i won’t go blonde again + r.a.o.k.#1!

i’ve had a couple of chances, now, to try the new starbucks via blend that i picked up last week. menh, i’m not so impressed with its rather bland personality.

the "veranda" blend, aka blonde roast

it’s not bad, but it’s not very flavourfully strong like the other vias i enjoy. i’ll finish up the pacs i have, but in future, i will remain faithful to:

the colombia and italian roasts (i also really like the french)

it was worth a try to give the blonde a shot – now i know! [sidenote: it IS on my life bucket list to dye my hair platinum blond, some day. maybe before i go to see madonna in concert would be a good time, yes?].

~*~*~*~*~

now is the time that we get to the part of the blog post about which i am really excited! i had a chance to perform my first random act of kindness (r.a.o.k.) for the 12 days of kiki! and it happened completely as i had hoped these little gestures of niceness would – totally unplanned, and not grandiose in the least. here’s the story!

on monday, i had a couple of minutes to scoot into food basics before i started my shift at theOTHERstore. i was in line at the checkout with my few items (taster’s choice coffee -> $7.99 instead of $10.99 at valu! broccoli for $0.99! cereal for $3.99!) and there were a couple of people ahead of me. the guy right in front of me had a little girl, maybe two years old, with him. truth be told, i was getting a little antsy as i kept glancing at my watch because i had timed my trip a little close for comfort to the start of my shift, and was really hoping to pay asap, and get out of there (plus, for some reason, the store REEKED of cigarette smoke. i do not know if this is a regular thing for food basics or what, but man, was the stench strong).

well, wouldn’t you know it, the guy with the little girl had a small container of cream with no sku/bar code on it. he told the checkout clerk that it had been in the clearance bin. of course, she had to call her supervisor to see what to do about the price. so, she scanned the guy’s other items and had him pay for those – he paid with his debit card – while she awaited her supervisor’s arrival. i am standing there with my blood pressure mounting – i’ve told you how patience is not a virtue is a work in progress! finally the supervisor arrives and advises the checkout clerk to just charge the guy $2.49 for the cream. the guy reaches in his pocket and pulls out his cash and says, “oh, i only have $2.25.” bingo! i here was my chance at a r.a.o.k!!! i piped right up and said, “i’ll spot you the quarter!” well, i actually only had a loonie, but it filled the need. the guy was very grateful, and thanked me a couple of times.

to be perfectly honest, i was happy to help out…but, please also realize that i was feeling testy and couldn’t bear the thought of waiting for buddy to yet again haul out his debit card and do that whole transaction thing again. so, i guess, this r.a.o.k. was a bit self-serving…but it was still a nice thing to do! (right?!).

fyi – i did make it to work with time to spare!

i have a couple r.o.a.k.s in mind that involve planning, but i also want to be open to opportunities like this that present themselves with no warning. i generally don’t think fast on my feet, so this here! have-a-coin! scenario was a good opening opportunity!

~*~*~*~*~

not really related questions, but i am interested to know…

what’s the most amount of money you’ve ever found on the sidewalk/on the ground? i think mine is $5. or $20. i can’t remember!

will you stop and pick up a penny, if you see one? i will not. dad will. at my parents’ old house, dad kept a mason jar in the garage with all his “road find” money. that jar was pretty full! dad ->whatever happened to that cash?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Brenda  On February 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    $100 bill, on the Laurel trail, summer run 2011. :-) split it with Tracey cause she was running with me.
    I pick up all coins/bills, while running or walking. I like money. especially when it’s free.

  • Stephanie  On February 17, 2012 at 5:49 am

    But isn’t that one of the great things about being kind? When we’re kind to people, it comes back to us threefold. I won’t pick up found money unless it’s over a quarter. I guess I’m a found money snob. Ha! The most I’ve ever found was five bucks as a kid. I remember my heart racing because I was so excited!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 17, 2012 at 6:00 am

      money snob – i love it! for me, the coin has to be at least silver (nickel) – although i would stop for a loonie! it’s funny how money so excites us as kids – maybe because we don’t get to see it that often?!

