inclusion of gluten and dairy products in my menu selections.

~ whiter eyeballs (mom notices this immediately, every time i go off pop…and it is true, i have to admit). too bad whiter teeth did not also happen!

~ excellent energy (since i am still getting my caffeine fix with the coffee).

~ soft, smooth skin on my face (although this could be the result of some recent dietary modifications…hard to say).

emotional:

~ happily, i can honestly say i have not yet had any extreme cravings for a diet coke – whew. that’s the worst, when you realllly want something and have to keep repeating no no no no to yourself.

~ as hokey as it sounds, i feel like i am being true to myself. i don’t feel that deep-down guilt for ingesting chemicals that i know do absolutely nothing to promote health. so i guess i feel emotionally proud and strong (??).

(source)

you can be sure that we will revisit this diet coke discussion a few times over the next eleven months 44 weeks (remember, as per the 12 days of kiki, i am off of diet pop til december 9th!! – yikes!). but, to think positively and not complain, at least we’ve knocked three weeks off the timeline! [as mentioned, this is not the first time since i started blogging that i’ve quit pop – we have posts dedicated to diet coke here (march 2011) and here (april 2010), for example].

(source)

what is your opinion on pop? i am simply curious as to whether you think it evil or harmless.

further comment as you wish! share a personal anecdote or just encourage me – haha!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stephanie  On February 2, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed! It’s hard to give up something that you love, even when you know that it isn’t good for you AND you feel better without it in your life. I’m not really a pop-drinker. I might have a pop once in a blue moon at a fast food restaurant, but for the most part I find them too cloying. Unless I have the stomach flu, in which case bring on the ginger ale!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 2, 2012 at 7:22 pm

      thanks, stephanie! it IS hard, esp when i’ve enjoyed diet coke for two decades!! yes – we grew up with ginger ale for the stomach flu, and i swear it does help! good for you for not being a pop addict!!! i am envious that you don’t like it that much!

  • dorry  On February 2, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I’m so proud of you! this is a BIG deal! I know people who love diet coke and it really is a difficult habit to break. I’ve never been a big soda/pop gal myself. I used to occasionally have a Dr. Pepper when I was younger, but it’s been years since I’ve had a sip. Billy doesn’t really drink it either so it’s never around. I love what you said about accountability and being true to yourself/guilt-free. GOOD FOR YOU! so inspiring. xoxo

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 2, 2012 at 1:12 pm

      dorry, thank you so much for your energetic encouragement with this comment – i much appreciate your kind words! :) this is a real challenge for me, but also empowering!

  • Lisa  On February 1, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    Whiter eyeballs?!?!?!?!!? I need to research this phenomenon. Seriously–that’s crazy!

    I think pop is poison…it’s just a legal kind of poison that kills you very very slowly.
    Yes, I really feel that way. I suppose if it was the only thing a person did that was “unhealthy” and they had no real genetic weaknesses, it may be not so toxic over a lifetime, but add it to all the other crap in our lives, and it’s just not good in any way.

    I think diet pop is just as bad, for different reasons.

    I don’t drink it—you couldn’t pay me to, actually.

    Side note: I hate the overly jittery thing from too much coffee–there’s a fine line between a nice boost and the icky shaky anxious feeling!

    I am currently drinking about a half a cup of coffee a day (I get sick of it and it gets cold before I finish it). I’m gathering alternative drink ideas for a client, so I’ve made some interesting tea drinks (I’m not a fan of tea in general so I have to doctor it )…I think I’ll post about that tonight or tomorrow.

    Nice job on the no-pop!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      lisa, thank you for sharing your honest feelings!! and yes, the eye ball thing is true – let me know if you do find any info! wow, you are not drinking very much coffee at all, these days! no starbucks outings for a while??! and yes – it is SUCH a fine line between feeling energized and jittery – and have you found that you can drink the same amount but feel different effects, one day to the next.

  • Johanna B  On February 1, 2012 at 11:07 am

    I’ve been a diet coke freak for years. Love the stuff. Gave it up last year and made it almost a year before I gave in. Still don’t drink it like I did before. Maybe a can once or twice a week. I’m a coffee hound now. Got a real Mr Coffee for Christmas from my co-worker and I make a pot every morning. My pot holds two of my “cups”. Then at work I get a vanilla latte. That’s it for the day. If I drink real coffee (as opposed to decaf) later in the day I can’t sleep.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 11:13 am

      wow, johanna!! almost a year’s break for a diet coke lover is indeed a real accomplishment! i would love to know what spurred you to have that first can again after that long of a break – yes, i am nosy! :) a can once or twice a week sounds very moderate. glad you’re enjoying your coffee, now! i am with you – cannot do caffeine in coffee after about 11 a.m. or i am in trouble for sleeping that night – found that timeline out the hard way!!

