i love it when i’m right

please pardon the more-than-slightly obnoxious title for today’s post. but it’s an entirely true and accurate statement for today’s main story!

remember back here when i gave an enthusiastic thumbs up to the new redesign of the runner’s world shoe finder? i loved how the new yes/no q & a chart suggests a wider range of running shoe options:

(you can now find that flowchart online here, at the runner’s world website; at the time of my initial mention, the chart was not available online).

back in february i posed the question of whether the store would follow suit and revamp our colour-coded shoe wall:

an example of our old shoe tags - yellow tags defined our neutral/cushioned shoe category (blue was for stability shoes and red tags indicated motion control shoes)

honestly, i had an inkling [which i expressed to manager paul – i have a witness!] that at some point in the near future, we would be seeing a shoe wall overhaul.

on friday, i was proven RIGHT!! we received brand new tags for our shoe wall…

all tags are now BLACK!

i absolutely am 100% thrilled with this shoe wall redesign! the all-black tags make the wall look clean and more professional:

the view from afar!

here’s a close-up of a new tag:

we'll put the spotlight on the women's mizuno wave inspire 8!

under the old system, this shoe would have had a blue (stability) tag. if you take a peak at the right hand side, above the price (U.S. friends, i am betting this shoe costs a lot less for you) you will see three blurry words:

  • cushioning
  • stability
  • weight

each shoe receives a rating of 1-5 for each of those categories:

for cushioning, a 1 would be a shoe with very little cushioning (like track spikes or vibrams) while a 5 would be the ultimate in softness and comfort (like an asics nimbus or a nike vomero).

for stability, a neutral (yellow tag) shoe is a 1 or 2, while a 3 or 4 indicates a stability (blue tag) shoe, and a 5 designates a motion control (red tag) shoe.

for weight, our resident experts weighed a men’s size 9 shoe; if the shoe was over 11 ounces, it’s got a ranking of 5, 10-11 ounces is a ranking of 4, 9-10 ounces equals a 3, 7-9 ounces is a 2, and less than 7 ounces is a 1.[glad they figured that out for us!].

let's look at the saucony triumph 9 - the upper-end neutral shoe from saucony

in this example, you can see that the triumph 9 gets a rating of FIVE for cushioning (as a more expensive shoe, you are getting more cushioning, better quality cushioning, so the five rating makes total sense), ONE for stability (it is a neutral shoe so there is no reinforcement through the arch, at all). and FOUR for weight (saucony shoes are not known for their lightness).

compare the triumph 9 to the nike free!…

ah, the nike free run 2...can you believe i still do not own you, beautiful shoe that you are with those fantastically awesome colours!!!

look how much less cushioned (only a TWO rating) and LIGHT it is! that’s a minimalist shoe for you!

so, like i said, i am totally pumped to work with this new system. and i am thumping my chest that i saw it coming!

~*~*~*~*~

here’s another thing i was right about: the impactful effect of starbucks coffee on my system. it’s now been ten days since my last cup of starbucks via coffee, and i have had not one moment of where the WHEEEEEEE!!! feeling of a coffee jolt has turned into more of an EEEEEKK over-the-top case of the jitters and/or anxiety. taster’s choice instant, i am sticking with you. starbucks, i will enjoy you in-store – as a decaf! – but via pacs, you are not coming home with me any more!

~*~*~*~*~

remember when i went to carrie’s book launch for the juliet stories? the toronto globe and mail reviewed her novel-in-stories (here is that review) in this past saturday’s newspaper. national exposure like this is a major achievement! way to go, carrie! (acclaim for a neighbourhood + mennonite author – we like that).

