super madonna sunday

so who won the football game?! :)

(source)

i was not joking when i said i would be planting myself in front of mom and dad’s tv, nose glued to the screen, in order to catch madonna’s half-time show:

incognito: my excitement level is embarrassing

i no longer watch nfl football at all (there was an era, in my teens, when i never missed sunday’s games) but i do get caught up in super bowl hype. as predicted to you weeks ago, my primary purpose this year, in watching, was to catch madonna’s half-time show. [it is on my life bucket list to attend a madonna concert. really, that is the only live music performance i have any huge desire to see. well, ok, i would love to see cher, as well].

i didn’t feel badly in the least about firmly plonking myself on mom and dad’s couch floor (i didn’t even bring out my knitting!) because dad is a huge sports fanatic, and mom is very easy-going. well, ok, dad is not at all a madonna fan…so i did inflict that on him…but, oh well, sorry about your luck, dad!

(source)

it was just a matter of putting in time until madge would take the stage. so, i brainstormed a madonna tribute!!

best madonna album: the immaculate collection

favourite madonna song: hung up/time goes by

top madonna movie role: evita

most outrageous madonna productions: (tie) the movie truth or dare and her coffee table book

biggest un-madonna act: writing children’s stories (?!)

madonna’s most memorable stage attire: [no caption necessary]

(source)

i am truly a madonna fan. yes, i love her music, but more than that, there are few icons who epitomize living fearlessly quite like the material girl. i respect how she has been the queen of reinvention over the decades, and continuously “braves new frontiers.” yes, some of her statements and actions may be stylized publicity stunts so that her name remains in the limelight, but i prefer to focus on the way madonna refuses to remain static with the way she lives life.

ok! F.I.N.A.L.L.Y., it was the moment we’d all i’d been waiting for – madonna on stage!!

the leaked news was true - madonna did open with "vogue"

the show was AWESOME!!!

"music, makes the pe-ople, come together..."

i loved the entire spectacle: the choreography, the dancing, madonna’s outfits and “look,” the lights, the singing – what a show. madonna’s still got the voice and the moves.

it was not perfect, however, and i bet that will bug madonna to pieces. did you catch her slight mis-step off the bleacher, in the segment photographed above? and that WAS a middle-finger flash by M.I.A.!! -> i thought that’s what i saw!

with nicki minaj, performing "give me all your lovin'" -> new release!

grand finale! "like a prayer"

i LOVED the ending when madonna poofed off the stage. awesome.

then, a surprise!

say what, dad??!

unbeknownst to me, mom and dad’s pvr records the last 20 minutes of whatever you just watched – so dad hit rewind and i got to watch the whole show again! super zowie!

[tangent: family, please note that a MADONNA TSHIRT will be going on my 2012 christmas list for at least the third time!! indulge me already, please?!].

*sigh.* ’twill have to suffice until i can get me to a concert! although, i likely had a better sightline with my nose-to-the-tv spot!

question #1: did you watch the super bowl yesterday? i likely will next watch football on super bowl sunday, 2013.

question #2: if so, did you watch for:

  • the football (who were the two teams playing again? haha!)
  • the ads (we are totally gypped in canada – the creative, just-out-for-super bowl tv commercials are replaced crappy canadian commercials by the canadian broadcasters. check out this article, “why most super bowl ads get stopped at the border” from friday’s globe and mail, if you like).
  • madonna at the half-time show!!!!

question #3: offer up your own madonna tribute(s)! earliest madonna memory: watching desperately seeking susan on vcr at tanya s’s house in high school, with a bunch of girlfriends!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On February 6, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Ooh. I read your post this morning and thought, “no way I’m trying to comment using the phone.”
    I remember “Holiday” being out when I was 11 years old/6th grade…I remember wearing the black plastic bracelets…the mesh…the bows…the fingerless lace gloves.
    I feel a lot of respect for Madonna and the way she seems to have always taken control over her life and career (Although she’s had some I less than gracious moments). I would also love to see her in concert one of these years!
    I actually didn’t see the half-time show (mr. sc isn’t a fan so we switched away).
    I think my favorite song is “Don’t Tell Me” but I could easily change my mind!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 6, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      ah! i know what you mean about not using the phone for longer comments! yes!! the black bracelets! i had forgotten about those – i totally remember now when they were the rage! sorry you missed the half-time show – but it was nice of you not to make mr sc watch, given that he is not a fan! :)

  • Lisa  On February 6, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I watched, but I was not paying attention to the game… I loved the madonna show! She is great. My memory of her includes two things. One, my sister and I used to dance in my bedroom and make up a routine to Material Girl…and then two, when I was in 5th grade I did a gymnastics routine to the same song—it was a group thing, and our costumes were hot pink spandex and fluorescent swirly leotards with shoulder ruffles.
    It was great!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 6, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      yea! glad you caught the half-time show, too, lisa AND enjoyed it! love your madonna memories – i hope you have photos of those costumes! i bet you had so much fun!!

  • Stephanie  On February 6, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    I love Madonna. When I was about six or seven, I used to bike around the neighbourhood singing “like a virgin”. I didn’t know why the next door neighbours laughed so hard when I sang…

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 6, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      so did you see her at all in the half-time show yesterday?? man, you would never know she is 53 -> she did one armed pushups!! you are very funny with that madonna childhood memory! hope you had a good monday in the classroom, stephanie! :)

  • Johanna B  On February 6, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I did not watch the Super Bowl. If I had I would have been watching for the commercials. I am not a Madonna fan in the slightest so I had no interest in watching the half-time show. The last Super Bowl I actually watched was the year the New Orleans Saints won. You can tell I’m not much of a football fan.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 6, 2012 at 11:48 am

      well, thanks for commenting anyway, today, johanna! as predicted, we did not see any of the good U.S. ads…boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

