egg-cellent

the humble egg is a nutritional powerhouse.

(source)

a few years ago, i took a wellness coaching course with canfitpro, and during the nutrition portion, we learned that an egg is rated 100; other food sources are compared to the egg in order to determine just how good they are for us. [sorry, but googling is not pulling up more details, and my memory is fuzzy]. if you click here, you can find all the wonderful benefits of including eggs in your diet.

i have eggs in my fridge 90% of the time:

here is a photo of the eggs in my fridge.

this weekend, we celebrate easter – are you decorating eggs? last year, i decorated a dozen. they looked pretty.

file photo, easter 2011

mom has a lovely easter bowl on display, right now:

what a pretty seasonal touch in mom and dad's living room, on their coffee table

if you are a vegetarian and you consume eggs, you can call yourself an ovo-vegetarian.

i grew up thinking of eggs as a supper food, not a breakfast food. we did not cook eggs for breakfast, ever, and if we were in a restaurant, i always went the pancake or french toast route. eggs in the morning sounded eggs-cruiatingly yucky.

(source)

and thus we now have on record the least egg-citing post ever in the history of the kiki blog.

the most mundane egg question i can think of:

how do you like to eat your eggs? my go-to prep method is scrambled in the microwave because that, to me, is cooking it is quick, easy and tasty to do so. i love mom’s homemade version of egg mcmuffins, and she also poaches a perfect egg.

sidenote: this is also, i do believe, the first post ever in which not one eggs-clamation point appears. do you know how tricky that was to do??? [<-- like, add in RIGHT HERE].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I love eggs! billy does, too. I like them hard-boiled, scrambled & poached. haven’t had enough on this road trio. looking forward to having a kitchen again. :)

  • Gina Unger  On April 8, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    we are a household who believes like you… and we LOVE our eggs! i hate when people “dis” the egg! frustrating! good job of not using eggs-clamation marks – impossible for me!
    how do you get your eggs so shiny and richly coloured? the kids and i had so much fun colouring eggs yesterday but ours were much lighter and dull in comparison. not that the kids cared… just me!
    happy easter once again!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 8, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      happy easter evening, gina! i hope you had a wonderful long weekend! i know…exclamation parts are just a part of our nature and personalities – i NEED to write with them! here is the “secret” rub the eggs with vegetable oil after the dye has dried – and for rich colour, soak them longer in the dye. so glad you decorated eggs with your kidlets – such a fun tradition!

  • Nicole  On April 5, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    ick. I’m not a big fan of eggs- especially in the morning. If I do eat an egg, it’s usually a fried egg white. I hate, hate, hate, hate the yellow part. I’ll tolerate a scrambled egg or an omelette every now and then. — on a side note, I pity the poor girl who commented about having to eat egg salad sandwiches every.single.day! Oh, my!!! That’s enough to make me hate eggs even more.

    Carys and I dyed eggs last weekend. She loved it. I totally remember your egg dyeing from last year. Happy Easter!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      oh, i bet the eggs look so cute, nicole! i am glad you did that easter activity with carys! i did not like yolks as a child…so i understand where you are coming from! AND your stance on eggs in the morning! have a wonderful easter weekend!

  • Zo  On April 5, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Lately we’ve been making a lot of hard boiled eggs…which work very well for pretty much anything (breakfast on the go…lunch, snack). I usually like make “omelets”, which really aren’t omelets but scrambled eggs with stuff in them (cheese, onions, mushrooms..) I have to admit, I will also order omelets at diners because I want the home fries that come with them.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      it’s nice not to have to do the kitchen clean-up on omelets, too, if you order them when out! home fries are bonus! i like your differentiation between “scrambled with stuff” and an omelet – yes, there is a difference!

  • Stephanie  On April 5, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I loooooove eggs! I eat at least two every day, sometimes more. I’ve read before that they’re considered the ultimate protein source. That makes me very happy…since, as I mentioned, I love eggs. My favourite way to eat eggs is kind of gross to everyone else. I like to fry 2 eggs over-easy in olive oil, and then mash them up with a baked yam. So good. Hmmmm…I know what I’ll have for lunch today!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 9:44 am

      ok, that is definitely a unique combo, eggs with yam…can’t say i think it sounds bad! i may steal that idea. i’d add ketchup on top – haha! i’d gladly eat eggs every day, too!

  • karen at virtually there  On April 5, 2012 at 8:50 am

    I’m a total creature of habit in the kitchen these days. I’ve been eating an egg, cheese and spinach sandwich on a gluten-free english muffin every day for about 3 months now and I plan to keep going. I totally love it. It fills me up for most of the afternoon due to the protein and the spinach is helping with my low iron. Good all around.

    And I never consider a post about eggs boring! Love them! (I also noticed your shiny eggs and remembered your mom’s trick of rubbing the dyed eggs with oil afterwards. Must start doing that again. So pretty.)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 9:46 am

      will you be doing eggs with your children this weekend, karen?! have fun, if so! and yes, the oil is such an easy way to shine up the coloured eggs! yum!! i LOVE the sounds of your sandwich – and yes, what a perfect combo for a healthy mix of nutrients. don’t mess with a good thing if you enjoy it and it fills you up! keep the steak going!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 5, 2012 at 8:29 am

    I don’t eat eggs. When I was in first grade I ate an egg salad sandwich every day for the entire year. We had no way to keep them cool at school and this was in the dark ages so there were no fancy bags to put them in so the sandwiches were lukewarm. My mother insists I begged for them. But to this day I can’t stand the smell of eggs cooking. I wish I liked them because they are so easy to make and are so healthy but I can’t convince myself to try them again.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 9:47 am

      i am sorry you were traumatized by the egg sandwiches! i can see why you just cannot tolerate eggs, to this day! i do remember when all we had were paper lunch bags, too. no thermal/lined/brightly coloured bags like the kids have today!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 5, 2012 at 7:08 am

    I haven’t dyed eggs in years but it was always fun. I’ve recently gotten into making a big batch of egg salad almost every week. It’s great because it’s something that both Ralph and I can eat(Me being veggie, He being meatasaurus)I just love it and it’s a great deal on protein which I’m always looking for.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 7:09 am

      meatasaurus – that is too funny! i did not realize you were veggie – cool! good idea to make the egg salad in a big batch – so much easier to just use it, with no prep time!

  • Lisa  On April 5, 2012 at 6:52 am

    I love love love eggs! I went a few years without eating them because Joe thinks they are gross and creepy and I just got out of the habit.

    My favorite way to eat them is either in coconut flour flatbread (I still consider that eggs even though you can’t taste them because the ratio is 1 egg to 1T flour). But for traditional eggs, I love scrambled eggs with salsa and cheese, and I also like egg salad (but I’m too lazy to hard boil very often). I love poached eggs on toast with lotsa butter too.

    I may have mentioned this before, I can’t remember, but Matthew got baby chickens for easter last year (one has since been eaten by a hawk, and then they got a rooster that they named Big Steve, after Matthew’s dad)…. So he will sell me a dozen eggs for a dollar—they’re free range and loved very much. The yolks are the brightest I’ve ever seen!
    He’s in the process of trying to breed them—I’m kind of hoping he doesn’t really know what that means yet!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 7:00 am

      yes! i know you are a fan of eggs, lisa, for both baking and for breakfast. i am with you on being too lazy to poach or soft/hard boil the eggs…best to make mom do it – haha! “big steve” – that is awesome. can you just imagine if i had showed up with little chicks for the girls as easter treats?! no bueno!! good luck to m with the breeding…i think?! happy easter weekend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

