…because you HAVE to have a blog post dated leap year day!

since february 29th arrives but once every four years, i knew for sure that i wanted to chat with you this morning! we just must have a blog post dated leap year day, since we won’t get this chance for another four years! and who knows what the status of the kiki blog will be in 2016 (given the lightening speed with which technology advances, will we even be reading blogs four years from now? it’s fascinating to consider!).

let’s randomly visit over a variety of topics. we haven’t done that for a while.

the oscars

i watched 1.5 hours of the red carpet and 45 minutes of the actual awards show. in good ol’ siskel and ebert fashion, here are my picks ‘n’ pans…

thumbs up:
~ billy crystal should be the eternal host of the oscars. i love when they do that opening montage of take-offs on the nominated best movies. and although his song-and-dance number was cheesy, i found it funny. only billy crystal can make this type of entertainment work.

~ i am so happy that meryl streep won best actress! she is one of my favourite actors, and is so talented. i have not seen the iron lady, but would be keen to view it! [tangent: i said to mom that next year, i think i will make it a goal - or kikiproject? - to see every oscar-nominated movie before the february awards show].

~ my pick for best dress goes to penelope cruz:

(source)

penelope nailed it – hair, makeup, jewellery, dress, classy attitude…she scores 100%.

thumbs down:

~ the fact that the artist won best picture. i saw a preview for this silent movie when i went to see the descendants. i am sorry, but in this day and age, a silent movie should not win best picture. every time i see a clip or hear the title, all i can think of is going to mother’s pizza, when we were little. at this very popular pizzeria, they played silent movies up on a ceiling-mounted tv. part of the attraction of going to mother’s was viewing the old-time movies as we ate! (we never watched tv at the dinner table, in our family).

~ my darling george clooney did NOT win best actor – boo hoo. i say this not just because he is my sweet baboo – his performance in the descendants is one of the best of his career.

~ sandra bullock’s ponytail:

(source)

[anyone else want to place a bet as to whether or not sandra is sporting a fake ponytail hair extensions??].

i loved sandra’s gown, i admire her acting ability, i loved her breezy conversation on the red carpet…but the ponytail spoiled an otherwise A+ look. if she wanted to go with that hairstyle, the dress should have been of a different style.

the best part about watching the oscars this year? i did not have to stay up til the very, bitter end!!! (watching the entire show was one of my new experiences, last year!).

coffee conundrum

almost two months in to my switch from diet coke back to coffee, i am finding it very challenging to hit that happy zone where i enjoy an energy bump/wake-up after sipping my coffee vs feeling jittery and even downright anxious. i am perplexed!! i can stick to the same coffee-drinking schedule, and feel very different reactions on different days. i do not enjoy the “over the edge” days! yet, i can’t predict them! the bizarre thing is that diet coke did not affect me like this, at all. so i don’t know what to do. even decaf coffee can give me a shaky feeling! maybe i should switch to tea?? (i can get varieties with caffeine, i know). more research is needed. i will address the coffee subject again on march 9th when i do the two month kiki project review; maybe i will have some answers/conclusions by then.

so embarrassed

one day last week, i went to pull up the zipper on my winter jacket…and the pull tab came off in my hand. drat!

that paper clip is my temporary fix - so tacky!!

now, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the zipper itself. i just need some sort of new tab with which to zip and unzip my jacket – the paperclip, funny enough, works brilliantly, but i cannot bear to walk around with a paperclip on my jacket, long term. i have a solution in mind (a small piece of climbing rope, threaded through), but if that does not work, i will have to replace the whole zipper. i don’t want to get rid of the jacket – it’s columbia brand, several years old now, but i have never, ever been cold in it! plus, it’s my favourite orange!

a theme for march

my last monthly theme was back in december when we celebrated all christmas all the time. for march, we are going to focus on FUN. my desire is to have FUN, be FUN – out and about, at home, at work – as much as humanly possible! there is a difference between being happy and being nice (my current status, most of the time), and being FUN, having FUN. for example, coffee shop socials are such FUN! (good thing i have one lined up for tomorrow!) so that is the (rather vague, yes) goal for the next 31 days.

look at those lights!

the brother sent me these photos of some northern lights that he witnessed, first-hand:

wow.

awesome.

breathtaking.

pretty neat, eh? nature in its wondrous glory sure is something else.

i hope you have a great leap year wednesday! any special plans? i do not know of anyone celebrating a birthday today – do you?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On March 1, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    when we lived in taiwan one of the fathers there had a b’day on feb 29 so he had us figure out his riddle when he told us he was only “10 years old”! Hayes is born March 1st so he had to “wait an extra day” this year to get to his b’day. ;)
    awesome lights! i witnessed northern lights here in wpg a long time ago that were so spectacular i thought it must be something else. they were so many colours and spinning and dancing – but so silent, which is always the weird part. it always seems to me that music should be playing as you watch them! didn’t have a camera at the time so never took any pix, though. so sad. thank chris for taking pix for all of us!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 1, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      ah!! happy bday to hayes! can you believe you have a 6 year old?! in one of those “where were you” moments, i always remember that we were in aruba, and i was sitting at the outdoor bar, reading emails, when i got the email about baby hayes’ birth! i hope your family had a great day, today – esp hayes! :) that is awesome that you have seen northern lights – it must send shivers down your back to see them, live!

