12.05.12:12.#2.#2!

it felt so strange to have saturday off from the store! i don’t remember the last time that happened.

a few weeks ago, we arranged that may 12th would be extended babysitting opportunity #2 for the 12 days of kiki project. [hence today's title: saturday's date in numbers, then the twelve for the 12 days of kiki, project #2, date #2]. i was able to swap my usual saturday hours for my colleague’s wednesday eve shift (had to skip aunti wednesday), and presto! saturday in TO was on!

i started my day with a drive to food basics for essentials: coffee! carbonated water! sardines, $0.88 per tin, on sale!

then, i popped over to mom and dad’s for an early mother’s day moment with mom:

nothing wrong with a mother’s day WEEKEND of celebrations!

we anticipated that sunday would be busy with g’ma’s bday celebration, so saturday worked out well for some mother-daughter visiting.

i had time to go see the blanket!

its temporary “haus”

why, hello again!

see you again at the end of the month!

early aft, it was time to head down the 401 for the day’s main event – babysitting little e and cutie c!!!

it’s a beautiful day in the neighbourhood – and no traffic issues. bonus!

i had to parallel park behind this sporty bmw – nothing like a little added pressure to an already challenging task!

we played downstairs for a while:

the happy camper??!

little e proudly showed off her new ballet shoes!

sure we can play with every toy available…

aunti does not know the meaning of the word “no” unless bodily harm is a risk.

the girls were pretty zonked from a busy morning:

ready for some quiet time.

look who was on treehouse channel!

aunti loves the wiggles (honestly!).

and the girls introduced me to a new show:

i actually really liked “bubble guppies:” it was educational, had catchy/boppy tunes, cute graphics, and an actual storyline. *** three stars!

the brother and sil ana planned an easy and appealing treat dinner:

aunti doesn’t cook, as you are well aware…i could handle this prep, and it was a real crowd-pleaser!

i almost forgot to share the big news of the day:

look who has lost a front tooth! ah, a sign of growing up….

…little sister just wanted to smile for the camera, too.

can’t end without a group photo:

at least all three of us are (mostly) within the frame!

bedtime was a breeze. is there anything better than snuggling with storytime?

i feel so lucky when i get to spend time with my little princesses – they fill my ♥ with joy. i’m definitely going to encourage the brother and sil ana to book me for as many extended babysitting days as we can manage, this year!

~*~*~*~*~

parallel parking: rate your skillz on a scale of 1-10. me = 4. it’s completely hit or miss: when my aim is good, it’s very, very good, and when i’m off, it’s positively hideous. the only time i absolutely nailed the parallel park was on my driving exam, way back when – whew!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On May 19, 2012 at 8:45 am

    oh, I miss my nieces! I would love to see them right now! today is Saturday – the 1st I haven’t been at lululemom in AGES! it’s a crazy feeling. I wasn’t scheduled to be there (yesterday was my last day and I couldn’t go because of the accident – SO SAD!).

    • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On May 19, 2012 at 8:45 am

      *lululemon – haha. we’ll blame that on the accident, OK?

      • 1970kikiproject  On May 19, 2012 at 9:42 am

        rest up today, dorry, and enjoy your work-free saturday. i wish you speedy healing from that freak accident…i think you get to call the shots today and make the plans for you and billy! i hope you get to chat and/or skype with your nieces soon!

  • Johanna B  On May 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    I’m like you when it comes to parallel parking. I either get it on the first try or I pull out and find another space. I’ve got to get some kiddie videos to play for Ivan. He was at my house on Sunday and I didn’t have anything to entertain him. Instead, he entertained me. He is unbearably cute.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 14, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      oh, i am glad you got to spend time with ivan this weekend – i bet he loved seeing his g’ma! maybe you can do what my mom does and make a “grandma cupboard” of toys for ivan!

  • Ele  On May 14, 2012 at 9:32 am

    can I say that your mother is absolutely beautiful…now I know where you get it from!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

      ele, i think you will have a new best friend in my mom when she reads your kind comment – thanks for making our days! :)

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 14, 2012 at 7:34 am

    The girls are just Adorable, Cathy! So great that you get to spend time with them. You can tell from the photos that they are enjoying it too! Love the group photo! Parallel parking? Well, for a clumsy person, I’m actually not too bad at parallel parking. I usually do nose first but when forced to, I can do the real kind. as long as it’s not TOO small!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 14, 2012 at 9:20 am

      thanks, fran! the girls are easy to care for so babysitting really is an easy gig! well, as easy as minding two children can be! i am with you! i look for nose-first spots, too, then spacious ones if i need to do real parallel parking…i will park further away to avoid small spots, even!

  • Lisa  On May 14, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Looks like a great time with the little ones!! I completely understand the lack of ability to say no….I feel like an aunti was put on this earth to enrich the enjoyment of her little ones….not be the enforcer or the educator or the disciplinarian. I still remember my great aunt as my favorite person even though she passed when I was 11…. she was always excited to see me (and showed it) and when my sister and I were with her, it was all fun all the time!
    I know kids won’t remember all the messes and moments, but they sure will remember how they felt when they were around me!
    p.s. I’m a big Wiggles fan too. I’m disappointed that Matthew is now into spongebob and other junky shows.

    I’m pretty good at parallel parking–stemming from my time living in boston…I’ll give myself an 8!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 14, 2012 at 9:23 am

      oh, that is fun that you have such good memories of time with your great-aunt, lisa! and, of course, i love how you are so close to matthew. junky shows -> yes! i have my list of groaners, too! and good for you with the parallel parking – yup, practice makes perfect with this skill!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

