the friday night knitting club

when lisa and i last met up, she lent me her copy of the friday night knitting club, a chick lit novel by kate jacobs.

(source)

to be honest, i tried to read this book once before, a couple of years ago – i only got about 20-30 pages into it when i set it aside and moved on to something else. i don’t know if it’s because the book came to me from a friend or if my mind is just in a different place, but i picked up the friday night knitting club again last week and decided to give it another shot. this time ’round, i can’t put it down! i’m loving it! so if all continues as is, the friday night knitting club will be my book #2 for the 12 days of kiki, project #7.

also last week, i received my monthly newsletter from my local yarn shop, shall we knit. [you’ll remember that they moved from new hamburg to uptown waterloo, and are now located a mere ten minute walk from the condo casa]. as i scanned over the email, my eye was caught by this tidbit:

Knit & Chat
Every Friday night from 6:00 – 9:00 is Knit & Chat.  Everyone is welcome and we are getting to be such a big group that we are opening another room for the evening.  You have your choice of sitting in the back room on the main level or in the classroom on the second floor.  So bring your knitting and come and enjoy an evening with people who totally understand about our addiction.

the wheels of my mind were set in motion!! ok, i just started reading the friday night knitting club…i now find out i have a friday night knitting club in my ‘hood…karma says i am meant to go participate!!

so, this past friday eve, that’s exactly where i went. after a full day at theOTHERstore, an evening of social knitting sounded perfectly restful…except that it was not without a little doubt that i ventured over to shall we knit. a few what if scenarios whirled in my brain: what if no one talks to me? [hello, don’t be silly, you are chatty cathy, YOU can initiate conversation]; what if they are all a bunch of crazieseccentrics, like women who knit bandanas for cats, or something? [then you stay 30 minutes and get up and leave and never go back!]. plans in place, over i went.

i took along my current square for the log cabin blanket in malabrigos rios:

(source)

friday’s status of said square:

easy to transport, at least!

the shall we knit shop looked very inviting on a cold mild february eve!

bright and cheery!

i had such a nice evening!!!

as soon as i walked in, everyone greeted me warmly, and went around the table and made introductions. and how serendipitous – there were twelve of us (get it? 12 days of kiki!…). i loved seeing the womens’ (yes, no men present!) various yarns, projects, needles and methods of knitting! it was a totally casual, relaxed, friendly environment with interesting conversation and banter. the ages represented ranged from mid-20’s to mid-50’s – i like that diversity. my favourite line of the evening: “cashmere makes everything better!”

the room we knit in was lined with fabulous yarns – the colourful atmosphere was very creatively inspiring!

i'll take one of those balls, two of those skeins...

watchful sheep (plus i want that yarn in the background)!

i ended up staying later that i intended – that’s a sign of a successful outing, wouldn’t you say?! i do think i will plan to go back!

what are you reading right now? i’ll be on the friday night knitting club for a good while!

are you currently a member of any clubs? i am not. my lifestyle right now is not conducive to making a commitment to any sort of set schedule!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anurri  On February 12, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Great story, thanks for posting it. I just finished ‘The Friday Night Knitting Club’ and have started the sequel ‘Knit Two’. I have been inspired to start a fiber art club in my tiny northern community. There are less than 500 people who live here, so it will be interesting to see if anyone is interested. I love your pictures and it sounds as though things are going ‘as planned’….
    I hope my intention is as successful!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm

      thanks for your comment, anurri! i did notice that there is a sequel book. i am enjoying “friday night knitting club” enough that i would like to read the second book. best wishes with your fibre art club – even if you start small, hopefully interest will spread!

  • Gina Unger  On February 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    hey! that sounds like a great evening for you! i’ve actually got a hold of the book “The Help” that you recommended to me… now to actually start setting aside time to read it! i still LOVE looking at the picture of that log cabin blanket – it is SOOO awesome!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 10, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      oh, boy!!! just let the kids have cereal for meals for the next few weeks so you can fully devote time to reading “the help!” haha! i can’t WAIT to hear your reaction!! now….you COULD always bid on the blanket when i donate it to the mcc relief sale – or make your parents! it was fun to do “social knitting” for a change!

  • dorry  On February 9, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    I am STILL reading the Happiness Project. Oh how I need to make more time for reading…I really like the book so it’s a surprise I haven’t read more. BUT! I have a deadline – March 4th – so I’ll kick it into gear. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 10, 2012 at 6:17 am

      well, you have almost a month, dorry! maybe figure out how many pages you need to read per day to stay on target? i was just thinking of that book the other day – would love to hear your thoughts on it when you’re done!

  • Lisa  On February 8, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I’m glad you had fun! I love unexpected fun nights with interesting people. I would have had the same thoughts leading up to it too.
    I am not in any clubs. I’ve tried a few, and either didn’t really like them or didn’t enjoy the commitment part.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 8, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      it IS fun to meet new people, isn’t it?! with your various interests and careers, i know you get to meet a lot of personalities! i hear you on the commitment part, lisa. do you remember last year when i did the four week cake decorating course? that was enjoyable partly because i knew it was a finite number of weeks. an open-ended timeline can be a bit daunting!

  • Stephanie  On February 8, 2012 at 11:56 am

    This sounds like so much fun! I would love to find an interest-based informal club like that to join. ANd you’re right…FRIDAY night and TWELVE people…the universe is sending you a sign, friend! (I have to say, though, that I’ve only tried that book once, and I had the same reaction as you did the first time around. I read a bit, didn’t hate it, didn’t love it – and then just forgot to finish.)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 8, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      neat! i was wondering if anyone else had read the book. i am now about 100 pages in and it’s holding my attention very nicely – interesting how it didn’t grab you right off, either, though. love how you say you “forgot” to finish it!!

  • Johanna B  On February 8, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Wow, I love your knitting shop story. It reminded me of the old timey quilting bees of the deep south. I remember listening to the ladies talking while quilting when I was a little girl. I loved the storied they would tell. Sounds like you found something comfortable to do on quiet Friday nights.

    I just started Eve by Iris Johansen. It’s the first book of a trilogy about a long standing character I’ve been reading. I think there’s 14 books prior to this trilogy which promises to finally tie up some loose end about the character’s back story. Looking forward to finishing it. It, too, is one of those that catches you in the first few pages and makes it impossible to think about anything else but getting back to the pages.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 8, 2012 at 11:10 am

      yes! you have gathered the vibe that i felt at the knitting store – thanks for making that quilting link, johanna! and yes, some of the topics of discussion on friday ever were … very eye-opening! :) wow, that is quite the series of books. so glad you are enjoying your current read. it is the true sign of a gripping novel when you think about it while NOT reading! hope you have some reading time planned into your day today!!

  • Zo  On February 8, 2012 at 7:47 am

    I want to learn how to knit a bandana do sc cat! Of course, he’d never wear it! It sounds like you found something fun go Fridays.
    I am currently reading and enjoying “Books” by Larry McMurtry.
    I don’t belong to any clubs, although I belong to a group that supports the local animal shelter…which has some club like aspects.

    • Zo  On February 8, 2012 at 7:49 am

      Agh..”for” sc cat, not “do”. Much as I love my phone….I am not in love with how it corrects me!

      • 1970kikiproject  On February 8, 2012 at 9:14 am

        how about “kerchiefs for cats” as a project for the animal shelter?! haha! no worries re typos…iphones are great but they can’t read our minds, eh?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

