missing my palm trees

ahhhh!...

a year ago today, i left for aruba. here is the blog post for that travel day! the strongest memory is of the trip from waterloo to the airport – thanks to ice rain and *perfect* temps, it was the most harrowing and nerve-wracking drive down the 401 of my life, no exaggeration. let’s all sit and sigh as we gaze upon the loveliness…

hello, blue sky!

hello, divi tree!

hel-LO, sunshine!!

i do not know when i shall return to my favourite tropical paradise. i DO know i love everything about aruba – if you ever get the chance to travel to this tiny island in the caribbean, take it!

…ok, one last shot of heaven!…

well, guess what – this movie hugely surpassed my expectations! she is cute, he is hunky, the story tugs at the heart…it is a good one. i was quite captivated, and was sorry when the movie ended – the time flew! i give “the vow” *** (three stars) and *** 1/2 (three point five) stars if we only consider it for the chic flick genre. if you have not seen “the vow,” go!

vacation down south: would you choose cruise or resort? in january, some running friends went on cruise to run – they had a blast! i am not picky. i will take any holiday that involves sun and HEAT!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On March 5, 2012 at 8:36 am

    ah, aruba! we did the opposite of that this weekend and had a ski weekend! :)
    can’t wait to see “the vow” now that i know about it! i LOVE rachel mcadams and the guy does look hunky though i’ve never heard of him.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 5, 2012 at 9:51 am

      gina, the vow is totally your type of movie. you will LOVE IT!! i can’t wait to hear more about your ski weekend! i hope you all had a fabulous time!!

  • Zo  On March 4, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I’ve never done a resort or a cruise (never been to the islands)…both have their appeal. Warm breezes and palm trees sound lovely though (and this hasn’t even been a rough winter!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 4, 2012 at 9:36 am

      i know – this *winter* has been the best! (never thought i would use “winter” and “best” in the same sentence!). glad ny state has experienced similar conditions! well, maybe one of these years you will go south, zo! you pretty much can’t go wrong with any of the caribbean islands, imo! (yes i did that acronym on purpose for you – haha!).

  • Stephanie  On March 4, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Just yesterday JP and i decided that we want to go south next week. Aruba’s a bit out of our price range, but – if all goes well – we’ll be sitting on a beach sometime next week. I haven’t seen The Vow yet, but it’s on my list! I’m going to wait until I can watch it at home.

    • Stephanie  On March 4, 2012 at 8:19 am

      And for us, resort will always trump cruise. I get seasick, and my husband got his fill of ships in four years in the navy. So cruises really don’t interest us at all!

      • 1970kikiproject  On March 4, 2012 at 8:24 am

        oh, how fantastic, stephanie!! enjoy your time away next week. and i can understand why a resort, not a cruise, is better for you! i DID feel the up and down on the cruise ship, despite its massive size…it’s just not the same as having your feet on solid land! yes – put “the vow” on your at-home list. not sure if it will be JP’s thing?!!…

      • Stephanie  On March 4, 2012 at 8:30 am

        JP actually likes chick flicks a lot more than I do. Ha!

  • Lisa  On March 4, 2012 at 6:55 am

    waaaaaahhhhhhh! I love vacays…to the beach. I know, you know that—I just had to say it for emphasis. I would never go on a cruise on purpose (I’m quite sure I never will, but I’m worried if I say that, then somehow I’ll have to). The thought of a cruise sounds awful to me–I would rather just fly to one place and park myself on the beach.

    I’ve been looking forward to hear what you thought about the movie—good to know that it was good (hunky and heart string tugging are high on my list).

    Hope your weekend is great, Cathy!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 4, 2012 at 7:49 am

      yes, we are true soul sisters when it comes to loving a beach atmosphere, lisa!! the actor, channing tatum, was new to me – i’d go see him again , any time! definitely, grab a girlfriend and go out for a movie night! :)

  • Masala Chica  On March 4, 2012 at 6:35 am

    I would love to just go on a tropical island somewhere. The idea of being stuck on a cruise scares me a little. Though I am easily scared so that means nothing. If I did cruise, it would be a music festival kind of cruise I think….

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 4, 2012 at 7:53 am

      a music festival-themed cruise would be such fun! and i bet you could find one somewhere! the nice thing about a cruise is that you really don’t have to think/worry too much about getting on/off the ship – it’s so organized. and you can always choose to remain on-board. glad you are a fan of tropical islands, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

