coffee and….just sitting

yesterday, i finally checked off a longstanding item (over a month!) on my to do list [i started work at 4 pm, so had the day to fritter away]. unfortunately, completing said task did not include plugging in the vacuum cleaner nor picking up the windex. fortunately, the outing was way more FUN than tackling cleaning chores! [dust will always be there, right?!].

i took myself to my nearest tim horton’s…

a perfect day for aviators! (please note that it took approx seventeen poses before i could capture some signage in the background)

…and finally cashed in my roll-up-the-rim free coffee that i won back on family day when at TH with sarah. now, normally, i would take a beverage like this home with me to enjoy with knitting and blog reading. however, my ‘hood’s timmies is just far enough away that sloshing six blocks up the sidewalk with a hot coffee in hand is not that appealing an idea. so, i decided to just sit in the coffee shop and drink my coffee at a relaxed pace.

[tangent story: i have to interrupt my word flow to share this anecdote. so i get up to the cash register, camera in hand, because i HAD to take a photo – you will see it in a moment. the girl at the cash says to me, “can i ask why you’re taking a picture?” to which i gave my honest reply: “because i think it’s very funny that the chocolate chip muffins are all sold out and the low-fat cranberry muffins are overflowing the basket.” then the girl says, ” you’re not supposed to take photos of our product.” and i said, “oh, i’m sorry.” and proceeded to snap this shot:

don't you find that funny, too, that the choco chip are all gone and the *healthy* muffins are all sitting there??!

ok! now i know that tim horton’s does not allow photos! bizarre. end of tangent].

we’ve got a little cold spell going on right now, so hot coffee was appropriate. last week, it was just too hot to desire a mid-day hot beverage!

as luck would have it, someone left the march 2012 copy of oxygen in our condo lending library yesterday morning! so i took the magazine along with me:

note the coffee cup size...

[that will teach me to be greedy: i could not even finish that extra-large. hey, it was a free coffee - i wanted to get the most out of my win. but i practically floated home. good thing it was decaf or i would have been overly zing'd, for sure!].

i used to subscribe to oxygen, but have not really read it for a good 7-8 years now. it was fun to look through! the magazine has a different air to it than when i got it regularly. can’t say i am left feeling compelled to sign up for home delivery again, but it was a fun way to pass some time.

note the twitter and facebook icons - interactive, online references were not a part of paper magazines a few years ago

before leaving, i just sat at the table for a few minutes and looked out the window, thinking deep thoughts letting my mind wander:

not the most exciting view. at least the sun was out!

i can’t say i solved any of the world’s major issues (will we ever see cheap gas prices again??) but it was a peaceful and enjoyable few minutes of thoughtful contemplation and general happiness.

sadly, i did not win another free something...

on my way home, i stopped and looked in the window of the newest coffee shop in uptown:

DVLB stand for "death valley's little brother," the name of the coffee bar; due to the sun, i could not get a pic of the front window without extreme glare!

from the looks, it’s got a very indy, hip vibe. [if any local wants to meet up at dvlb to try out their coffee, lmk!].

~*~*~*~*~

i’m so proud of mom and dad!

on monday, they went out and replaced their cell phone with the newest blackberry bold. i think it’s really cool when people of an older established generation remain hip with the times, signing up for these newfangled communication devices. i’m reminded of my dear grandpa c – way back when home computers were becoming something that “everyone had,” grandpa decided to get one, too. and he took a course so that he would know how to use it. gramps was at least into his 70s, at this time, and even back then, i remember being impressed with his positive attitude and eagerness to learn something new. i agree wholeheartedly with the philosophy of being a life-long learner. so, thumbs up, mom and dad!

when’s the last time you just sat? i’ll tell you that i find it very challenging to just sit. i much prefer to be knitting while watching tv, or being the one driving the vehicle when on the road.