~*~*~*~*~

how did you choose your current pair of running shoes? of course, i am hoping you will say you shopped at a specialty running store…and i will grin even more widely if it was a certain running store!

canadians: have you won a coffee yet at tim horton’s for roll up the rim? i am 1/1 but i have yet to cash in my free coffee – timmie’s is not as convenient as s’bux for me to get to!

did you remember to turn your clocks ahead? yes – i sprung ahead early saturday eve (i am always paranoid i will forget). so, i went to bed an hour earlier than usual…and could not fall asleep. so i lost an hour sleep, anyway!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On March 18, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I’m in the market for new shoes right now! thought about it on my run this morning. I’ve been running in Nike Frees since August. 5 miles or less. but I’m going to be training soon for 1/2 marathon #3 and I’m not sure yet what type of shoe I want to train & run in…hmmmm. but yes, I will be going to a specialty running store for the purchase. I wish I could come to yours! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 18, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      ah!! that is always exciting to begin a new training cycle! vancouver will be such a blast of an experience for you, dorry! yes, i wish you could buy shoes here – it’d be so fun to try out options and see what would work for you! glad the frees have been such a good choice, so far, and yes, you may need something with a bit more cushioning for longer distance runs?? let me know what you end up purchasing, please!

  • Lisa  On March 12, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I’m so glad you were right about so many things :-)
    Always a good feeling!

    Interesting you brought up running shoes….I was in TJMaxx today (do you guys have those?), and they had MY shoes that I’ve been wearing for 4 years for $40! It’s probably last year’s version (Mizuno Wave X10 is this one), but I’m saving $55… and I’m tempted to go back and get another pair. I started with these after getting an assessment at a running store–they told me what shoes would be best, and when I bought the Mizunos all my feet/leg issues went away.

    Most of my clocks re-set themselves, so I didn’t worry too much about it…and joe was up at 4 this morning to go on the road for an investigation, so I got up then…..I’m waiting for the time change and the extra early morning to catch up with me!

    Hope you’re getting the same great weather we are!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      WOW!! that is a GREAT deal on the mizuno’s, lisa!! you were in the right place at the right time! sadly, we do not have tjmaxx – i think our “winners” would be the closest equivalent (and i am totally jealous when bloggers talk about tjmaxx). so glad mizunos work for you – they are light, eh?! it’s rainy now but this march break week is going to FABULOUS!!! like, almost florida temps by thursday! enjoy your evening! auto reset clocks are the best!!!

  • Johanna  On March 12, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    I’m loving my Ghost’s and bought them from a certain very helpful Running Room employee who I’ll go back to when the time comes! :) I can’t get over how they breathe! I was out running errands the other day with them on and a rather brisk wind whipped up and it took me a minute to realize that my feet were feeling breezy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      oh, you sure know how to make a girl feel good, my friend! i am so glad the ghosts are a good fit for you and that you are enjoying them! breezy feet will be nice as the weather heats up over the next few months!

  • Sue  On March 12, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Current Running Shoes – The only place in town that you can get shoes and exchange knitting project info ;-)
    Tim’s – not a fan of the coffee, don’t eat donuts. Not much of a draw there for me
    Clocks – didn’t have to be anywhere so took care of it when I woke up. There was the year that there were 4 of us standing outside our favourite specialty running store wondering why we were the only runners. We went for coffee and came back an hour later to find the rest of the gang.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 11:10 am

      …and you are a saucony gal, if i remember correctly, sue! yesterday there was a “regular” who phoned in saying she forgot to set her alarm, just woke up and tell her friends to go without her! starbucks for you, too, i remember!

  • karen at virtually there  On March 12, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Hah! How did I choose my current pair of running shoes?… I read your rave reviews of the Nike Frees and went down to my local Running Room and bought that pair that you have pictured above. LOVE them. LIke wearing slippers that you can run in. And my Girl Guides think they’re hilarious.

    I despise Tim Horton’s coffee but really like their steeped tea. However, I only go on a road trip. However, I’ve “won” two free Starbucks drinks in the past week. The first one was through a card mailed to me after accruing enough points through my Starbucks card (thanks, John!). The second was through one of the random surveys they occasionally give out at the case. Saving that one for a future trip and a decadent drink. I’m big into the Cinnamon Dolce Latte (decaf) at the moment.