  • Gina Unger  On February 16, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    i totally remember going out with your family and your mom saying “heads down. look for money!” b/c someone in the family had once found $10 or $20! I never forgot those lines and often repeat them (for fun!) when i’m out with the kids. i think i was even with you when you found some money when i came along with you to Canada’s Wonderland – remember those days?! :)
    good reminder to always keep eyes open for raok opportunities.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      oh, that is way too funny that you STILL remember my mom saying that! and it is so true! she says that to my dad, to this day! yes, *train* your children to keep their eyes open for potential $$! i have VERY fond memories of canada’s wonderland – i think we laughed all day long!

  • Lisa  On February 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Well, as long as you disclosed that you had a self-serving aspect of the raok….then it’s just fine! Either way, it was nice.
    I loved the story at christmas time about the people who were anonymously paying off peoples’ layaway accounts at kmart. I wanted to do it, but I chickened out. Next year I’m going to though! Or maybe I’ll just go do it randomly, not at christmas (although I like the idea of thinking I paid for kids to have a good christmas!).
    I’ve never found a significant amount of money on the ground, but I remember when my sister was in about 3rd grade, she went to an arts festival with a friend, and she took all her saved cash—about $22. She lost it. That was a very big crisis! I remember thinking how awful it was to lose THAT MUCH MONEY (I was 7).

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      wasn’t that kmart layaway story the best? i think it’d be so cool to do that, too. let’s remind each other next year! and i agree, it would be just that much more special to do that r.a.o.k. at christmas, and help some children have happier holidays. oh, your poor sister, losing her money! i bet she saved up for a while…and yes, when you are young, $20 is a veritable fortune!!

  • The Orchard  On February 16, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    My kids are always looking for money on the ground so therefore, I am always looking, too. It is a habit now. I will pick up money to give to the kids.

    Great RAOK!

    Ack! I just realized that I never sent you a response to your e-mail about coffee! I will send you a separate e-mail shortly! So sorry!

    T

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      oh yes, ANY found money is fun when you are a child, i think! no worries about the coffee idea -> i know you have a busy schedule! :)

  • Johanna B  On February 16, 2012 at 11:15 am

    I will absolutely pick up a penny. They can add up over time.

    I’m not sure how much I found at one time but it was several bills scattered on the grass.

    As for coffee, I like the darker roasts. This morning I opened a can of Folger’s Black Silk and loved it. I may have found my blend of choice. Haven’t tried the blonde at Starbucks. Probably won’t after your review.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2012 at 11:29 am

      i know, pennies do add up, you are so right…i think i should start picking them and start my own “found cash” jar a la my dad! seriously, do not get the blonde…i still have nine pacs and they’re really not enjoyable…i am with you on a dark roast. glad you found a good folgers there!!

  • Zo  On February 16, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Well, you did a r.a.o.k. that helped you out too…but so what? You still could have rolled your eyes, stared them down…given them “you’ve inconvenienced me to the utmost” blank expression face. You handled the situation nicely.
    I once found a 20 in a women’s room at a women’s hockey game. There was a woman in one of the stalls…and it was pretty funny..when she came out I asked her if she had dropped the 20…she said no and then encouraged me…”no..I didn’t drop it..thanks for asking (you did the right thing)…take it!!! So I bought a 1 dollar “cancer” bracelet that they were selling at the game to at least give some of it to charity.
    I sometimes pick up pennies depending on my mood. If it’s really shiny…looks old, etc.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 16, 2012 at 9:07 am

      a $20 bill is a good find – that was very kind of you to ask if it belonged to that woman – and kind of her to be honest about NOT dropping it! i love the positive karma of how you then made the bracelet purchase. paying it forward – that is good! (and still some $ left over for you!).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

