so many shades of “chocolate!”

yesterday, i didn’t have to be at the store ’til 3:15 p.m., and mom and dad were in town, so it was the perfect day to tackle a project that has been sitting on the back burner for a while, now. how long? well, “paint a bathroom” was supposed to be a new experience for last year’s kiki project!

actually, i better clarify: i want dad to paint the condo casa master bathroom while i boss him around – but, hey! i am willing to pay for the paint! [dad is an extremely talented painter/wallpaper-er; he really should have started a sideline business in his retirement, that is how skilled he is].

i’ll show you the space i want painted:

view from the doorway

[i was going to clean up and remove all personal objects, then thought, "this is not a photo shoot for a magazine spread; let's make the scene look realistic!"]

to the R of the doorway is the shower (i took this photo while standing in the bathtub!)

bathtub to the L – it has whirlpool jets which have been used exactly twice in 7.5 years.

the rear of the tub area/the entry door to the bathroom

we shall consider these to be the official “before” photographs!

~*~*~*~*~

dad picked me up at 11:30 a.m., and we headed straight to heer’s decorating in nearby belmont village on gage avenue (we showed up to belmont, not realizing the store had moved!). yes, i could likely get cheaper paint at home depot or rona, but the intention is that this paint job will last for years, so i’d rather go higher quality and be 100% happy with the look and results.

let’s get paint-picking!

deep down, i would love to paint the bathroom pumpkin-y orange. however, that shade would wreak havoc on skintone, i do believe. so my next favourite choice is chocolate.

anyone else feel overwhelmed when presented with too many options?!

after round #1 of eliminations, these were the contenders…

…which were further reduced to TWO hues.

i went back and forth, back and forth, debating between “roasted coffee beans” and “chocolate sundae.” positive karma exuded from each paint chip name, so that was no help (coffee or chocolate? both gave me happy vibes!).

in the end, CHOCOLATE SUNDAE was the winner – i figure i really am wanting that rich, dark brown shade, and chocolate sundae will provide just that look.

two pails of benjamin moore – as seen on “cityline!”

the total for the paint and other essentials like the roller and bin-things came in well under my anticipated budget. happy painting, DAD!

~*~*~*~*~

after the stress of choosing the paint, we needed to relax and fuel up! so the next stop, for lunch, was…

dad’s favourite of the fastfood burger chains!

[today's post would have been perfect for the letter "H" in the blogging from a-z challenge!].

cheese!!! (actually, both of our burgers were cheese-free!)

one burger each, and we shared fries + onion rings.

[DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH THIS MEAL SCREAMED, BEGGED, CRIED OUT FOR, SORELY DESIRED A LARGE DIET COKE????? i apologize for yelling, but water was just soooo lacking in this situation. moving on, now that i have that tantrum out of my system...].

we had a great time, and as predicted, never shut up once during our two hour outing.

thanks again for your help with the paint, dad! here, let me give you something as a thank you:

12 brand new golf balls!!!
:D

yesterday’s time with dad made me realize that i really do miss the outing of the month project of 2011. maybe it will need to be re-instated in 2013?!

~*~*~*~*~

what colour is your bathroom? boy, i am nosy this week, aren’t i?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On May 4, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Every wall in my house is white. How boring! I would love to add some color to the kitchen (I want yellow walls) and the bedroom (must be blue) and the bathroon which I haven’t decided on the color. The landlord will buy the paint if I do the work. Just haven’t the gumption to tackle it right now.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 11:46 am

      oh, if anyone can understand putting off a project of this nature, i do, johanna! at least with white you can do fun things with bright accessories! that is great that the landlord will pay if you paint…that is good motivation for you!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 4, 2012 at 8:43 am

    My bathroom is peeling creme wallpaper with pinkish sea shells. Not doing a lot to it because we’ll be moving sometime soon. We’ll be selling the house “as is” so it will be someone else’s project. I love the idea of having a separate shower and tub-especially a jet powered tub! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 9:05 am

      good call on leaving your bathroom as is, fran. it’s kinda funny when people repaint to “stage” their home to sell, because i always imagine the new owners will want to choose their own colours! i really enjoy the big walk-in shower, and the tub is good to have around, i guess!! i will for sure show off the “after” photos asap!!

  • Stephanie  On May 4, 2012 at 8:26 am

    My bathroom is ligh blue. I have a very pretty bathroom, but I don’t think I fully appreciate it. I mean…don’t get me wrong…toilet and running hot water and all that jazz are HIGH on my list of things that make my life better. But I don’t really stop to look at my bathroom and think “wow, this is a pretty room!”. I should do that more often. I had to laugh at your jets…we had a whirlpool tub in our last house, which I was soooooo excited about. And then I only used it twice in 5 years. It was just so noisy and almost felt stressful. Can’t wait to see your beautiful new bathroom!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 8:29 am

      i think i should have said “attach a photo of your bathroom for me” for today’s question of the day…i want to see your bathroom!!! ok, your to do today, stephanie, is to stop and admire your bathroom! whirlpool jets are one of those things that are better in theory than in practicality…who has the time to just sit there?!

