XL revisited

one day last week, i made the time to take myself out for a solo coffee outing. while i love and adore meet-ups in coffee shops with friends or family, sometimes it is just nice to get out by yourself.

i debated returning to tim horton’s and repeating my XL coffee order…but then i remembered just how much coffee would be involved (seriously, that XL is large enough to drown in) and thought the better of it.

so, i went to the coffee shop that has the best decaf in the ‘hood, imo!…

thumbs up for the convenient location, interior ambiance...and coffee!

just for the blog [i needed my "x" idea for the blogging challenge!], i ordered the biggest size of coffee possible:

$2.05 for that cup on the far right...i think that's about 50% of the price of s'bux??!

i chose a window seat, and got out my journal:

ready to brainstorm!

now, my cardinal journal (a goderich purchase so it has very good vibes associated with it) is not to be confused with my daily journal. i only use the cardinal notebook…

that's "my bird!"

…for when i want to do some deep thinking. writing with pen on paper seems so old-fashioned nowadays, but it is still such a satisfying process – i find ideas just freeflow as fast as i can record them!

the coffee culture coffee was x-cellent and i thoroughly enjoyed my relaxing, mid-day break.

do you ever take work to a coffee shop? some people find the neutral territory helpful in getting down to business; other people are distracted by the activity and people watching. the trend to use a coffee shop as a mobile office has sure blossomed over the past few years.

my favourite local coffee shop at which to compose blog posts is cafĂ© 1842 – the vibe (and quick internet connection, haha!) is just right, there.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 27, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I love to read my Sunday newspaper at a coffee shop. It’s kind of a ritual for me. I don’t usually write in my journal in public. For me that’s a private thing. I like your Cardinal journal. My special one has owls on the cover cuz I collect owls.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2012 at 10:34 am

      yes! the coffee shop outing + newspaper reading ritual is sooo relaxing! glad you enjoy that, johanna! owls are awesome…and a lot of people must agree because you can find some really cute owl-related items in stores!

  • Lisa  On April 27, 2012 at 8:44 am

    That’s one big coffee!! I’ve found when I drink really large ones, I need to get it iced because I get nauseous and it makes my body temp go up too much if it’s hot (but also, I drink the iced ones too quickly…so whatever!).

    I love coffee shop time—I went to s’bux yesterday for a couple hours. I am at my coffee limit again—should’ve ordered a tea, but didn’t. Then felt yucky. But, maybe I’ll learn my lesson today and stop now (at one cup).

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2012 at 9:08 am

      i hear you on all of your comments! a big coffee makes me seriously sweat, too. i have learned my XL lesson! and i now have figured out my comfortable daily limit, too. if i overdo, yup, like you i feel yucky – but that feeling comes on so quick and is unpredictable! glad you got to s’bux yesterday! i know that is a productive spot for you! i’ve never tried an iced coffee! maybe this summer!?!

  • strivingcynic  On April 27, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Rarely. For some reason, we don’t really have any coffee shops in my town, so i’d have to drive 10-15 min. just to get the coffee. There was one place, but now it looks closed.
    I love that cardinal notebook.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2012 at 8:19 am

      yea, driving is not as zen-y as walking to a coffee spot, imo…you’d be better off to brew your own and enjoy it in a quiet spot at home!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 27, 2012 at 7:37 am

    So, I’m following Ele, Am I?!?! There used to be a coffee spot near the local mall called Port City Java. I used to go there on Saturday morning after my WW meeting. It was surprisingly quiet at that time (Maybe that’s why it closed…:-( ) I would take my journal and my notebook, get some coffee and sit there writing poetry. It was fun. Ele’s right though, I love our trips to Dunkin’ Donuts with our pal Kristen. I need to give her your link Cathy. I think she’d love “The Project”!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2012 at 8:18 am

      i love the name port city java! that’s right up there with our “death valley’s little brother!” ah, coffee and writing poetry – that is awesome! yes, if a place is TOO quiet, it may not last too long, sadly! i wish i could go to dunkin donuts with you and ele! :)

  • Ele  On April 27, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I have fond memories of Tim Horton’s. I use my travel mug from there every day at work. Fran and our friend Kristen and I do coffee in the evening sometimes and spend two hours at Dunkin Donuts (America’s answer to Tim Horton’s) I always go home feeling bouyed! I love Tim’s tea biscuits. Last time I was in Canada I brought home half a dozen in a plastic bag and savoured them for a week. One of the wonderful kids in my life was in Rochester, NY a few weeks ago and brought me home some of Tim’s flavored coffee powder…ah, heaven on earth. Funny story…watching hockey as we do and seeing the Tim’s ads around the ring I always thought it was a bar or something like that. So the first time my daughter and son in law went to Canada with my grandson his uncle was telling me how much fun the little guy had at Tim Horton’s….I was appalled! I said what do you mean you took my grandson to a bar! They all laughed and explained that it was not a bar! First place they took me when we crossed the border was a Tim Horton’s. Boy did I feel stupid!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 27, 2012 at 6:47 am

      thanks for sharing your tim horton’s stories, ele! i loved reading them – esp about the misinterpretation of TH as a bar – that is a good one! seriously, if you had to give a newcomer/visitor a “totally canadian experience,” an outing to timmie’s would be the answer. canadians LOVE tim hortons!! the only thing better is to watch a hockey game THEN go to TH!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