  • Gina Unger  On February 1, 2012 at 9:00 am

    congrats on getting this far, cath! way to go! keep it up, babe! it’s not too long until december! ;) maybe try adding a few other tasty yet nutritious drinks for replacement drinks to get you through???
    you know me, not addicted to any of the stuff – soda, coffee, nor tea. in fact, i hate the caffeine b/c it makes me feel so jittery, anxious, and have stomach probs.
    here’s the run-down: i drink milk with meals and water in between (i wish i’d remember to drink more of it since i often get dehydrated). i do like the occasional diet pepsi (sorry – i like it better than coke for some reason!) but only when eating pizza or chips. now that we’re “off” chips (since last summer) that doesn’t happen very often. we rarely have juice in the fridge b/c i like eating the actual fruit much more and want to advocate that to my kids. i love hot chocolate in the winter but it only goes with popcorn AND after an outdoor activity for us. my rooibos teas are what i drink many evenings in winter but no other season. and that’s my drinking pattern in a nutshell!
    as for “evil” or “harmless”? i’d have to go with it being more “evil”, but that’s just the nutrition teacher side of me coming out! hang in there!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 9:16 am

      oh, thank you for your enthusiastic encouragement, gina! much appreciated! :) haha, i LOVE reading your drink run-down, including what you like with what, and what you like in which season. i so agree that with pizza, you just NEED pop!! and yes to choosing fruit over juice – totally with you. and i appreciate your viewpoint, given your nutrition teacher background! :)

  • karen at virtually there  On February 1, 2012 at 8:02 am

    I’m not much a pop drinker either but when I do I really like root beer or gingerale. My drink of choice is tea – caffeinated for sure – and I absolutely love a chai latte. I’ve started to make a great concoction at home because Starbucks chai was bankrupting me.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 9:07 am

      …if only starbucks prices were in line with, say, mcdonalds, eh! *sigh!* i agree that you can easily spend a small fortune – but the product just tastes so good, right?! glad you’ve found a tasty at-home substitute, karen!

  • Zo  On February 1, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Congratulations on how you’ve done. It’s interesting to see what changes you’ve noticed.
    I don’t drink soda regularly…every once in a while. I drink iced tea when I’m out for a meal usually.
    I actually used to use artificial sweetener in my coffee..didn’t like the chemicals, switched to sugar, and weaned myself off that too (at home I do use vanilla soy milk which adds sweetness though). I just took it day by day and then didn’t want to ruin my “streak.”

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 9:09 am

      good for you on progressing from artificial sweetener->sugar->plain, zo! i so hear you not wanting to ruin a streak – that is what has always assisted me in the past, too!

  • The Orchard  On February 1, 2012 at 7:31 am

    I am not much of a pop drinker. Every once in awhile I drink it, and my pop of choice is Coke. I love it, just don’t drink it often.

    Coffee is my weakness, and I drink more of it now than ever. The addition of each child has brought along the addition of another cup of coffee. I usually have 3 cups of coffee per day. One of those mugs is almost always a Tim Horton’s coffee!

    Good for you for keeping to your goal!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 9:11 am

      oh, i love that comment, tricia -> each child brings the need for more coffee! i am sure all parents can relate to that! i applaud you for loving the taste of coke, but not drinking it – that takes discipline! (or maybe if you just don’t have access to it/buy it, that is your trick??).

  • Heather Pfohl Sutcliffe  On February 1, 2012 at 6:43 am

    I confess….cannot stand coffee (or what the after effects are) and tea just does not caffinate me as I need it too, so diet coke has become my caffeine source.
    My “soda” addiction started when I was in Pennsylvania…..man do Americans like their soda!! Working night shift, I would drink a can of diet coke, and that has continued for the past *ahem* 19 years.
    Last year I gave up diet coke for Lent….40 days….and after the caffeine withdrawal was gone (that was a headache I do not want again) it was not that bad. But….then work got busy, the kids got busier, I was not sleeping as well and I needed a bit of caffeine back in my routine. I try to limit it to 2 cans each day….figure that keeps me below the recommendations for sweetener intake and makes sure that I also drink enough water to stay hydrated. Evil….probably would not classify it as such, are there better choices? You bet….but it is a choice that I make, and I do believe (and tell my patients) that things in moderation fit in every diet.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 1, 2012 at 7:12 am

      thanks so much for sharing your opinion and your “diet coke story,” heather! so interesting that your diet coke drinking started in penn -> i got into the habit while away at uni in chicoutimi. that is neat that you gave up dc for lent last year – would you do it again (this year or another year?). my dad would so agree with your “moderation” statement…that’s his life philosophy! i agree but find i am either all in or all out for pop – i can’t seem to find moderate!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