what’s something new you would like to learn? i would like to learn to zumba! it sounds so FUN! at this time, i have no desire to learn another language, learn to cook, or pick up a musical instrument. i would like to advance my technological abilities. it won’t be too long into the future when i am sure little e will be helping aunti learn a thing or two about electronic devices!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On April 1, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    good for you for “just sitting”! that is a hard thing for me to do, too. i just laughed my head off about you saying sorry and then taking a picture anyhow! i, also, was told to not take pictures in our local grocery store (by some young punk) a few years ago… made a book about our trips to the grocery store anyway with all my photos AND brought it TO our store to show it off to the employees there! (well, not to “stick in the mud guy” but the ones that i featured in the book – they’re the ones we’ve come to call our friends.) so yeah, i laughed about your tangent – a lot!
    re: zumba… i never want to do that again! ahead of time, i thought i’d really like it, but i actually hated it! i laughed a lot during the class just to get thru it (was with a bunch of friends) but i couldn’t stand the unorthodox, unregimented way of doing exercise. i like my 8-count aerobics or step classes thank you very much! :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 2, 2012 at 6:04 am

      oh, if you had been with me at that moment, we would have been out-of-control laughing, for sure! i am not a rebel, but i wanted my photo!! too funny that you had a similar experience at the grocery store. thanks for the warning re zumba! yes, i will have to put my aerobics comparisons behind me and go with an open mind. at least you had friends to laugh with, during your experience!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 1, 2012 at 8:55 am

    I’m with you on Zumba! I keep trying to find a local class but they’re all too far away or too expensive. It looks like such fun and supposedly very good for you. I love the idea of just sitting. Does it count if I’m just sitting and reading?! ;-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 1, 2012 at 8:58 am

      i so agree that zumba looks like a blast – and too fun to be so good for you, too! sitting and reading is so relaxing, too. you can get caught up in your fictional world and just tune out the real world!

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On March 29, 2012 at 9:36 am

    haha – I’ve gotten in trouble for taking pictures many times in my life, usually on travels. Whole Foods is always a no-no, and the NYC public library. ;) I try to just SIT on my break at work some days, but even while sitting, I’m usually doing a million little tasks. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2012 at 9:50 am

      thank you for the heads up on WF picture policy, dorry! …although i don’t think knowing this fact will stop me from trying! and that is very interesting that photos are banned in the nyc library! gtood luck with your packing today – you will not be doing much “just sitting” in the next week!

  • Kate  On March 29, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I want to go to that new hipster coffee shop with you when we go on our coffee date Easter weekend! Called it! haha…

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 29, 2012 at 9:08 am

      awesome!!! i would love to go there with you – i think the vibe suits us both!! apparently it’s a whiskey and coffee bar – you do the whiskey and i’ll do the coffee?!! :)

  • Lisa  On March 28, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    There’s so many things I want to comment on in this post!
    First, I think it’s hilarious that the choco chip muffins are gone! It’s also funny they don’t want you to take pics. One of my clients took pics in Trader Joes to send me evidence that she was a genius because she had the idea that the produce section of wegmans (our store) should label what nutrients are in each fruit/veg—and what they do (like: high in vitamin C to boost your immune system!). TJ’s was already doing it, so she wanted proof that it was a good idea…and they not only asked her not to take pics, but they followed her around after that!
    An XL coffee sounds funny to me—I think I may throw up (maybe not, but I’d definitely be jittery!) if I drank all that! I threw out half a tea and half an iced coffee at starbucks today (I was there a long time)…what a waste! But I did sit there and use their wifi for 4.5 hours…so I’ll just look at it as a fee.
    I am currently trying to get my mom to get a new phone. She needs to upgrade, and I lectured her on having to change with changing times or she will just become a dinosaur. My 87 yr old gpa got a computer when he was 75—I helped him buy it, and also trained him on how to use it. Wow–that was frustrating, but I’m glad it gives him something to do!

    I have not just sat lately. I want to. It’s now on my list!

