xoxo

it’s ♥ valentine’s day ♥ … tomorrow!

(source)
in honour of happy heart day , here are fourteen of my latest ♥ loves ♥:

1. this *winter*: yes, this weekend was snowy, blowy and cold, but truly, it has been a dreamboat of a winter. and seeing as it’s already the middle of february, we’ve got what, maybe a month of winter to go? sweet!

2. the new runner’s world shoe finder: in the march issue of runner’s world magazine, the editors debut their updated shoe finder:

i heart the flow chart style!

runner’s world has moved on from classifying shoes as neutral/stability/motion control in favour of a more interactive schemata which poses yes/no questions in order to help you to determine the best makes and models of shoes for you. this update fascinates me because at the store, we use the three-shoe-type classification system. so, i have to wonder if down the road, we, too, will move in a new direction??

3. top chef texas: top chef is my ♥ favourite ♥ foodnetwork series, and we’re down to seven remaining contestants in this 9th edition! once again, it’s a good one! my favourite judges, padma and tom, are back, the contestants are the usual mix of diverse personalities, and the challenges have been innovative. i’ve got my fingers crossed that edward ends up as top chef! [i’ve got a good track record for picking reality show winners…will my streak continue??!].

4. seeing my cousin joel pursue a travel opportunity: on friday eve, i met up with my cousin joel for coffee.

@ cafe 1842; outing #6 of this year's kiki project!

joel is leaving tomorrow for korea! he’ll be teaching english there until he comes home for kate’s wedding in june. all the best, joel, and i can’t wait to read your blog updates!

5. madonna!

(source)

five point one: madonna’s new song (listen here!) – yes, i agree it is a bubble-gummy type tune, and as someone said, well suited to an old navy tv ad, but i can’t help but bop when i hear it – it makes me so happy!

five point two: madonna tickets go on sale TODAY at 10 a.m. for her two toronto shows, sept 12th and 13th. sadly, i will not be attempting to purchase tix to her 2012 tour. maybe the next one!

6. this valentine from little e:

the inside of little e's valentine's card for aunti

someone knows the way to aunti’s !

7. food basics: ok, call me slow but i only just have discovered the wonders of food basics

au revoir, valumart and hellooooo, food basics!

i cannot believe their produce prices!!

check out this comparison: on an average week, broccoli is $2.99 at valu. this is what i paid at food basics:

can you believe that?!

and mushrooms are $2.49 at valu, while at food basics…

i did a double take!

now, i am not one to drive all over the universe to save a few cents. but this is insanity! luckily, there is a food basics right across the street from theOTHERstore, and a mere two blocks north of the brother and sil ana’s house in toronto. you can betcha i am going to strategically plan out my grocery needs and my timing so that i can hit up food basics for…basics (fresh produce is indeed a basic!).

8. reid coolsaet’s classy act of philanthropy: i ♥ reid because i met him

file photo, march 2011!

…and he was so laidback and not arrogant, and he is going to represent canada at the olympics this summer, and he is a super speedy fast marathoner. if all of those virtues were not enough, the sweet guy is donating $10 000 of his marathon earnings to help renovate/redo the university of guelph’s track facility. read the toronto star article here!

9. a serendipitous free coffee:

i was lucky enough to receive a s’bux gift card last week, so you can bet i was into starbucks the very next day. i picked up a 12 pac of starbuck’s newest via blend, a blonde roast called “veranda.” when i got to the checkout, the barista told me that i could have a free coffee, thanks to a special promotion they were running that day!

both she and the woman behind me in line encouraged me to get an expensive, fancy drink, since it would be free! but since i am not up on my venti-mochi-soaki-lattés, i opted for a plain ol’ decaf:

i had about seventeen other errands to complete in 57 minutes that day, but there is always time for free coffee…and the paper!

10. sleep: i fully confess that it has been a while since i have consistently seen the hour of 5 a.m. on my watch when i get up in the morning. lately, i’ve been taking advantage of sleeping in on days when i can afford to have a more relaxed start to my day, and it has been h.e.a.v.e.n.l.y. i hope i start de-hibernating once spring rolls around. but the bed is just so darn warm and comfy!

11. this motivational quote that our half marathon instructor, derek, shared with his clinic members in his weekly email:

you have a choice. you can throw in the towel, or you can use it to wipe the sweat off of your face.

12. diet coke: oops, did i just say type that? my fingers must have slipped.

13. wearing perfume: i have not worn perfume in years! when i was up at conestoga mall in january, trying to take care of my sil-vah situation, i popped into “icing by claire” and thoughtlessly spritzed myself with a perfume that was set out by the til. i could not stop sniffing myself the rest of the day! loved it! and had no clue as the name of it. well, if dear old mom did not pursue the perfume for me when she was at the mall last week. i am now the proud owner – and daily wearer – of…

"addicted," by icing -> how completely appropriately named!

and i still can’t stop smelling myself!

14. deciding to go with my ♥ heart and switch up my blogging *schedule,* yet again: in an effort to not be too angsty, i will keep this explanation concise. ever since i switched to a three-times-a-week posting schedule, i am not feeling the ♥ blogging love ♥. i have lost my mojo, my creativity has nose-dived, and blogging often feels like one more item on my “to do” list. i do not like to write when blogging is a chore. so, i am going to go back (as i did with the first kikiproject) to blogging whenever the heck i feel like it.

what does this decision mean for this year’s 12 days of kiki? i’m sticking with it! so, a recap on the 9th of each month will be coming at you, for sure. otherwise, i will be writing when i am fully inspired about a topic and/or really feel the urge to express myself.

i have added an amendment to the 12 days of kiki, item #3; instead of stating that i will blog three times per week on a mon-wed-fri schedule, it now states that i will:

leave a comment on a minimum of three blogs, every day. [i do this already so i know it is enjoyable and manageable]. this way, i still get to interact and socialize with blog-friends, but they have to do all the creative work – haha! maybe i’ll even expand my usual list of reads…

whew! i feel so relieved!

and with that…

happy valentines day to YOU!

today’s a-ha:

chats…whenever!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On February 13, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Perfume in general makes me sneeze so I never buy it and I avoid that area of the store where the ladies want to spritz you as you walk by.

