HOW are we doing at the three month mark??

welcome to the third checkpoint in this year’s 12 days of kiki challenge!

as things happened, over the past month i was able to focus on a few of the more neglected portions of this year’s project. let me show you the progress for month #3!

1. record at least one positive thing every day in my gratitude journal/excel spreadsheet.

(source)

a quick glance shows anywhere from 1-5 entries per day. most days have at least two positive notations.

2. babysit little e and cutie c two times so that the brother and sil ana can enjoy a significant date or special event.

(source)

oh, this was a fun friday, march the 16th! i recapped my time with little e and cutie c here!

a good time was had by all

3. blog three times per week (monday-wednesday-friday). modified on february 13th to: leave a comment on a minimum of three blogs, every day. ok, i have to confess i missed a day. :/ on one of the march sundays, i forget exactly which one, i think i only left one blog comment. i do remember i was not in the mood that day to leave a gratuitous comment on a popular girl’s random blog, and as luck would have it, none of my blog friends posted a new entry, that day. so, i am declaring my mulligan. blogfriends, please post on sundays, and help out a blend.

now, here’s a serendipitous moment to note: if i had not modified this goal, i would not be participating in the blogging from a-z april challenge (which i am truly enjoying). i love when things work out like this!

4. run four (point two) km…times ten. i did not accomplish this goal this month – and had no intentions of so doing!

5. eat five wildly decadent and delicious desserts.

(source)

ok, for this entry, blogger’s license is in effect:

entry #1: yogen fruz vanilla yogurt with choco chips and oreo cookie toppings

now, you may look at this treat and go, “that is not wildly decadent!” and i would respond with, “you are correct!” however, it’s my blog and my project, so there i am taking into account the entire situation involved with the consumption of this delightful afternoon snack: it was enjoyed with mom and dad on a sunday aft, up at conestoga mall. we were laughing and chatting and enjoying our yogen früz choices, and that whole picture is what earns the fro yo its “delicious” designation. cuz it was divinely tasty!

6. finish a minimum of six knitting projects.

(source)

the joy i felt at completing the malabrigo yarn log cabin blanket has been well documented – here is the last blog post in that progression series. so, knitting entry #1 was accompanied by a huge sense of satisfaction at the quality of the final product, the enjoyment of the knitting process…and the earlier-than-expected completion date!

it's going to be hard to top this project!

7. read seven books, and hopefully more.

(source)

on march 31st, i completed emily giffin’s novel, “something borrowed.” this was book #3/7, and honestly, i would not have anticipated that i’d be on track for a book a month. [this is slow progress for many of you, but since i only read before bed, i am surprised at the status of this project]. this novel was fantastic! i might even dare to say it is the best chick lit read i have ever enjoyed. i gave it **** (four stars) in my reading log. the main character, rachel, is incredibly likeable, and despite the fact that what she is doing is *wrong,* (having an affair with her best friend’s fiancé), i could not dislike her for her actions. this book is an easy read, hard to put down, and now i have to see the movie (thanks, gina, for letting me know that one exists!) and read the sequel, “something blue.”

8. perform eight random acts of kindness. i exhibited no outward displays of kindness over the past 30 days.

9. watch nine different and new-to-me tv shows (either online, on dvd, or on tv). i watched no new tv shows this month; however, i did see a movie at the princess, and i watched a dvd at home (review coming to you on saturday). my goal for this coming month is to finally crack open season one of “the big bang theory.” i have had poor nicole’s dvd sitting on my kitchen counter for a good three months. i am sick of looking at it, and she likely would like it back, so i intend to get into this show asap!

10. refrain from chewing gum for ten months.

(source)

i have no interesting insider’s tidbits to share. we’re just rolling along boringly nicely.

11. abstain from drinking diet pop (any pop) for eleven months.

(source)

in eight months, i can have a diet coke!!! i already told mom that the very first day i can have a pop, i am sooooooo doing it. i don’t think she was that impressed…on a positive note, while i can’t say that the thought of a diet coke repulses me, i can say that the thought of chugging back a pop is distasteful. that is the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. i do feel proud of being 90 days clean – i think i need a badge.

12. meet with at least twelve different friends for a social get-together.