    Hope you have a fabulous Thursday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      thanks for the lovely visit here, lisa! i think you need to schedule ‘just sitting’ time in the sauna asap! good for your g’pa! and good for you for helping him, even though it exercised your patience! yes – free wifi at s’bux is worth the necessary purchases…you should see this TH coffee – i think it’s bigger than anything at s’bux….even in the states (the U.S. “supersizes” more than canada, i have noticed!). that is too funny about the trader joe’s camera policy – yes, i half expected the cashier to grab my camera and delete the photo! i was feeling very proud to walk away with only a “scolding,” and the photo intact! i like that idea of labelling the veggies, too! haha, can you imagine if they posted “clogs your arteries” beside the potato chips!? :)

  • Johanna B  On March 28, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Not only will the dust still be there – it will have brought its friends.

    I would like to learn to crochet. I used to do counted cross stitch but now I have to use a magnifying glass to read the patterns. Maybe I could do crochet with old eyes.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 11:28 am

      oh, i do encourage you to try your hand at crochet, johanna! it would be easier on the eyes, and i don’t think it’s too complex. i love the look of the “granny squares,” if you know what i mean, that you can crochet. i would love a blanket or a skirt in wild colours – so bohemian! i do not crochet, like you, so we would both need to learn how! (youtube to the rescue??!).

  • Stephanie  On March 28, 2012 at 10:19 am

    I don’t want cheaper gas. I want whoever is blocking the technology for gas-free cars to STOP. With the technology that exists now, it’s impossible that we still have no choice but to rely on gas-powered cars. And it kind of makes me ragey.

    I love your aviator glasses, though! Free coffee, free magazine, free afternoon…sounds just about perfect.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 11:05 am

      vent away on the gas issue, stephanie! getting back to a theme from earlier this week – fighting gas-powered cars is like a salmon swimming upstream! :) the word “ragey” is a current favourite – thank you for including it. the coffee shop was lovely … but i still prefer a coffee + a social visit!

  • The Orchard  On March 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I don’t often get a chance to just sit. I guess I am doing that now on the computer and there are no kids here with me! I’ll take it!

    Something new that I want to learn? I would LOVE to learn how to play the fiddle! That is a goal of mine! I want to try Zumba, too! It sounds fun!

    Enjoy today – it looks like it will be sunny again!

    Tricia :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 9:33 am

      yes! isn’t this sunshine wonderful! wow – sunshine and a quiet moment to yourself…do enjoy, tricia! maybe they’ll offer free zumba in waterloo town square some time! haha!

  • Juanita  On March 28, 2012 at 8:20 am

    Honestly, your blog has made me want to learn to knit! :-)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 8:57 am

      that is cool, juanita! you realize some knitting projects are very transportable – like when you’re waiting for children during their gymastics/music/swimming classes! check out “shall we knit” on willow street – if you see the amazing yarns and colours, you will be even more interested!!

  • 42kim  On March 28, 2012 at 8:01 am

    I want to check out that coffee shop too. It was described to me as a “Coffee and Whisky bar”. Let me know when you have a free hour and we can check it out!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 8:58 am

      you’re on, kim! let’s be in touch! the front glass was so dark, i could not even see inside to really get an idea of decor…although it looks like they have a funky wooden/communal table!

  • strivingcynic  On March 28, 2012 at 7:58 am

    Just sitting sounds like heaven, but I know I get antsy when I try to.
    Hmmm. I think it says something that I can’t come up with a ‘just for fun’ response…I always want to think it all through! Something for me to work on (ha).

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 28, 2012 at 8:59 am

      yea…about 37 seconds of “just sitting” is enough, right?! it’s a good concept! maybe we can both work on this!!

  • Anonymous  On March 28, 2012 at 5:53 am

    I also ordered a XL with my (one and only) winning roll up the rim. It’s the principle of the matter, isn’t it!?

    Congrats to Marnie and Erv on their new purchases!

    • Andrea  On March 28, 2012 at 5:55 am

      oops – forgot to fill in my name. It’s Andrea! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