  • Nicole  On February 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    I know! I consider myself to be pretty “knowing” and “on the ball”, but when I read your blog, I said to Darren: “The Artist is a silent movie?”. He then proceeded to nod and look at me as though I had 6 heads because, clearly, I should have known this.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      haha! ok, you KNOW it’s bad when the husband knows something you do not!! i am sure this is the one and only time we will be able to *get* you, though! :)

  • Nicole  On February 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    I didn’t catch much of the Oscars this year- I was bored, as usual. I did catch a bit of the red carpet. Brad Pitt is my favourite-est ever. Sooooo, soooooo beautiful. Gwyneth Paltrow gets my vote for best dressed. She always looks so gorgeous and classy. I am stunned about the Artist for 2 reasons: first, I didn’t have a clue it was a silent movie and second, I agree, I cannot believe a silent movie one best picture. I actually cannot believe that I didn’t know about the silent part. Where have I been living? Usually I’m up-to-date on Oscar movies in some way.

    Here are some personal Oscar tidbits on my part: Oscar night 2008- I went into labour with Carys. Oscar night 2009, I found out I was expecting another baby!!! Crazy, eh?

    Sorry to hear about your coffee conundrum. I hope you figure it out soon.

    BTW, those northern lights are amazing!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      gwyneth looked so regal. and she had her hair pulled back, too, but it suited her and her gown much more than sandra’s did. you make me laugh with your brad pitt love! and i can’t believe the coincidence of two baby-related happenings on oscar night! nicole, you have proven to be my #1 source for the latest and greatest (iphone, pinterest, mrs january, as examples)…so i must tease you about not knowing the artist was silent! that’s ok, i know you will have new info for me next time we meet up! :)

  • Ali  On February 29, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    I’m supposed to do the 20 min challenge today at the other store. I was already outside 5+ hours today. This weather is brutal!

    Someone I know had a grandson born today. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      ali!! you poor thing! i do not blame you for not wanting to be outside any more today…even 20 minutes!! it is so damp and plain icky out there! maybe you can get someone to pick up your toque for you?? i am not 100% sure you can do that, but it’s worth a try! that is FUN that someone you know welcomed a new baby into the family!! i think a feb 29th birthday brings good fortune! :)

  • Lisa  On February 29, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    No special plans for me. I don’t know anyone with a bday today, but I did hear on the radio about babies being born today—they listed their names and stuff. I thought that was kinda fun.

    Interesting about the coffee…now, my first thought is that it’s not caffeine-related, since decaf can make you feel icky too! You know where I’m going with this? Are you eating your sugary cereals within a few hours (before of after) the coffee? Blood sugar peaks and valleys can feel a lot like overdoing it on caffeine. Just a shot in the dark!

    I didn’t watch the oscars…but that ponytail is horrendous!

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      that is neat re the babies being announced on the radio. i wonder what the percentage is between parents who WANT their child born today, and those who do not?!! thanks so much for putting on your thinking cap re the coffee. i do not believe the coffee is linked to cereal because cereal is my end-of-day snack and i never have coffee (decaf) past about 4 pm…but you could be on to something with the blood sugar levels! thanks, lisa!

  • Johanna B  On February 29, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I would so love to see the aurora borealis or even the aurora australis live in person someday.

    I didn’t watch the Oscars but I did watch the recaps the next morning. I love Meryl Streep too. I’m glad Christopher Plummer won his first. I’ve had a minor star crush on him since Sound of Music.

    I watched a Meryl Streep movie Saturday evening. I’d seen it before so it doesn’t count toward my 26 for 2012. It was The Devil Wears Prada. It’s sooo funny.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 10:34 am

      i hope you get to fulfill your travel dream, johanna! and i am super impressed with your use of the technical terms instead of “pretty natural lights!” oh, the devil wears prada is SUCH a great movie for so many reasons, but to a large extent, meryl! did you know christopher plummer is 82?! and yes, to me, he will always be the father in the sound of music. can’t wait to hear what your next movie is for your 2012 movie-watching goal!

  • Juanita  On February 29, 2012 at 8:20 am

    Thank you for the memory today of Mother’s Pizza!

    And I wanted to pass along a special Feb 29th treat. If you go to David’s Tea today they will give you a free large tea!! How about that for a Leap Year treat.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 9:43 am

      haha, i am happy that you enjoyed the mother’s reference, juanita! i think that was the go-to celebration place for our circle of families in the stanley park area! THANK YOU for the FYI re david’s tea!!! due to the weather, my plans for today have changed, and i am in waterloo – i will head there this aft!! hope YOU get a chance to enjoy a free tea, too!

  • Zo  On February 29, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Happy leap day! It never occurred to me how special a feb 29 post would be and doubt I’ll manage it today.
    I love fun as a theme for march!
    And here’s where I disagree with you! I saw “the artist” on Sunday and it really was excellent (I definitely liked it more than descendants…). The silence didn’t come across as gimmicky and it was amazing to realize what the actors could convey with facial expressions and body language! But, that’s just me…

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 9:42 am

      thank you for your review of “the artist,” zo! i do have to admit that i am basing my impressions on the preview, so i appreciate hearing your feedback since you saw the whole movie! i am glad to hear you were impressed with the acting! due to a change in plans, i am going to be able to go a movie tonight – either “the artist” or “the iron lady.” i will let you know tomorrow which one!

  • Stephanie  On February 29, 2012 at 5:21 am

    Those northern lights are breathtaking! I have seen northern lights in a decade, and I’ve only ever seen them in white…never colours. Where did he see those? And yes, I agree with you about the ponytail. Out of the movies that were nominated for best picture, I only saw Hugo (which I loved). (Ummmm…Hugo WAS nominated, right? I might be wrong.) In general, I’m ashamed to admit that I wasn’t really interested in seeing any of the others. And the Artist? Maybe I’m short-sighted, but the idea of a silent film doesn’t interest me in the least.

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 29, 2012 at 6:30 am

      yes! hugo was nominated! i know that because i know nothing about that film, so i didn’t *get* the references! i am glad “the artist” does not interest you, either…i feel like a grump for being negative, but i just don’t get the appeal…and the fact that it WON best picture!! those lights were in finland!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