    Now, the free coffee would have made me jump for joy. I love me some sugar-free skinny vanilla lattes. Thank goodness the barista at work recognizes me and I don’t have to ask for that drink every morning. She sees me coming and it’s ready when I get to the register.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      now THAT is great coffee service! isn’t it great to be a regular customer – special treatment! strong perfume has got to be THE WORST. i am careful to be gentle with my spritzing!

  • Gina Unger  On February 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Cath! A good post to remind me of the things that I esp. love, too. :) i’m with you on our winter! amazing! (except we needed more snow PLUS these mild temps so we could enjoy skiing a bit more than we have.) i’ve been immersed in rec’g cute valentine’s cards and watching all the prep this whole month, too! love that towel quote and also your perfume story. :) totally get that you want to blog when inspired. some things just can’t be pinned down to a schedule.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      i hope you and your family enjoy valentine’s day tomorrow, gina! i bet there will be a few themed ideas at your home! :) thanks for all your feedback, and i esp appreciate your last comment – you know me, i am such a fan of schedules…this is a good lesson for me that sometimes it is just best to step back and go with the flow.

  • Stephanie  On February 13, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I’m not really a grown-up when it comes to Starbucks. I always get a hot chocolate with whipped cream and chocolate powder. Oh…now I really, really want one. And the closest Starbucks is a 2-hour drive. Bah! When I was in Toronto last month, I took my nieces and nephew to Starbucks for hot chocolate every single day, since I had a bunch of gift cards left over from my teaching days and nowhere to spend them. Happy Valentine’s day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      ah, what a “sweet” auntie you are, stephanie! i love that you went to s’bux every day while in TO. your nieces and nephew must have been overjoyed! happy feb 14th to you, too!

  • Heather Pfohl Sutcliffe  On February 13, 2012 at 9:26 am

    In a flurry of frosting valentines cookies for 2 classrooms….I quickly read the “icing addicted” just as it states on the bottle and thought…well who is not addicted to icing…duh!! I have Not worn perfume in years, but this one bears a second look!
    Free coffee?? Yes please, but mine would come as a venti fat free tazo chai, extra foam and hot (that rolls right off the tongue only when I have a gift card)
    Please know that the best blog discovery of the year has been this little gem…of all the blogs I read….I must say without a doubt….yours has made it to the top of my morning list (while I drink a diet coke) xo
    Happy Valentines Day!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 9:45 am

      haha, i love your icing story! i bet your cookies look great – lucky children!! i am so glad we have re-connected through the blog, heather!! thanks for your kind words. and i truly love that you drink a dc while reading. do you blog? i’ve clicked on your URL but it doesn’t take me to a blog???!

  • Zo  On February 13, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I love your love of the things on this list! Well, personally I would have gone for a frillier coffee, but that’s ok!
    I’m glad you decided to put your heart into your blogging although I will say that I think you’ve been consistent as far as quality goes…so I hope I’ll still see you often as you’ve been one of my favorites!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

      i always enjoy talking blogging with you, zo! i truly enjoy our back-and-forth reading and commenting! i appreciate the “quality” comment: one thought i had is that i can just throw up a “photo of the day” but that just didn’t feel right…i’d rather post less often but truly write enthusiastically, and when i feel the blogging vibe! i need lessons on types of coffee drinks! the brother has been helpful, but i need a refresher (or a cheat sheet!).

  • Lisa  On February 13, 2012 at 7:07 am

    Happy V-Day!
    There are so many interesting details in this post…hhhmmmm, where to start?

    #1: I completely agree.
    #2: I’m definitely going to steal the shoe finder from Joe’s runner’s world, aka The Bible (in our house), and share it with all my clients who want to start running but have terrible shoes and won’t go to the running stores to get help picking shoes!
    #4 Good luck Cousin Joel!
    #6 YES. How cute. I love misspelled words and kid handwriting!
    #9 Free coffee—I would have done the exact same thing. I’ve found that even when I ask questions in S’bux about the fancier drinks (I mean, maybe I’d want one if I could understand what was in it!)…and after they tell me, I promptly forget the name of it, and I order a plain coffee (although I haven’t been there lately…not in love with coffee right so still drinking my 1/2 cup at home).
    #10 I’m with you on sleep–I was contemplating yesterday that maybe I should start getting up at 5 again. I am very productive at that time…but I’m just working so hard to even fight the hibernation urge!
    #12 Was that a slip of typing, or a slip of drinking?!?!
    #14 I’m a big fan of the do whatever the heck you want approach to blogging! I like reading your updates, no matter what day they may come on :-)

    I just dug my car out of the snow…and I hope we both get some flashes of sunlight today!
    Have a great day, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 13, 2012 at 7:35 am

      #2 – i’d love to hear what you think of the new shoe finder – i think it’s easier to personalize the options! try it out on joe! :) #10 – i agree re productivity…there is just something about that early, quiet time that encourages creativity! #12 – NO!!! i did not drink!! although i did state during the super bowl that a huge pop would go really good with the game… #14 – thanks, lisa! :)

  • Johanna  On February 13, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Perfect! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