(source)

once again, this project was my very favourite part of the 12 days of kiki.

outing #13:

with friend and neighbour katie @ s'bux!

outing #14:

with little e! (a special after-school treat at a local coffee - er, choco chip cookie - shop!)

outing #15:

with cousin kate @ "death valley's little brother" (in-depth review on this new coffee spot coming wednesday!"

outing #16:

with juanita @ s'bux! (you will see juanita again on wednesday!)

and there you have it – the quarterly report has been filed. thanks for reading along!

pick a number from 1-12 of something that YOU completed lately! reading, knitting, coffee shop-ing, r.a.o.k.-ing…fill me in!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On April 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    i’m so glad that you liked the book, something borrowed! you can borrow my movie anytime (but that’s kind of difficult, eh?!) i soooo want to watch it again actually. have been reading the book you recommended to me instead of watching tv lately – the help is soooo awesome. can’t put it down! even read it at my hair cut appt. yesterday! my stylist totally understands. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 12, 2012 at 2:48 pm

      oh, i am glad you are loving “the help!” let me know when you are done and we can do a virtual discussion. too bad we cannot watch the film together (i haven’t seen it yet, want to). i will see if maybe the library has “something borrowed”…or else beg you to put it in your suitcase the next time you come east! :)

  • Nicole  On April 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    This kind of goes along with your #1- I started the “one sentence journal”. Have I told you about this? If I have, I apologize in advance. I suspect it’s something you’d enjoy doing as well. Back in January, I read an article in a magazine which talked about the one sentence journal (it was in a Glamour magazine that I’d found in a seat pocket on my flight back from NYC!). You basically record one sentence, daily, of something that you’d like to remember: a funny moment, a memorable moment…. whatever you want. The moment I got home, I decided to start it. I use it to record special moments with my girls. I started on January 24, and I’ve written a sentence every day (give or take a day or 2) about something they’ve done or said that I want to remember for ever and ever. It’s amazing. I’ve gone back and read some of the stuff I’ve written about and I’m surprised at some stuff because I would have, surely, forgotten had I not written it down. – In my case, I type out my one sentence on my “notes” in my iPhone.
    I sure hope we can meet up for coffee this Summer!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      no, you had not told me already, nicole….and THANKS for sharing all about your project! this is fabulous! what i esp love is how it’s the “little moments” that you are noting…yes, the *stuff* that would be forgotten. i bet some days it’s hard to choose what to write! and i love how you randomly found the idea on the airplane – it was meant to be! oooo yes, you are on my list, and i WAS thinking summer would be perfect for us! :)

  • Zo  On April 9, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    I’ve read 6 books this year. I am so impressed with everything you’ve done (and HA on the no outward displays of kindness…I’m sure leaving a nice comment on someone’s blog would count if you weren’t counting it for something else.
    I just like how much you seem to be enjoying meeting your goals (well, okay, maybe not the gum and soda ones…). It’s like a nice little lesson for me (mix in good for you stuff with fun stuff!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      thanks, zo! i really am enjoying this project thoroughly. and yes, deep down i am glad i included the pop and gum projects…at least that is what i keep telling myself! six books is good! you are on track for 24, at this pace! nothing to sneeze at!

  • Stephanie  On April 9, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    You’re doing SO WELL! :) I laughed out loud at “the popular girls” comment. Congrats on the diet soda! I know that one was hard at first!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      thanks, stephanie! haha, yes – the blog world can feel like high school at times, don’t you agree?! i do appreciate your comment on the pop…i still salivate when i see someone with a bottle of dc, if you can believe it!!!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 9, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    You must watch Big Bang and tell me what you think. It is one of my top favorite shows of all time. I own season one and have a raincheck to purchase season 4 as soon as it is back in stock at Target.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      oh, that is great endorsement, johanna! i have heard nothing but good things about the show, so i bet i will really enjoy it. for some reason, i just have not made it a priority! hope your season 4 arrives at target soon!!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 9, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    You are certainly on the ball! 6 knitting projects…exellent! More reading is good too. You should join Goodreads, it’s great fun and I think it’s incentive. I joined their 2012 challenge and said I would read 25 books for the year. I’ve read 24!! The badge on BCDC doesn’t update for some reason. :-(. But I’m feeling very accomplished. You’ve got some other good ones. So nice of you to baby sit for your brother and s-i-l can have some time. What a great person !!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      wow!! 24 reads is AWESOME, fran!! i wonder what your grand total will be by december 31st, if you keep up this rate? you know, i am very intrigued by goodreads but have not yet checked it out…i had thought about investigating it for our “g” blog post, but that did not happen! it is on my To Do list! i need to read books instead of blogs while i knit – haha!

  • The Orchard  On April 9, 2012 at 7:34 am

    I love what you wrote for #8! I am sure you were kind in many ways, even if not an intentional RAOK! :)

    Enjoy the sun! We should meet for coffee soon!

    T

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 7:59 am

      thanks, tricia! it is a gorgeous day out there! happy easter monday! just let me know a couple dates that would suit you and i am IN for coffee!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

