salmon swimming

last evening, andrea and i met up at the princess twin to see this movie:

(source)

here‘s the synopsis from the princess website!

here’s andrea and me!

ok, a bit of a miss on sandwiching the film title between us! oh well!

when i first had seen the movie poster outside the cinema building, my interest was captured by the fact that emily blunt and kristin scott thomas were main actors. i’ve admired kristin scott thomas since i first saw her in four weddings and a funeral [how can that film be from 1994, already?!], and i’ve been a fan of emily blunt since the devil wears prada.

andrea and i both loved this charming and delightful movie. it has all the ingredients of a winning film: breath-taking scenery; intrigue and drama; passion and sorrow; gentle humour and laugh-out-loud moments; questionable politics; take-home life lessons; skilled acting, and highly likeable characters. emily blunt (so pretty!), kristin scott thomas (so funny!) and ewan mcgregor (so endearing! – and, first movie i have seen him in) are each just wonderful in their respective roles. i can highly recommend this little gem! it earns a solid *** out of a possible **** stars in the kiki movie-rating system!

**eta: andrea and i were laughing because neither of us could remember the name of this movie, all week long…for today’s blog post title, i honestly thought i was giving you the first two words of the movie’s real title – i obviously thought wrong!

~*~*~*~*~

i got me my aviators!!!

just in time - it was a sunny sunday!

i lucked out at smart set at conestoga mall yesterday, during my outing with mom (and thanks, mom, for the treat!). i wore them all around the rest of sunday (well, not in the movie). i think they will be my signature look for summer 2012!

next up: the peacock feather earrings!

~*~*~*~*~

what actors draw you into seeing a movie? i also would see practically anything (except a war movie) featuring helen mirren, meryl streep, or julia roberts. i’ll leave men out of the equation, today – esp since it’s such (yawn) old news that i ♥ george clooney and tom cruise!

has there been a phase in your life where you have felt like a salmon swimming upstream? i’d say i more relate to feeling like a fish out of water – and that would date back to grades 7-11, roughly. i clearly remember feeling like a misfit, at times, and of being unsure how to act in a social group with my peers – just the typical teenage angst! can’t say i miss that life phase! i’ve never been one to aggressively buck the trend, so to speak, so that metaphor of swimming upstream doesn’t resonate with me all that much.

congratulations all you around the bay-ers!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On March 27, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I’m with you – I’ve loved Emily Blunt since the Devil Wears Prada. she’s fabulous! and I love your aviators. I bought a pair on the street in NYC last August for $5, and I still love them. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 27, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      $5?!!? what a great deal! emiy blunt was just as good in this film, too…although different personality this time around!

  • Lisa  On March 26, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Love the aviators!

    The movie sounds good—I like Kristin Scott too!
    I think I felt like a fish swimming upstream (or, really, a misfit) from about 6th grade till I was about 23. The older I got, the better it started to get, but I always seemed to find myself in situations where I didn’t fit in—I’m glad that I figured out I don’t mind not fitting in!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 26, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      yes! thank you for that observation, lisa – as we get older, we ARE more confident about NOT being a cookie-cutter copy of “most other people.” that is a benefit of moving along in life! i think you’d like the movie…it was just a good evening’s entertainment and warmed the heart.

  • strivingcynic  On March 26, 2012 at 11:42 am

    I just started seeing ads for that movie! Love your title.
    I don’t really have a “must see” actor…although George clooney’s are usually pretty good.
    I definitely feel the upstream feelin sometimes! Like I’m running just to be in the same place (and not on the treadmill). I also had an out-of-water phase in my teens.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 26, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      have you seen “the descendants” yet, zo? it’s george at his finest! ah, those teen years…definitely a challenging life phase!

  • 42kim  On March 26, 2012 at 9:15 am

    I love the glasses. They look great on you!
    Actors: Colin Firth
    Fish out of water: yup, when I first moved to Waterloo almost 4 yrs ago. It was very disorienting. I didn’t know anyone and I could never figure out which direction I was going.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 26, 2012 at 9:25 am

      thanks, kim! i can wear the glasses again today, with this wonderful sunshine! oh, k-w can be confusing – where else do you have king street north, south, east and west!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