    With three kids, we’re totally on top of all time changes etc. Although I miss that hour of sleep on the day it happens, it is SO much easier to adjust kids to Spring Forward than it is to Fall Back. We’re back on schedule already.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 10:54 am

      so glad to hear your kidlets have aleady adjusted to spring ahead, karen! makes your life *a bit* easier! wow – nice work with the free s’bux! i have to laugh at your comment that you won a drink thru a survey – blog commenter zo blogged about those requests to complete surveys, and i said i never do them…i should change my ways! that is FABULOUS that you love your frees, and again, i am laughing at how you got them – i do remember that story, now! they are amazing shoes!

  • Johanna B  On March 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I walk on the outer sides of my feet (badly). My shoes wear down on that side fairly quickly. The last pair I bought was a Ryka walking shoe. I like Ryka shoes. I try to buy white or black because I wear them everyday to work which is sad with all the rockin colors that are out now. Wish I could afford to have several pairs.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 10:30 am

      ah! now, there is no shoe that corrects for supination (ie walking on the outside of your feet) – you need to just stick with a neutal shoe. glad the ryka shoes are working for you! and you are right – some of the colours that are appearing this season are amazing! we just got the adidas boston 3 shoes and they are ORANGE and YELLOW for women!

  • Zo  On March 12, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Good topic and now I’m going to take advantage of your expertise! I usually buy my running shoes at DSW which is a big shoe outlet store…so, it’s me trying things on and going by feel (I can tell you I like cushioning and I have been using Sauconys for a while [I switched to asics at one point, and back again].. For the better part of the last year, I have been rocking a purple [big] toenail. Do you think going to a running store and talking to someone might help…or is this something that just happens sometimes no matter what the shoe?
    We changed our clocks on Saturday night! But, I had a moment yesterday where I thought it was two instead of three because i didn’t change my watch!.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 9:27 am

      yes, it’s confusing as to which devices switch the time themselves (computer, blackberry etc) and which we need to do manually! clocks, watches…too much to remember! ooo, thanks for a shoe question! :) if you like saucony and they have been working for you, stick with saucony. black toenails are usually due to a too-small toe box area. now, saucony DOES have one of the widest/roomiest toe boxes available, so you may wish to go up half a size in your shoe with your next purchase. HOWEVER, avoid having a “shimmying” in your toe box – you don’t want TOO much room! you may raise your toe when you run which could also give the black toenail. personally, i do not mind as they don’t hurt and they show you are training but it is NOT the best look with sandal season coming up! :)

      • Zo  On March 12, 2012 at 9:38 am

        Thanks! Exactly. I was looking at shoes yesterday, which brought the purple toenail issue to the fore! I had the purple before and it went away when I switched shoes. This time it developed when I bought size 7 shoes instead of my usual 7,5,,,but I got 7,5s and it’s still there…maybe it’s just one of those,,7 is too small…7.5 too roomy (I could definitely feel the difference in the toe box).

      • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 9:44 am

        it could be that the latest size 7.5 is an updated model and due to the shape of the toe box, it is affecting your nail…sometimes you have to move up or down half a size. always stand in a neutral position, and make sure you can put half a thumb to a thumb width between your toe and the end of the shoe!

  • The Orchard  On March 12, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I have won 5 or 6 times with Tim’s now, but it is not hard to do if you go daily like I do! Tim’s is easier for me to go to if I am in the car and I have the kids with me!

    We forgot to change our clocks! But we both ran in the morning so it didn’t really affect our plans anyways!

    Enjoy the week. I “think” I can meet on Saturday – let me double check with Jeff and get back to you!

    Cheers!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 12, 2012 at 8:24 am

      you are doing well with roll up the rim, tricia! if saturday works for you, maybe we better meet at TH! haha! yes, maybe *they* plan the time change for sat eve so if you DO forget, you have sunday to get back on track – ie not a work day?! glad you both got out to enjoy the gorgeous weather with a run!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