  • Gina Unger  On May 4, 2012 at 8:02 am

    i love reading about your outings with dad. so awesome. HE’s awesome! great project — can’t wait to see the finished results!
    i LOVE Harvey’s too! haven’t been since i was a kid since the only ones around here are located inside of Home Depot and that’s just never been appealing to me. but it was always a family favourite if we went out for a quick meal so it brought back good memories for me. :)
    our ensuite, and the kids’ bathroom are a light brown – painted before we moved in – and although i never would have thought to choose that shade i do really like it. our powder room i chose to paint a colour called “salsa”. it goes with the nearby family room and i love it. but my favourite bathroom was at the house before this one – there were 3 colours: ceiling and 2 different colours on walls with accented white cabinets/sink/toilet. deep raspberry, navy blue, and a medium beige/brown. i always LOVED my bathroom experiences there! ha ha. :)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 8:21 am

      oh, i am with you on avoiding a harvey’s in home depot…that does not sound appealing! glad you have happy harvey’e memories! they’ve changed the fries, though, since years ago (not as thick-cut!). bright bathrooms – i think we share the same love! the ones you describe sound fabulous!! i think i may use my pumpkin orange idea for the main floor powder room…we shall see. love that colour name of “salsa” – some of the names i saw yesterday are pretty inventive! yup, you know that erv is a pretty cool guy! :)

  • strivingcynic  On May 4, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Our bathroom is pale blue..but the counter/sink area has the same pink Formica as our kitchen. In January we replaced the white shower curtain and mat/rugs with a funky patterned brown (yes!) curtain and almond mats…the floor is white tile so the chanes really warmed it up!
    Good luck with your project, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 8:19 am

      oh, i like the sounds of that funky curtain and almond mats, zo! now i want to see a photo of your bathroom, haha! i remember when you showed your kitchen updates…it’s amazing what a couple of coats of paint can do, eh?!

  • Lisa  On May 4, 2012 at 6:36 am

    Now let’s first clarify…..which one of you never shut up once during outing? You…or Dad? hehe.

    I LOVE the color! I would have picked that one too (despite my deep appreciation for coffee). It’s crazy how “dark brown” can have so many different looks and hues (and I know nothing about it!).

    I think outing of the month is a great idea—sometimes I say I’ll do that with my dad, but neither of us follow through on it. Unfortunately, if it’s not just me and him, he doesn’t say much (his wife and I get along great and I have to try super hard not to just chit chat with her the whole time). I think, though, that my dad wouldn’t help me with any projects—he reached a point in his life when he’s done with that stuff. It’s probably out of sadness—when my sister first started buying houses and doing projects, she was 22 and she and hubby needed help figuring things out. Dad couldn’t help and “protect” her in the end, so I can’t really fault him for dropping that role from my life too. It would be nice to just sit and chat alone though–without Matthew or his wife! Thank you for reminding me of that!

    Lighter note—my bathroom is cream colored, and I have light and dark blue accents (although no matching towels or anything—we just can’t get it together on that stuff!). We’re renting so I can’t change anything (and I probably wouldn’t anyway—I’m more into decorating my food! haha).

    Hope your day is wonderful!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 6:45 am

      um…i’m going to say 50-50 on how much we each talked yesterday as we both did our share of listening, too! yes – with a rental, you don’t really want to invest in permanent redecorating…at least new towels or accessories can change a look pretty easily! blue tones are easy to get along with. thanks for sharing about your family…it’s true that you can visit more in-depth when the little ones are absent (although they increase the fun factor when around!).

  • Ele  On May 4, 2012 at 6:18 am

    my bathroom is all white. I then decorated it with dark blue shower curtain, rugs, towels and loads of lighthouses to match the curtains. Took me 4 days to paint a very small room because I needed 4 coats of sealer and two coats of regular paint to cover up the nicotine that constantly bleeds through from my parent’s chain smoking. No one has smoked in this house since 1990 yet within a few months the nicotine bleeds through and “drips” down after someone showers. Yuck! I admire that you are using a bold color, very impressive!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 4, 2012 at 6:42 am

      i love how you have brought the seaside into your bathroom, ele!! the contrast between white and dark blue is very striking, i bet! wow – i hope dad does not need six coats in my bathroom! the nicotine seeping thru….wow, i had never considered that something like that could happen. and after so many years! i can’t wait to be surrounded by chocolate!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

